2.4 jtd 10v 150 bhp turbo - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 37 Old 26-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
2.4 jtd 10v 150 bhp turbo

removed my whistling turbo to find a broken vane on the exhaust impeller. wheres the best place to get a new one or recon please. anyone advise on price im guessing dealer might be the worst option. ta jim
gammyleg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Still driving a Volvo :/
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Galway
Posts: 3,807
iirc the turbo from the 150 is the same as the 140 and 175 (dont quote me on the 175) mine blew up in january and had bought a recon one instead, however i got it from the mainland as it was just too expensive in Irl and the UK.
Its a long shot but if you have any Polish friends then you could order from here:

Allegro.pl - aukcje internetowe, bezpieczne zakupy

its a long shot though, check out ebay aswell...
bear1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 37 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
ok and thanks for your info. how did you get on with the recon one as i hear they wont supply parts for our particular model due to a exclusivity agreement between alfa and garrett. wheres the mainland? sorry for being a bit dense - do you mean italy

regards jim
gammyleg is offline  
Status: Still driving a Volvo :/
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Galway
Posts: 3,807
by mainland i meant Europe.

I got on fine, straight swap over, had no issues with running power with it.. spools up nicely but ive got some problems with my car i.e. injectors may be worn and the air filter so my power has some dead spots.
Yeah i heard about this agreement, from my understanding its the dealer that will only sell you the actual turbo (at a nice price aswell) but its quite easy to replicate the turbo afaik. the recons are repaired (at least mine was) in a sort of lab that had lasers etc to get the balancing or something exactly the same and i got a years warranty with it
bear1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 37 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
im checking out prices and it seems like i have a turbo for a 136 bhp fitted while mine is the 150 bhp. my engine code is 841c000 on the vin type plate yet the label on the garrett says 710811-1 which i think equates to a 136 version - im unsure what i have now. if i get another turbo and its for a 136 its incorrect. nothing straight forward
gammyleg is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 37 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
gammyleg is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
turbine shaft is a easy swap really, u need new piston rings for the shaft too, the impellor nut is reverse thread !
parts should be pre ballanced and when assembled go on a rig to test for ballance/vibration

going by what we build the only difference with turbine shaft will be the profile of the turbine impellor as that matches the turbine housing, id guess they wont change them much

can u actualy buy a shaft and tubine wheel............ what do the want at recon place for fitting a new one?

Gary
hdseven is offline  
Status: Still driving a Volvo :/
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Galway
Posts: 3,807
im confused, i was always under the illusion that the 136 turbo was completely different to the 140/150 version. It looks different aswell.
bear1 is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
136 /140 is listed as the same, cant find a model for the 150

think the only difference is wastegate/vnt they will look totaly different

a turbo should cover a wide band of horsepower that range of 14 bhp is nothing

Gary
hdseven is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
this may help with o.e. part numbers i.e turbine and shaft
Turbo Build Sheet
sussexa is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by sussexa View Post
this may help with o.e. part numbers i.e turbine and shaft
Turbo Build Sheet
great stuff

it shows that there is just one piston ring on the shaft too

if they can supply parts thats great to know
hdseven is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
the 136 bhp turbo is TOTALLY different from the 140/150 bhp turbos.

the 136 has a Garrett TD2503V, the 140/150/175 have a GT2256V

both are VNT turbos, but the TD2503V uses a boostline to adjust the VNT, the others a vacuumline.

if you make a picture of the turbo, I could tell you if it's a TD or GT
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 37 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
turbo pics

please have a look at these pics - see what you think. jim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF6652.JPG (71.3 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF6642.JPG (86.2 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF6648.JPG (84.3 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF6645.JPG (81.8 KB, 18 views)
gammyleg is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
that's a 140/150 bhp turbo
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuore_Sportivo_155 View Post
that's a 140/150 bhp turbo
Yes, but I have also noticed some turbo reconditioners catalogues stating that the 140/150bhp turbo is also shared with a 136bhp version, although they do also list the 136bhp version seperately.

Was there a 136bhp CF3 engine with the Garret GT2256 made for a different market? I'm thinking Belgium as they have some funny company car tax laws regarding power output..
Pud237 is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
no there wasn't.

all 136 bhp cars had the td2503v. when the CF3 engines appeared the 136 disappeared. I'm from Belgium btw
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 37 Old 28-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
sent it off to turbo technics today. awaiting the estimate .
gammyleg is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuore_Sportivo_155 View Post
no there wasn't.

all 136 bhp cars had the td2503v. when the CF3 engines appeared the 136 disappeared. I'm from Belgium btw
But there is some strange 136bhp versions of some diesel engines available for the Belgian market right? I'm sure I can't have just imagined it, I've seen it somewhere.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
yes, the 1.9 has a 136...
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by gammyleg View Post
sent it off to turbo technics today. awaiting the estimate .
Am interested to see how much, for what is a simple job, I'd expect the journal bearings to be changed, there a couple of quid, circlips are pence, dunno how much the shaft and wheel will be, as I only know our internal price, the cost to make and machine, which is around £25

Time to strip n rebuild, 15 mins tops, including ballance

So from an insider I'm keen to see what kind of prices these people charge

Gary
hdseven is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 37 Old 01-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
cant help but ask but would you have fancied a go at rebuilding it. you work at barnsley? less than 10 miles from me

jim
gammyleg is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
Huddersfield mate not Barnsley, we do truck turbos, cummins turbo technologies what was holsets. if u can actualy get hold of the parts, its easy, couple of spanners to undo comp wheel and cirlip pliers to swap journal bearings, I have never seen the shaft n wheel part for sale
What they will say is diy rebuild won't be balanced on vsr, but parts should be pre balanced, so should be ok

The nut on the comp wheel slackens the wrong way by the way!!!!

An additional thought, if no play in shaft, just swap that, even easier, the oil is the actual bearing!

Last edited by hdseven; 01-07-11 at 03:47.
hdseven is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 37 Old 02-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
There's a bit of play in the shaft however its not massive but its about right for 103 thousand miles. i only removed the turbo because the engine had an annoying police siren whistle and the plumbing seemed airtight. worst case scenarion was defective turbo and thats whats happened - i've used the time to do other jobs on the suspension and brakes etc while its away at turbo technics - havent heard and word back from them since it was sent off tuesday despite an e mail requesting a completion time and costs and i guess they will need to be called on the phone on monday. ive changed all the discs and pads plus the 2 back wheel brgs and the handbrake cable. i am going to change the oil and filter to give the new turbo a dose of new oil and sort out the undertray fixings before it gets back - might even clean the egr and strip and lubricate the aux belt idler if time allows
gammyleg is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 37 Old 04-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
update - turbotechnics have informed me that the turbo is unrepairable due to shaft wear. they dont have an exchange one and they havent got a new one in . anyone know where i can get a garrett 710811-1?

regards jim
gammyleg is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 37 Old 04-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 66
i checked with alfa who said it had the right turbo fitted. alfa want 1100 pounds , i got quotes from others who supply turbos , cheapest being 690 inc vat up to now at midland turbos
gammyleg is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
10v , 150 , bhp , jtd , turbo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a BMC panel filter for 156 2.4 10v JTD 150? only finding 136/140 bhp version sonic_vi Alfa 147, 156 & GT 3 23-01-11 17:53

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome