DIY Cambelt Replacement - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 14-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,094
DIY Cambelt Replacement

I've just been pricing up a cam belt change for my 2.0 TS CF2.

I can't see how it's worth doing it myself when the parts come to as much as some specialist charge for the job incl labour! OK I'll need a cam sensor this time which will push the costs up, but it's still close to call.

Then there are the camlocks and other special tools ...

Apart from the satisfaction of doing it .... why would I bother?

Time to make some calls!
gazza82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
You know it will be done right! Im a control freak though.
EauRouge is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,113
Garage
your not far from Autolusso and they do it right If you are doing lots of them though it can be wirth your while. I do all my Ts's
Joss is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
This is a fair point. Once, cam belt changes at dealers/indies was an expensive job. Not any more though. I did my last one but may not bother next time.
Mitch916 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 19 Old 16-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,094
I'll probably go to my local specialists L&M. They rebuilt the engine after one went and did the last one.
gazza82 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch166 View Post
This is a fair point. Once, cam belt changes at dealers/indies was an expensive job. Not any more though. I did my last one but may not bother next time.
It has got a lot cheaper, especially for the Twinsparks. We charge 250 inc vat for a 2 litre with balance belt and 195 inc vat for a 1.6 or 1.8. Thats using a genuine Alfa 3-piece belt kit as well. You'd never have got it done for those prices a few years ago.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,113
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
It has got a lot cheaper, especially for the Twinsparks. We charge 250 inc vat for a 2 litre with balance belt and 195 inc vat for a 1.6 or 1.8. Thats using a genuine Alfa 3-piece belt kit as well. You'd never have got it done for those prices a few years ago.
dunno why I bothered buyin the tools Don't think I'll do a ts ever again now
Joss is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
vesku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 67
special tools

I've changed 2.0 jts belts now twice. Both times I've used the locking tools, but I think it's not necessary if I'll trust timing has been okay sofar. For the next time I made a "pure man's locking tool" from a piece of old belt, hot glue and one long nut. The "tool" will be placed between the cam wheels and a bolt will be tightened through the nut to one of the belt cover fasteners. Copying fully accepted...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WP_20130130_001b.jpg (62.3 KB, 27 views)
vesku is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by vesku View Post
I've changed 2.0 jts belts now twice. Both times I've used the locking tools, but I think it's not necessary if I'll trust timing has been okay sofar. For the next time I made a "pure man's locking tool" from a piece of old belt, hot glue and one long nut. The "tool" will be placed between the cam wheels and a bolt will be tightened through the nut to one of the belt cover fasteners. Copying fully accepted...
 
Status: Too many things on the to do list.
AO Silver Member
 
SLM3CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 2,514
the inital cost of the specialist tools are offset if you do it again. or plan on gettin the same engine again. but at the price dan put up, its not worth the hassle.
SLM3CFC is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by vesku View Post
I've changed 2.0 jts belts now twice. Both times I've used the locking tools, but I think it's not necessary if I'll trust timing has been okay sofar. For the next time I made a "pure man's locking tool" from a piece of old belt, hot glue and one long nut. The "tool" will be placed between the cam wheels and a bolt will be tightened through the nut to one of the belt cover fasteners. Copying fully accepted...
So with that method how do you know the timing was correct in the first place?

Most of the time they are out with the old belt on, this is usually due to previously having the belt done incorrectly and from belt stretch.
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
vesku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by symon View Post
So with that method how do you know the timing was correct in the first place?

Most of the time they are out with the old belt on, this is usually due to previously having the belt done incorrectly and from belt stretch.
As I wrote I have used the cam locking tools sofar, twice already. I mean the official locking tools separate for both cams. In addition I've used the dial gauge in the first spark plug hole to find the TDC. Picture from my first excercise.
So, at least I believe the timing has been and is correct. Next time (If I still have the car) I'll skip opening the cover, plug etc and use the pure man's version.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Send1.Jpg (86.8 KB, 28 views)
vesku is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When you change the cam belt you're supposed to slacken the bolts holding the cam pullies on so that they can float. This small amount of movement ensures that when you tension the belt, you're applying tension evenly along the whole length of it and not just one section of it.

By using the "tool" you've come up with, I don't see how you can achieve this. You may also find that, if you're not carefull, when you do tension the belt the bottom end will rotate slightly as a result of the cam pulleys being locked in place by your tool.

For the sake of 15mins extra work I'd use the cam locks!
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
vesku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 67
I remove the locks before final tensioning of course, rotate the motor some rounds and check the tension once again.
vesku is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
I get that there are mechanics out there that have more experience than me and about 90% of people on AO, but this subject of diy cambelt changing and the extensive excuses to find novel ways of not doing it properly is getting boring the wealth of info out there including my own write ups are easy to find. But if you feel that not doing it properly or not using the correct methods is better then get on with it, but consider this doing it properly only cost a little more than the cost of the parts and if you get it wrong that car you tried to save 30 or 40 on is now a rather large paper weight.
biffa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
vesku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 67
I thought this forum was for discussion and sharing opinions. Clearly misunderstood. Now I know just to follow instructions and opinions of those 90% You Biffa mention.
vesku is offline  
Status: Too many things on the to do list.
AO Silver Member
 
SLM3CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 2,514
Its about sharing opinions. When it comes to cambelts, the majority opinion is to do it properly. Its great that you can save some time doing your cambelt, but taking the cam cover off every 3/4+ years isnt that much to ask.
SLM3CFC is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by vesku View Post
I thought this forum was for discussion and sharing opinions. Clearly misunderstood. Now I know just to follow instructions and opinions of those 90% You Biffa mention.
So your allowed to share your opinion, my opinion is as mentioned above, i'd rather do it properly if you like doing belt changes using other methods then its your car knock yourself out.
biffa is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
cambelt , diy , replacement

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome