2.0 156 JTS Won't Start, HP Pump...Help! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 22 Old 10-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

2.0 156 JTS Won't Start, HP Pump...Help!

I have exhausted all possibilities and seek all of your expert help.

Proud (used to be) owner of a 2005 2.0, 156 JTS Veloce. Whilst driving at 60mph the engine cut out and never started since.

First thoughts of cambelt, crank sensor etc have all been ruled out. No faults recorded on diagnosis, Alfa Romeo also confirmed so next issue was the fuel. The low pressure pump under the rear seats has been checked, and followed the fuel line all the way to the high pressure pump I never knew even existed, all ok, plenty of fuel. However, the high pressure pump isnt delivering any fuel back to the fuel rail. Checked the camshafts, all ok, also checked the pin which is known to go, also ok.

Advised it must be the actual pump itself, retailing at £1000! Managed to get one on here for £80 thankfully, however.....same again, delivering a little fuel back more than the last pump, but will not start!

Please can anyone advise, surely a high pressure pump should be delivering more fuel. The camshafts are turning, there solid and been checked, has anyone seen this pump delivering or can advise of anything else that it could be?


Thanks in advance
bangin87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 4,998

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Is the car turning over ok ?
ronan is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Can you hear the low pressure pump running? Have you checked the cut-off under the passenger seat?

I'd imagine the HP pump only matters once the engine's running and lots of petrol is required...

Last edited by iainfm; 10-07-10 at 20:02.
iainfm is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Immobiliser light?
Smaky is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaky View Post
Immobiliser light?
Good call...

Bangin87 - where are you? I've got AlfaDiag and FiatECUscan if you want a 2nd/3rd opinion
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 22 Old 11-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Thanks for replying everyone.

The car is turning over fine, and we can hear the low pressure pump clicking. The fuel cut off switch was the first thing we checked and its fine too.

I have alfadiag Iainfm but when I plugged it in there was no errors at all. Im really lost with this one. Need to look for the immobiliser light though, should it be on the dash or off?

I'm going to go plug it in again and see if any new errors appear. I'm near Livingston in West Lothian, Scotland.

Thanks Again, I just dunno why it won't start
bangin87 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 22 Old 11-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Just had a new error appear, hopefully this can shed some light:

P0191, Fuel rail pressure sensor circuit range/performance.
bangin87 is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Sounds like the sensor is malfunctioning. Try unplugging it and see if it'll start and run in limp mode...
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 22 Old 12-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Is the sensor above the fuel relay that I should unplug?
bangin87 is offline  
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

There's a pressure regulator and the sensor on the back/left of the injector rail (looking at the drawings on ePer).

I'd try disconnecting the sensor (or can you read its value in AlfaDiag?), or maybe look at the regulator in case it's blocked/jammed...

As Smaky asked - is there a yellow 'code' light on the dash?
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 22 Old 12-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Will do, thanks.

Theres defo no code light on the dash, immobiliser is all ok. Pretty sure its a fuel issue, will have that sensor looked at in the morning, thanks again. Will give u the update
bangin87 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AMIKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
County: Tbilisi
Posts: 113
What was the problem at last???
AMIKO is offline  
Status: Helpingly Hopeful
AO Member
 
alfamender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 166

Member car:

Rover 420 i.s

Wheres the high pressure pump then. Wasn't aware they had two pumps
alfamender is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfamender View Post
Wheres the high pressure pump then. Wasn't aware they had two pumps
Bolted onto the gearbox end of the exhaust cam.
Pud237 is online now  
(Post Link) post #15 of 22 Old 15-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Sorry for the delay.

Turned out the actual cause of the whole problem was contaminated fuel lying at the bottom of the petrol tank. Hit a bump which brought it up and damaged the high pressure pump.

Needed to flush out the full petrol tank which revealed the contaminated fuel which smelt like paint thinner. Also needed a brand new high pressure pump, Bosch at nearly £1000 from Alfa. Managed to purchase a bit cheaper tho

Thank you Shell in West Lothian, Scotland. Two Shell garages have had their unleaded pumps dug out, and another closed down.
bangin87 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Hope the high pressure fuel pump didn't cost you too much, I've got a box of good 2nd hand ones at work..
Pud237 is online now  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AMIKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
County: Tbilisi
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Hope the high pressure fuel pump didn't cost you too much, I've got a box of good 2nd hand ones at work..
Do you have got high pressure fuel pump for 2.2JTS???
AMIKO is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIKO View Post
Do you have got high pressure fuel pump for 2.2JTS???
No sorry, only ones from 2.0 JTS engines, 156, GT, GTV etc.
Pud237 is online now  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AMIKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
County: Tbilisi
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
No sorry, only ones from 2.0 JTS engines, 156, GT, GTV etc.
May be it can be fitted to my 2.2 JTS.
How can I know?
AMIKO is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 22 Old 18-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 7

Member car:

2005 2.0 156 JTS

Thankfully not.

Managed to pick one up for £90

Seemed very reasonable.
bangin87 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIKO View Post
May be it can be fitted to my 2.2 JTS.
How can I know?
I don't think so, different part number..
Pud237 is online now  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2

Member car:

Toyota Mr2

Pud237..... P.m. Sent.
Scatman Dave is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
156 , jts , pumphelp , start

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome