cam belt only? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 14-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 53
cam belt only?

I recently bought a 2.5 166 with cambelt damage. Top engine mount nut worked loose and pushed the cam belt out towards the timing belt covers, and worn down the edge of the belt, but it hasn't snapped.

I have paperwork proving that a complete cambelt, water pump change in June last year (2010) had been done. Car has done less than 20k miles on the new belt.

I was wondering do I change the whole lot or would I be able to just change the belt and tensioner. Would the idlers be ok seeing as they are just over a year old?
Jayalfamania is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
I'd change the belt and the waterpump...
biffa is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,807
Do you know what waterpump was fitted? If plastic, change for metal. If metal, I'd leave it be.

If you are saying the idlers are 1.5 years old and have covered 20k, but the car needs a new timing belt due to belt damage, then I would probably just change the belt and tensioner if it were my own car. If it was a customer's car we were working on then we would have to recommend the belt, tensioner & both idlers be changed. It doesn't take long for worn idlers to fail completely when a nice new tight belt is fitted to them.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is online now  
(Post Link) post #4 of 5 Old 16-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 53
after closer inspection today, I am going to go with changing the lot, for peace of mind. I was told that the pump has the metal impellar. And i have no reason to doubt this, the previous owner was honest about the belt damage and was a pleasure to deal with, and its clear by the receipts that came with the car that it had been looked after.
Jayalfamania is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,112
Garage
Good call.
Joss is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
belt , cam

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cam belt advice. philoldsmobile Alfa 164 & 166 17 18-12-11 13:46
Cam belt interval, cost and dealership Seraphization South Africa 2 26-07-11 08:06
What parts should we buy for Cam Belt replacement?? morricar Alfa 147, 156 & GT 5 27-10-08 09:48
what would happen if a wrong cam belt kit was fitted? bigbambi Alfa 147, 156 & GT 12 07-10-08 01:31
156 Cam Belt Problem Craig Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 13 11-12-06 15:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome