cf1 engine in cf3 car - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 12
cf1 engine in cf3 car

need to put a new engine in my car but can only get hold of a cf1 engine, the engine is a 2.0 ts. i need to put this into a 156 which used to have a cf3 engine wondering if this was possible and what problems id likey have

cheers
rmarsh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Your main issues would be with the electrics... For example, a CF1 engine has a separate temperature gauge sender, whereas in the CF2/3 it's in the same unit as the ECU temp sensor.

That said, you shouldn't really have any problems. Use the basics from the CF1 engine, and keep as much as you can from the CF3 (eg throttle body, thermostat, inlet/exhaust manifolds).

You can (I believe) get the plastic cam box to fit a CF1 head, and therefore get the plastic engine cover on as well.

It's not straightforward, but it's certainly possible

What's wrong with the CF3 unit?
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 12
cheers for the advice i'll give it a go. the old engines bottom end went on the motor way and smashed the sump up a bit unfourtunately.
rmarsh is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Strip the CF1 down to bare engine and swap everything that is good from the CF3 to the CF1 including the rocker cover, while the engine is out i would take the opertunity to replace the timing belt kit, clutch slave cylinder and clutch if its in the budget...
What mileage has the the CF1 engine done if its high might be worth pulling the sump off and the Bigend caps and check the shells...
biffa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
itacarboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 871
second that there are alot more electrics to the cf3 engine, i would personally swap bottom ends over,
itacarboy is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
car , cf1 , cf3 , engine

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 62 14-08-19 13:36
Alfa Romeo 8c Competizione Bert Cheese General Alfa Discussion 408 31-03-10 19:20
alfa 156 tuning belfast bob Tuning & Upgrades 29 25-06-08 20:35
Which one is the best goldstud Tuning & Upgrades 17 24-06-08 11:50
The Clown Car SPORTO Way Off Topic 18 28-04-07 11:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome