I Changed Cam Belt, now won't start - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 12-09-10 Thread Starter
AO Member

Member car:

I Changed Cam Belt, now won't start

Hi guy,

I'm new to the forum, but in a bit of a pickle. Apologies if I've posted in the wrong place but I'm in need of help.

I've just changed my cam belt on my 147 1.9 JTD, all went relatively smoothly although I've never done it before so had to refer to the forum a few time for help.

Anyway now the car won't start, it turns over with the starter motor, but won't start. Every once in a while it'll fire, but then it just dies instantly. I don't know what I've done wrong or maybe broken whilst I was doing it.

I did the water pump as well so had to loosen the cam pulley.

So I'm thinking cam sensor, but what are the symtoms of that failing?

Also worried about the EMU, it's right next to the Cam pulley, and although I didn;t do anything to it I leant on the wires a couple of times.

I've also got some kind of buzzing sound coming from behind the heater knobs inside the car when the ignition it on, I can't recall that before and it can't be related surely!!!!

Any suggestions

Thanks

Craig
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Gold Member

County: Down in the Park
did you double check you had the marks on the belt on the marks on the pulleys? sounds like you might be out a tooth somewhere (cam or crank)
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 13-09-10 Thread Starter
AO Member

Member car:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuore_Sportivo_155 View Post
did you double check you had the marks on the belt on the marks on the pulleys? sounds like you might be out a tooth somewhere (cam or crank)
Hi Cuore,

I triple checked the belt marks with those on the pulleys.

I was thinking this through whilst trying to sleep last night and a few things came to mind regarding the cam pulley.