help on a v6 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 16-11-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 22

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

help on a v6

Hi all I'm new to ***** V6's! I need to change a coil pack, as ive had my car plugged up to an ecu reader and it failed on coil pack 2 and 3. Need to find out whether its front or back bank.
can any1 help me please.

thanku, ant.
st200ant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Style and Passion
AO Member
 
fildigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 786
Hello

I'm 50% sure it's the front bank !
fildigger is offline  
Status: Anonima Lombarda Fabbrica Automobili
AO Member
 
keepRolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 975
Rear bank , closest to firewall... under intake plenum.
keepRolling is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 16-11-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 22

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

is it hard to do under intake plenum off and is ther a post how to do it thax
st200ant is offline  
Status: Anonima Lombarda Fabbrica Automobili
AO Member
 
keepRolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 975
Its not too bad If you're handy with a spanner , not sure if there's a thread on here showing how to remove the plenum.

As far as I can remember , there are two allen screws holding it down on the back of the plenum.
You need to release the hose clamps securing the chrome pipes to the plenum, disconnect the pipes from the back of the plenum, disconnect the intake pipe from the plenum and disconnect the connector from the throttle body.
after that the intake plenum should slide upwards and off exposing the coil packs .

To get the chrome pipes back onto the plenum . I found the easiest way is to loosen them just slightly from the head so you get enough movement to wiggle them back on, then just remember to tighten the pipes back to the head or else your car wont run properly .

Hope that helps

Keeps Rolling in his Alfa
keepRolling is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 7 Old 16-11-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 22

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

thax mate
st200ant is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 337
I have some second hand ones if you what to buy any, collection from Eltham se9 if you need..
Lowtechguy is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's got the highest Mileage 166 on the forum? Stephen Manjai Alfa 164 & 166 578 2 Weeks Ago 18:07
Alfa Romeo Engine Numbers TS,JTS,V6,JTD biffa Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 35 27-03-17 21:58
159 V6 Engine vs 156 V6 knightjp Alfa 147, 156 & GT 60 29-08-10 14:13
Drove my first Alfa today - Few Questions 2.5 V6 156 Gwedo Alfa 147, 156 & GT 21 13-06-10 22:48
V6 first impressions and comparison with TS quentinhapsburg Alfa GTV & 916 Spider 44 28-04-10 17:16

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome