Cambelt tensioner manufacturer - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
GavinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Sligo
Posts: 509

Member car:

156 V6, GTV V6

Cambelt tensioner manufacturer

Does anyone know who is the OE manufacturer for the 156 v6 (24v) cambelt tensioner? Is it Litens?

Just bought a new tensioner and it's made by Litens. I think it's actually the same as the one I just took off the car as they both say "made in Canada"!!

Really just wanted to make sure it was decent quality... anyone?

cheers
GavinH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 7 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
GavinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Sligo
Posts: 509

Member car:

156 V6, GTV V6

Never mind, just found a picture of an OEM tensioner and it is indeed made by Litens.

It appears I have one "direct from manufacturer" so to speak.. made by OEM but no Alfa part number on it.

Gavin
GavinH is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,091
I also have an original equipment one here and it is indeed made by Litens.

I take it you have an aftermarket cambelt kit. Generally the tensioners in these are the same as the OE ones, and only the belt itself is different.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
GavinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Sligo
Posts: 509

Member car:

156 V6, GTV V6

Hi Symon,

I bought the kit off of that bloke on EBay for 100. Just received it today. Actually the belt itself is in a Alfa "ricambi" package, so must be straight from the dealers.

Now all I have to do is fit it!
GavinH is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,091
I have yet to fit mine as well. I just haven't had the chance to get on and change it


The jobs are mounting up, so it looks like I will be busy over christmas.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 7 Old 14-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
GavinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Sligo
Posts: 509

Member car:

156 V6, GTV V6

I'm halfway there, have removed the old belt, waterpump, pullies etc, so all that is left to do is put the new pieces on!

Actually the whole job is going ok so far though getting all the right tools cost quite a bit, and it is slow going if you're a newbie at it like me.
GavinH is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,091
I bought my tools from totally Alfa. I think I paid around 100 for a set of camlocks, some M7 bolts, a dial gauge and adaptor and a tensioner setting tool.

I may sell the tools after doing the job, as the chance of me still having the car when it is next due it pretty slim as we have a baby on the way.
symon is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
cambelt , manufacturer , tensioner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome