how do you work a TDC & Dial gauge - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 12-12-09 Thread Starter
Status: GTA blast home
AO Silver Member
 
alexgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,639
how do you work a TDC & Dial gauge

How do you work a TDC & Dial gauge?

What should the gauge be reading when you attach it to the TDC?

I am working on a CF1 2.0 TS
I have removed the very first spark plug (closest to the cambelt) ready to insert the TDC
Now I am guess when I rotate the crank the probe will go up the stick increasing pressure on the gauge reading then fall away once it past TDC

is this correct?

The cam locks fit in place when i use a screw driver to check the piston is at the top but i guess this could lead to being a tooth out?

thanks
alexgee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

Yep, you've pretty much got it. The gauge might have a couple of rotating marks on its face that will help you find the point where it stops rising and begins to fall (align one with the needle when you find TCD). Its also useful for making sure that the crank hasn't turned during the fitting/tightening of the belt as well.

Don't worry too much if the blocks don't fit correctly at TDC with the old belt on. It probably means the timing was slightly out to begin with...
iainfm is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,091
Also when you think you have found TDC with the dial gauge temporarily refit the lower cambelt cover and the auxilary belt pulley. There is a notch on the pulley that should line up with the notch on the cover.
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 123

Member car:

Various alfa's

the dial gauge should have a smaller gauge inside the large dial, this is for 'finer accuracy' as your at TDC, to find the exact point.
PowerItalia is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerItalia View Post
the dial gauge should have a smaller gauge inside the large dial, this is for 'finer accuracy' as your at TDC, to find the exact point.
Both mine have the fine gauge outside the coarse dial. So does the one on the tensometer at work. Therefore have a play with the one you have to see which of the alternative arrangements it conforms to.


The gauge has a knurled knob which tightens down onto an adjustable ring. Loosen the knob and rotate the dial to line the needle up with zero and tighten the knob (gently) check that on maximum movement of the needle it still lines up with zero. Proceed with the rest of the belt changing.
armoore is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
dial , gauge , tdc , work

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AO Folding Team Official Chat Thread Snokio Way Off Topic 2924 05-06-15 15:21

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome