HELP re:diagnostic codes?! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 01-02-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 6
HELP re:diagnostic codes?!

I have just bought a cheap diagnostics kit and received the following codes:
(I have an '03 156 JTS)
1. P0120 pedal position sensor a circuit malfunction
2. P1121 throttle position sensor circuit intermittent high voltage
3. P1121 throttle position sensor circuit intermittent low voltage
4. P1687 metering oil pump stepping motor circuit malfunction
5. P0505 idle control system malfunction
6. P1151 pending lack of HO2 S21 switch sensor indicates lean

Could anyone give me any info on these codes as i dont have a clue & obviously dont want to spend too much!
Thanks Ian
broon82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
alid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 656

Member car:

Alfa 147 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by broon82 View Post
I have just bought a cheap diagnostics kit and received the following codes:
(I have an '03 156 JTS)
1. P0120 pedal position sensor a circuit malfunction
2. P1121 throttle position sensor circuit intermittent high voltage
3. P1121 throttle position sensor circuit intermittent low voltage
4. P1687 metering oil pump stepping motor circuit malfunction
5. P0505 idle control system malfunction
6. P1151 pending lack of HO2 S21 switch sensor indicates lean

Could anyone give me any info on these codes as i dont have a clue & obviously dont want to spend too much!
Thanks Ian
What made you get a diagnostic done . Are you having trouble with the mentioned components?
alid1 is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Do you have any symptoms besides error codes?
biffa is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 6 Old 02-02-10 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 6
sorry should have mentioned in my first post, the car sometimes lacks power, i put the accelerator to the floor and the car doesnt speed up, the revs dont move either. ive been doing abit of research on the accelerator potentiometer and need an idiots guide because i know where the wire from the pedal comes but i dont know where it finishes, is it the throttle body? i hope this makes sense!!
broon82 is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by broon82 View Post
sorry should have mentioned in my first post, the car sometimes lacks power, i put the accelerator to the floor and the car doesnt speed up, the revs dont move either. ive been doing abit of research on the accelerator potentiometer and need an idiots guide because i know where the wire from the pedal comes but i dont know where it finishes, is it the throttle body? i hope this makes sense!!

Is this with the car parked or whilst driving that it doesnt Rev?
To what revs does it stop at?
Whent was the CAM belt changed and what milage has the car done?

SMAKY might be the man you need search his user name and send him an e-mail...
biffa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 224
I think it would be best putting it on the Alfadiag software rather than a cheap generic one.
The accelerator potentiometer sits above the accelerator pedal and the pedal pushes an arm. Out of the AP is a short loom of cables which connect into a small white connector block. Get your head in the drivers footwell and look up, it is directly behind the fuse box but a real pain in the **** to see properly but you can feel round and touch it split the connector, check connections and clean with contact cleaner and reassemble.
See how that goes.

If the engine managment light is on you will probably be in limp mode so won't have very much power until the ECU forgets the error and then it all starts again.
ChrisSound is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
codes , rediagnostic

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 62 14-08-19 13:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome