1.8 or 2.0 crank in 1.6 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 25-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 139
1.8 or 2.0 crank in 1.6

Is it possible to transplant a 1.8 or 2.0 crank in a 1.6 engine to get the higher cc?
I read somewhere that installing a 2.0 crank in 1.6 is possible, however the block is shorter and the pistons come out of the block by 6mm. Is it possible to use a copper gasket to compensate for the height difference?
The reason i'm asking is because living in Cyprus like i do, where all mods are almost prohibided, you cannot easily put a 2.0 engine in a 1.6, so an easy way to do it would be to change all the internals of the 1.6 so no one would know you have a 2.0!
kyriacosmetal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,976
6mm would be one hell of a gasket!!

I don't know if the bore centres are the same in the 1.6 & 2.0, that could be your biggest obstacle.
It may be possible using a 1.8 block.

I guess you want to use std parts to keep the costs down. Special pistons and/or rods would get over the 6mm height difference but I expect there would still need to be machining inside the block to get clearance.

AHM or Alfatuner may know for sure if it is even possible, but like most things it is unlikely to be easy!

David C

Audi TT 3.2v6 DSG
2012 Renault Twingo 1.2
xAlfa 156 Selespeed sp3 + Brembo conversion
Fiat Cinquecento 899cc
David C is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,914
There are two different types of 1.6 engine - I think the very early 1.6 TS engines in the 156 are different to the later ones commonly found in the 147..
Pud237 is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,096
I heard that as well Dan.

The 1.6 fitted to the 156 was based on the 1.8, where as the later 1.6 fitted to the 147 was based on the 1.4 TS that we didn't get in the uk and it had a shorter block.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 9 Old 26-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 139
From what i heard in the greek forums, the older 1.6 that was installed on 146 was *** tall sd the 2.0
The later ones installed on the 156 was shorter.
2.0 would need to overbore the cylinders, so my best shot is using the 1.8 crank and rods which have the same diameter as the 1.6
However i just need to make sure that they would actually fit, before starting to source parts and dismantling the engine.
kyriacosmetal is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,914
Which 1.6 engine do you have? The very early 156s (all CF2 1.6 TS as far as I know) got the old 146 engine that uses the same block as the 2.0 and 1.8. The CF3 engines are all short blocks that I know of.

Also, why not just fit a 1.8 engine anyway? You can barely see the identity plates on the engines when they are installed in the car, and 90% of the time they are rusted to hell and un-readable anyway. If you had a 2.0 the balance belts would give it away so you can't do that..

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Alfatuner has remapped my wifes 147 1.6 and it goes like stink, he mentioned its a tame remap and the he can get more out of it... Might be worth a thought, you post you ECU to him...
biffa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
petros4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cyprus
County: Nicosia
Posts: 162
who is going to rebuild the engine?who is your mechanic?after that you must change your username to kyriakosmeNtal!:P
petros4x4 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 47

Member car:

Punto Hgt

A 2ltr crank won't work in a 1.6/1.8 block, it won't turn over as the rods hit the bottom of the cylinders.
Hgtbill is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
crank

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing a 147 1.6 TS with a 1.8, 2.0 TS engine henry-147 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 2 28-03-16 07:23
1.6 or 1.8 to 2.0? amazzone-verde Alfa 147, 156 & GT 6 09-12-08 03:56

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome