Thinking of changing the Shells - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 03-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 107

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.0 TS

Thinking of changing the Shells

Im pretty happy with the shape of my 156/TS and always like to ensure its always running tip top. When I got it the belts were changed, oil and filters done and since then the oil and filters regulary changed ect ect. . .

So I've read somewhere a long time ago that the TS engines should have the shells changed at around 150,000 miles as a precautionary measure regardless of history and so its been on mind mind wether I should do it or not?!

So has anyone done this? Any problems?

Is it OK to fit new shells to an old engine??

Any views much appreciated
t-j-b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,096
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

If it was my car and it was running well I would leave it.
symon is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

What the man about said.
 
Status: Flabbergasted !
AO Silver Member
 
Green_Rizla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,734
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

......If it 'aint broke........... Leave it well alone fella.

Cheers to All
Peter
Green_Rizla is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 14 Old 03-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 107

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.0 TS

Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Cheers for quick replies,

Its probally sensible to just leave it alone then!
t-j-b is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,096
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Quote:
Originally Posted by t-j-b View Post
Cheers for quick replies,

Its probally sensible to just leave it alone then!
Just keep it running on clean oil, and it should be fine IMO.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 14 Old 03-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 107

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.0 TS

Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Quote:
Originally Posted by symonh View Post
Just keep it running on clean oil, and it should be fine IMO.
Always mate, always! Burns enough to technically never need an oil change anyways
t-j-b is offline  
Status: Rebuilding series 3 landy, nearly there!
AO Member
 
UKSPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Torfaen
Posts: 299

Member car:

145 Cloverleaf

Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

But if it does start rattling jump on it. Btw engine oil should be changed regardless of how much topping up is necessary, all the goodstuff gets burnt out of it
UKSPF is offline  
newalfisti
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Shells don't cost much. If i was you i would change them bearing in mind that if you bugger up the crank then you can't regrind it.
 
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,096
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKSPF View Post
But if it does start rattling jump on it. Btw engine oil should be changed regardless of how much topping up is necessary, all the goodstuff gets burnt out of it

Also when you drain the oil, it takes out all of the dirt with it. Just topping up won't do this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by newalfisti View Post
Shells don't cost much. If I was you I would change them bearing in mind that if you bugger up the crank then you can't regrind it.
Yes you can, providing the scoring is not too deep. It will depend on how far the car has been run with the big ends failing/failed.
symon is offline  
newalfisti
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Thinking of changing the Shells

Quote:
Originally Posted by symonh View Post
Also when you drain the oil, it takes out all of the dirt with it. Just topping up won't do this.




Yes you can, providing the scoring is not too deep. It will depend on how far the car has been run with the big ends failing/failed.
Alfa cranks are nitrided, the thickness of the treated metal is a few microns if you grind the crank then the treated metal will disappear.
 
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by newalfisti View Post
Alfa cranks are nitrided, the thickness of the treated metal is a few microns if you grind the crank then the treated metal will disappear.
Can anyone else comment on this? This is not the first time I have been told this and yet people DO regrind the crank. Autolusso offer an excellent warranty on their recon engine, including the crank reground, that wouldn't be feasable if grinding the crank was a no no.

This place seems to offer shells 0.5mm oversize!! Can that be right? Can the crank be reground 0.5mm? if no, what is the most that can be taken off?

http://www.fmecat.eu/index.asp

Really would like to get the definitive answer to this one.

Last edited by Mitch916; 09-06-09 at 15:48.
Mitch916 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,646
the Standard range has 4 diffferent sizes.

you need a micro-meter to measure the crank to ensure oyu ahve the right one.

the largest is red & there are 3 more options as Standard [ STD ]
SEARs is offline  
Status: Want your car undersealing? PM ME!
AO Silver Member
 
langers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 1,929

Member car:

145 Cloverleaf

Iv had 3 cranks, all re-ground, 1 beyound bottom limit, just wouldnt clean up, 1 cracked, and the last one was re-ground 7 'thou and shells made to suit, done 1600 miles without any problems!
langers is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
changing , shells , thinking

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome