help needed selespeed - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 05-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
Cry Like A Baby help needed selespeed

HI THERE. DOES ANYONE KNOW A GARAGE THAT KNOWS WHAT THEIR DOING WITH THE ALFAS, IVE GOT A 156 SELESPEED AND I NEED HELP WITH THE GEARBOX WHICH I HAVE GOT A WARNING LIGHT ON BUT ALL SEEMS OK WITH THE CAR. CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND ANYBODY IN THE PRESTON AREA??
taylor78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

No, but if you have (or can find someone with) a diags cable and AlfaDiag/FiatECUscan, you can diagnose it yourself.

Are there any other symptoms? Other than your CAPS LOCK being stuck on?
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 06-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
HAHA SORRY ABT THE CAPS LOCK... no other symptoms with the car but the local auto electrician said he.d get all the fault codes for me then il have to find out what they all mean.... he.s guna charge me 30qiud...
taylor78 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 10 Old 06-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
help needed

does anyone have a diags cable and AlfaDiag/FiatECUscan that is local in the preston/lancashire area that can help me find whats wrong with my alfa 156 selespeed?? gearbox light on but cars working and driving fine.... help plssssss
taylor78 is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
might be worth posting in the one of the northern sections...
biffa is offline  
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
 
rgwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burnley-ish
County: Lancashire
Posts: 9,487
I'm over near Burnley, but have a laptop and FiatECUscan, but don't profess to be an expert on Selespeeds....Ferdi at Ferdis Garage at lytham is a well regarded Alfa expert...not cheap, but knows his Alfas...might be worth a call. Give me a shout on 07976 384980 if I can help....

Richard
rgwm is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 57,288
Taylor, Gus at Alfatune has a 156 SW Sele with over 150k on the clock, he's the man to speak to

AKA Alfatuner on here
Happy Man is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 10 Old 07-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
many thanks richard il keep you in mind.
taylor78 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 10 Old 07-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
many thanks happyman
taylor78 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 10 Old 06-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: alive and kicking
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 45
sorted it lads and thanks for your comments, i took it to ferdi's garage on monday and he put it on computer, said it could need a selespeed pump which aint cheap... well the good news is i rung him yesterday and he said he'd thought hard abt it and remember he had a car with the same problem many years ago and remembered what the problem was::: the solinoid on the actuator... so told me to bring it down asap yesterday and he depressurised the system changed the part, pressurised it all back up, calibrated the gearbox ect tweeked a few more things and there you go 2 hours later.... sorted. in the 4 years ive had it- its never changed gear and run so good.. that man/garage is a genius.. oh and he only charge me £120 alltogether well worth it..
taylor78 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
needed , selespeed

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which oil is needed for Selespeed? SUTR786 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 10 05-01-10 04:33
156 Selespeed Gearbox Problem - Advise Needed Please! kronkons Alfa 147, 156 & GT 8 22-09-07 22:18
Advice needed....147 Manual or Selespeed? Howie147 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 36 01-07-07 10:25
Selespeed experts needed (147) Pullie147 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 7 17-06-07 16:30
Selespeed dramas..... what part next? pmptrading Alfa 147, 156 & GT 3 05-01-07 05:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome