Timing set-up, dodgy tensioner? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 13-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: GTA blast home
AO Silver Member
 
alexgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,640
Timing set-up, dodgy tensioner?

I am having trouble setting the cambelt tensioner on my GTV TS.
I have the tool for adjusting the tensioner and I can set so the pointer is at the hole, like the attached picture but when I rotate the crank to check the timing the pointer moves from position.

Do I have a dodgy tensioner?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cam tension.JPG (30.9 KB, 95 views)
alexgee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

No, it 'wags' by about the width of said hole when the engine is rotated and when it is running.

Just make sure it's still pointing at the hole after 2 complete revolutions.
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 13-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: GTA blast home
AO Silver Member
 
alexgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
No, it 'wags' by about the width of said hole when the engine is rotated and when it is running.

Just make sure it's still pointing at the hole after 2 complete revolutions.
and if it is pointing below the hole after 2 complete revolutions, I need to get another one?

I dont understand torque settings as such, so is the one for the nut on the tensioner well tightened or loose so to speak? I am fearing I may have overtightened on my first install.
alexgee is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Depends really... It can vary a fair bit throughout the cycle, and if you stop it just at a point where the engine turns back slightly it'll look like it's slack.

The nut on the tensioner should be slack while you're adjusting the tension of the belt, then tightened up before removing the tensioning tool.
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 5 Old 17-02-11 Thread Starter
Status: GTA blast home
AO Silver Member
 
alexgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Depends really... It can vary a fair bit throughout the cycle, and if you stop it just at a point where the engine turns back slightly it'll look like it's slack.
I am starting to feel I am going to have to hope for the best. I was hoping it would be set it to point at the hole and if it moved it was wrong.

I also need to get a new torque wrench to rule out issues there.

thanks for your help.
alexgee is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
dodgy , setup , tensioner , timing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violent Crime 159iza South Africa 139 26-03-10 09:35

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome