new crankshaft sensor fitted now car won't start - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 21-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: Looking for a V6 again
AO Member
 
TOPKIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 491
new crankshaft sensor fitted now car won't start

Had a few starting issues lately on my 2 litre twinspark so as a matter of caution i have changed the water temp sensor and just fitted a new Crankshaft sensor and now the car won't start at all, any ideas what it may be.
TOPKIT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,975
When you removed the old crank sensor, did the old "O"-ring come out or did it get left behind?

If it was left behind, the sensor will be too far away and it won't start.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 21-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: Looking for a V6 again
AO Member
 
TOPKIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 491
Hi Dave no i made sure that the O ring came of and also nothin is down the hole, then i fitted the new one and the engine just turns over but does not kick in like there is no spark.
TOPKIT is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,975
Is the fuel pump running?

Go round and double check everything, even the things that are nothing to do with the job you've just done!
The fuel cut-off can have a habit of popping up for no apparent reason, so check that first.
David C is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
was a patten part or an alfa part? the patten parts seem to be a little tight and it might not be in far enough.
biffa is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 10 Old 21-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: Looking for a V6 again
AO Member
 
TOPKIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 491
I checked the fuel cut off and also put the battery on charge for half an hour and hey presto she has now started and definately seems to pull more revs and feel more responsive now. Thanks for your help David
TOPKIT is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 28-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: Looking for a V6 again
AO Member
 
TOPKIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 491
After all of the the same starting problem has happened again, sometimes the fuel pump and the red light on the temp guage do not come on and after a couple of times all of a sudden they do and the pump runs up as it should, any ideas as this is driving me mad i need my car every day, all this started after i changed the crank sensor. Also now when i disconnect the temp sensor on the thermostat the fan does not come on which is used to do.
TOPKIT is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOPKIT View Post
After all of the the same starting problem has happened again, sometimes the fuel pump and the red light on the temp guage do not come on and after a couple of times all of a sudden they do and the pump runs up as it should, any ideas as this is driving me mad i need my car every day, all this started after i changed the crank sensor. Also now when i disconnect the temp sensor on the thermostat the fan does not come on which is used to do.
You need to check the relays in front of the battery, make sure the connections are clean and making a good contact... All the devices mentioned above have control via these relays...
biffa is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 10 Old 09-09-10 Thread Starter
Status: Looking for a V6 again
AO Member
 
TOPKIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 491
Thanks Biffa, i have it sorted now i cleaned all relays and fuses and still no luck but then a friend had a meter on the fuel pump relay and i was fiddling with the fuses up near the bulk head when the relay started clicking, it turned out to be a fuse that was broken inside its plastic moulding but it had not blown so it looked ok. When i pulled the fuse out you could see it moving around inside the plastic. Fuse changed and the car has been 100% perfect since!
TOPKIT is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
suppose the start of your problems was theat fuse aswell then...
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
car , crankshaft , fitted , sensor , start

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your car history up to your current car? nayf General Alfa Discussion 213 22-10-15 19:16
Front ARB choices DGT Alfa 147, 156 & GT 45 01-06-07 13:36
The Clown Car SPORTO Way Off Topic 18 28-04-07 11:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome