aux/ancillary belt change. 156 2. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 03-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 35

Member car:

156 SportWagon

aux/ancillary belt change. 156 2.

Hi.

How do you fit the new belt? Do you have to remove one of the pulleys?

Mine has air con.

Cheers.
YODABOY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
iainfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,274

Member car:

Jaaaaag

No need to remove anything, unless you're replacing the tensioner/idler.

Take a note of the way it runs, and slacken the belt by turning the idler anti-clockwise (I think - I can never remember when I'm explaining it ).

To refit, run the belt around the crank etc and turn the tensioner again to slip the belt over it.

You can either do this from underneath (remove inner wing panel to gain access) or (Smaky's way) from above by tying a bit of rope onto the spanner you're using to turn the tensioner.

Post back if the belt snapped and you need a pic of its route
iainfm is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 04-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 35

Member car:

156 SportWagon

yeah a route pic would be good. took the engine out a few months ago! forgot

I did try today to fit but no joy. How much does the tensioner move from untensioned to tensioned. (in degrees°)

cheers.
YODABOY is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,100
It moves nearly 90º IIRC so needs to be levered quite a way.

If you fit a 15mm spanner to the top bolt you should be able to lever it over although the spring is pretty strong.

You need to lever anti clockwise if looking directly at it, the top bolt won't come undone though as it has a left-hand thread.
symon is offline  
Status: Rebuilding series 3 landy, nearly there!
AO Member
 
UKSPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Torfaen
Posts: 299

Member car:

145 Cloverleaf

Here you go:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.JPG (42.4 KB, 59 views)
UKSPF is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 7 Old 05-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 35

Member car:

156 SportWagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKSPF View Post
Here you go:
cheers. All on now! the rope trick works a treat.

Malcolm.
YODABOY is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Bring it to me and I'll show you how they are changed without removing ANY covers.
Smaky is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
156 , aux or ancillary , belt , change

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome