twinny and v6 MAF'S - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 22 Old 09-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: Prototipo
AO Member
 
yeosport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 174

Member car:

2000 156 2.5 v6

twinny and v6 MAF'S

Hi there,

I've heard a vicious rumor that the 156v6 and 156 twin spark MAF's are one of the same, apparently it's just the diameter of the MAF tube which is different, can anyone confirm this???? as there would be a big price difference if this is correct, and the v6 can run a twin spark sensor with no problems

cheers
yeosport is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
they probably are the same, however the fitment into the tube is critical aswell, the alignment must be just right or the measured amount of air is incorrect!
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
Hi there,

I've heard a vicious rumor that the 156v6 and 156 twin spark MAF's are one of the same, apparently it's just the diameter of the MAF tube which is different, can anyone confirm this???? as there would be a big price difference if this is correct, and the v6 can run a twin spark sensor with no problems

cheers
You heard wrong.They are DIFFERENT.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFA TUNER View Post
You heard wrong.They are DIFFERENT.
All MAF's below used same Bosch sensor - (HFM) F00C2G2030
Bosch 0 280 217 531
Bosch 0 280 218 001
Bosch 0 280 218 004
Bosch 0 280 218 019
Bosch 0 280 218 045
Bosch 0 280 218 108
Bosch 0 281 002 182
Bosch 0 281 002 199
Bosch 0 281 002 207
Bosch 0 281 002 208

Only tube ID is different.
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: "My other car'sa 166 TWO twice"
AO Gold Member
 
Pomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 10,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFA TUNER View Post
You heard wrong.They are DIFFERENT.
you sure Anthea?dont answer..Still awaiting cf2 v cf3.



Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
Hi there,

I've heard a vicious rumor that the 156v6 and 156 twin spark MAF's are one of the same, apparently it's just the diameter of the MAF tube which is different, can anyone confirm this???? as there would be a big price difference if this is correct, and the v6 can run a twin spark sensor with no problems

cheers
my V6 is running absolutely brilliantly for years on a ts sensor..genuine Bosch too for 36.50..Anyone need to buy a genuine Bosch tube for 40.00...needs a sensor.

I agree with speedmaster re the sensor no....
How'd I miss this one.

Loads a info in forum if you do a search yeosport.

Pomeo

Last edited by Pomeo; 26-11-09 at 18:46.
Pomeo is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
itacarboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 871
The twinny mafs are smaller 70mm if I remember right, not entirely convinced the the sensor will work as the fueling is alot different
itacarboy is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Just remove sensor from the tube, and mount it into your original one.
I know at least 20 peoples that runs CF2 engine maf's on CF3 engines for years with no problems, perfect readings, thrt response, MPG, and power.......
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: "My other car'sa 166 TWO twice"
AO Gold Member
 
Pomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 10,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedmaster View Post
Just remove sensor from the tube, and mount it into your original one.
I know at least 20 peoples that runs CF2 engine maf's on CF3 engines for years with no problems, perfect readings, thrt response, MPG, and power.......
So if I am getting this right Speedmaster the CF3 is the same sensor.

I only have 2 CF2's..I thought the 2001 was a CF3 has engine symbol BUT was built 2000 and therefore CF2.
That is a top tip then.

Here's how I found out.
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...oted-post.html

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...r-not-2-a.html

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...est-price.html

etc

Athough I just re read that Elbarto says CF3 sensor is a different no....Marketing?

Pomeo

"Don't follow me,Follow the Highway Code "

Last edited by Pomeo; 28-11-09 at 14:18.
Pomeo is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pomeo View Post

So if I am getting this right Speedmaster the CF3 is the same sensor.
Sometimes it's not same sensor, i mean that CF3 cars can be run with cheaper CF2 sensors - ect BOSCH maf with last 3 digits 019 - thats cheapest Bosch(in Bulgaria - 60EU) - i tried myself too - Alfadiag reads same 408 kg/h as original CF3 sensor, no difference in power and mpg.
Here in BG nobody buys CF3 sensors - we all get cheaper one( like Bosch 0 280 218 019), change only sensor, and no complains yet - ofcourse everybody here do this at his own responsibility, but since 2 years, i've heard zero complains.
Judge by youself.
PS - maf numbers i mention above used same sensor, i dont know if they CF2 or CF3, dont mix this 2 things.

Rear Wheel Drive Mid - Engined Alfa 156 3.0 V6 '99 - trackday car
Alfa 156 2.0 TS '00 - daily car

Fiat Coupe 20VTurbo, GT2860RS,
water-meth injection 120cc, custom manifold, 3" Downpipe, FMIC - entertainment car
Speedmaster is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Which car are you getting a reading of 408 kg/h on?
 
Status: "My other car'sa 166 TWO twice"
AO Gold Member
 
Pomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 10,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedmaster View Post
Sometimes it's not same sensor, i mean that CF3 cars can be run with cheaper CF2 sensors - ect BOSCH maf with last 3 digits 019 - thats cheapest Bosch(in Bulgaria - 60EU) - i tried myself too - Alfadiag reads same 408 kg/h as original CF3 sensor, no difference in power and mpg.
Here in BG nobody buys CF3 sensors - we all get cheaper one( like Bosch 0 280 218 019), change only sensor, and no complains yet - ofcourse everybody here do this at his own responsibility, but since 2 years, i've heard zero complains.
Judge by youself.
PS - maf numbers i mention above used same sensor, i dont know if they CF2 or CF3, dont mix this 2 things.
sorry about the CF2 v CF3...It's just that I thought that they were different...Suppose they could be...BUT what you are saying is just like the CF2 V6 can run with the exact samesensor as the TS so can the CF3's using the 0 280 218 019 sensor.
A real top tip for Elbarto then.

pomeo
Pomeo is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pomeo View Post
BUT what you are saying is just like the CF2 V6 can run with the exact samesensor as the TS so can the CF3's using the 0 280 218 019 sensor.
A real top tip for Elbarto then.

pomeo
Yep - many 2.0 and 1.8's used 0 280 218 019 Bosch MAF with this sensor inside - (HFM) F00C2G2030. CF2 V6 2.5 originally use Bosch 0 280 217 531 with same sensor inside. Why must i pay extra for a bigger tube only.
As i know Bosch 0 281 002 309, in some(or many)CF3 engines used different sensor F 00C 2G2 044. Not same, but as i told, i know many that changed only the sensor from CF2 MAF to CF3, or if ID is same, they used entire MAF. Today i drove 147 '02 with CF2 sensor, and it drives absolutely normal.
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0of0 View Post
Which car are you getting a reading of 408 kg/h on?
2.0 TS - Alfadiag
Speedmaster is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedmaster View Post
2.0 TS - Alfadiag
Cool, I thought it may have been the V6
 
(Post Link) post #15 of 22 Old 27-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Prototipo
AO Member
 
yeosport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 174

Member car:

2000 156 2.5 v6

I'm getting a little lost here now.

I have a yr2000 156 v6 which i presume is a CF2 (single lambda), so can someone give me a list of the part numbers for the actual sensor that will fit my v6... then i can find out which is the cheapest one, eg, 1.6ts or 1.8/2.0ts etc etc
yeosport is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
I'm getting a little lost here now.

I have a yr2000 156 v6 which i presume is a CF2 (single lambda), so can someone give me a list of the part numbers for the actual sensor that will fit my v6... then i can find out which is the cheapest one, eg, 1.6ts or 1.8/2.0ts etc etc
I also have V6,99,CF2, and original maf is Bosch 0 280 217 531 with Bosch sensor - (HFM) F00C2G2030 used. Bosch dealers here sells maf for V6(0 280 217 531) for 260EU, and maf for 2.0TS using same sensor is 55EU. Pleasant difference.
All maf's below used same sensor
Bosch 0 280 217 531
Bosch 0 280 218 001
Bosch 0 281 002 180
Bosch 0 280 218 004
Bosch 0 280 218 019
Bosch 0 280 218 045
Bosch 0 280 218 108
Bosch 0 281 002 182
Bosch 0 281 002 199
Bosch 0 281 002 207
Bosch 0 281 002 208
In my country cheaper one is 0 280 218 019 and it's used on almost 95% of all 156's,147's in our 156/147/GT - Club Alfa Romeo Bulgaria forum.

Last edited by Speedmaster; 28-11-09 at 13:25.
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,292
Is there a cheaper replacement availabe for the 0 280 218 120? Sensor F00C2G2063. It is used in 147 and GT 1.9 JTD 16V 150HP.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Here is 2 pic's(i take 2 because of the angle of light on it) of the original Bosch 0 280 217 531 sensor, removed from my UK imported 2.5V6 156's CF2 '99, and original Bosch 0 280 218 019 sensor removed form my 2.0 TS '00.


Any difference????? Oh yea.....the product manufact number below differ......but it differ in all Maf's, even on these with same Bosch numbers.
Speedmaster is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 22 Old 28-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Prototipo
AO Member
 
yeosport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 174

Member car:

2000 156 2.5 v6

Cheers for ya help speedmaster,

I'll be off to the local bosch dealer after i get back from a weeks testing with work and crossreference the part numbers to find out which works out cheapest for me.
I'll let you know how i get on.
I'm assuming from ya pic that ur a ferarri fan, so thanks for helping the enemy, me being a Mclaren employee ha ha

cheers
yeosport is offline  
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
Cheers for ya help speedmaster,

I'll be off to the local bosch dealer after i get back from a weeks testing with work and crossreference the part numbers to find out which works out cheapest for me.
I'll let you know how i get on.
Let other people know, as much knows about this, less money they will spend for nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
I'm assuming from ya pic that ur a ferarri fan, so thanks for helping the enemy, me being a Mclaren employee ha ha

cheers
Here for me, you're Alfa fan, and it's enough for me....
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 4
Can anyone help with this problem please......

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeosport View Post
I'm getting a little lost here now.

I have a yr2000 156 v6 which i presume is a CF2 (single lambda), so can someone give me a list of the part numbers for the actual sensor that will fit my v6... then i can find out which is the cheapest one, eg, 1.6ts or 1.8/2.0ts etc etc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedmaster View Post
I also have V6,99,CF2, and original maf is Bosch 0 280 217 531 with Bosch sensor - (HFM) F00C2G2030 used. Bosch dealers here sells maf for V6(0 280 217 531) for 260EU, and maf for 2.0TS using same sensor is 55EU. Pleasant difference.
All maf's below used same sensor
Bosch 0 280 217 531
Bosch 0 280 218 001
Bosch 0 281 002 180
Bosch 0 280 218 004
Bosch 0 280 218 019
Bosch 0 280 218 045
Bosch 0 280 218 108
Bosch 0 281 002 182
Bosch 0 281 002 199
Bosch 0 281 002 207
Bosch 0 281 002 208
In my country cheaper one is 0 280 218 019 and it's used on almost 95% of all 156's,147's in our 156/147/GT - Club Alfa Romeo Bulgaria forum.
I have the same car as you Yeosport, but not too sure whether its the same problem. I put it in for MOT and got given it back missfiring from under the bonnet. Occasionally will start and act normal until I begin to rev it over 3000 revs, then it begins to missfire and acts as though no petrol is getting through. Any ideas whether this is the air flow meter? I have been advised this is sounding like it is, but i would appreciate a second opinion. All help appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Glenin is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
I'm upgrading the MAF in my JTD soon aswell, going to GTA diameter...

don't want to spend 220 for a GTA sensor though, so found a housing fro 25 and will get a F3 JTD sensor and put the sensing element in the GTA housing.

Then remapping (again) after I fit the F3 injectors and up the turbo pressure to 20 psi
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
maf , twinny

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome