Alfa 156 jts warning light - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 03-02-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
County: Pistoia
Posts: 32
Help Alfa 156 jts warning light

Hello i'm Samuele from Italy exactly near Florence.
My JTS (i'm first owner from may 2002) have a problem with warning light.
With examiner fault codes are p1172 (Lambda adaptat. 2 (additive) above upper limit ) and p1173 (P1173 Lambda adaptat. 1 (multiplicative)).
I feel car good no problem.
MAF seems good but is difficult to say. I have changed precat lambda for safety.
I have read the problem with lambda's connections so i have sprayed it.
This problem appears sometimes also when car was stock. Now have direct kn induction, then mainflod is 4-1 exausth, sport cat 200, sport rear exausth; all by cecam. I think that these thing are not important for my problem.
Possible solution?
I think MAF but i can't change a lot of thing without certainty.
Thanks for attention and sorry for my italian english
samuelejts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 6 YEARS LYMPHOMA FREE!! :)
AO Silver Member
 
ronan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Belfast
County: Down
Posts: 4,998

Member car:

156 1.8 Turismo

Samuele

Put this thread in the technical 147,156 & GT section.You might get more help.
ronan is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
The most commom fault is the two top lambda sensors ( pre cat sensors ) if you have a look at the connections you will see there 6 pins to them, The mod we do is cut the connection of the wiring loom end and solder the wires straight to the sensors, tricky to do but that will fix it. Cleaning the connections wont last for long.

Dont leave this too long as it can damage your cat.
Also to check the two lower sensors which are 4 pin connections, you will have 2 white wires, 1 grey and 1 black, you will need a mulit meter to do this but what you do is check that the two white wires have resistances between them.... if it is an open circuit then that sensor is broken.

Hope this helps
AlfaRomeo.D.E.T is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 04-02-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
County: Pistoia
Posts: 32
Thanks a lot, so you think i must fix lamdas' connection to resolve warning light?
MAF in your opinion is good in my 156?
Best regards.
samuelejts is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
From the fault codes you have, in my experience it has always been those sensors, do the repair i siad above if you think you can or get a garage to do so.
AlfaRomeo.D.E.T is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo.D.E.T View Post
From the fault codes you have, in my experience it has always been those sensors, do the repair i siad above if you think you can or get a garage to do so.
I'd recomend an auto electrican to do this rather than an everyday garage.
biffa is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 7 Old 05-02-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
County: Pistoia
Posts: 32
Ok thanks, next week i hope to resolve my problem searching a good auto electrician!
samuelejts is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
156 , alfa , jts , light , warning

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome