156 auxilliary belt ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 12-02-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
156 auxilliary belt ?

Hi all

after my 12 months of trouble free motoring in my 2001 alfa 156 1.8ts i found myself in the dark on the way home tonight. after a few strange noises from the front end i ended up with no power steering and the battery light on red on the dash ...

i presume there is some sort of aux belt that runs the alternator and power steering pump ... and i have probably lost the belt ...

trouble is , in the dark i cant see much and i need to fix it pretty sharpish tomorrow.

is my presumption right that its just a belt or are there some tensioners tucked in there as well ? am i looking at an easy fix ?

thanks for any help, just priming myself for an hour or two with my spanners in the morning ...

cheers
Nik B
nikb2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
fishy-steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Monmouthshire
Posts: 631
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikb2005 View Post
Hi all

after my 12 months of trouble free motoring in my 2001 alfa 156 1.8ts i found myself in the dark on the way home tonight. after a few strange noises from the front end i ended up with no power steering and the battery light on red on the dash ...

i presume there is some sort of aux belt that runs the alternator and power steering pump ... and i have probably lost the belt ...

trouble is , in the dark i cant see much and i need to fix it pretty sharpish tomorrow.

is my presumption right that its just a belt or are there some tensioners tucked in there as well ? am i looking at an easy fix ?

thanks for any help, just priming myself for an hour or two with my spanners in the morning ...

cheers
Nik B
Any update.
fishy-steve is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
rarebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,032

Member car:

911, 156, Merc C

Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

Nick, sorry to say but the aux belt is not an easy diy job.. you need to get under the car (ramp) and even then its a *****...
rarebear is offline  
Status: Stopped
AO Member
 
Il Dottore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 345
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

Hey, it's not that difficult. I've just changed mine.

You need a 5 mm Allen key and a 15 mm spanner. And a new belt.

Take off the top guard, it's on the LHS of the engine as you stand looking from the front, two Allen screws. Thread the new belt around the pulleys, as I've shown in the attached sketch.

You then need to push back the sprung idler pully, it's the small pulley in between and just in front of the generator and the power steering pump pulleys. Put the 15 mm spanner on it and turn it anti-clockwise as hard as you can to allow you to get the belt over the air-con pulley. I removed the top engine steady to make it easier to get a good grip on the sprung idler - you have to push quite hard. If you can't get enough grip, then you'll have to take off the bottom tray as RB said and do it from underneath. When you've got the belt threaded over all the pulleys let go of the sprung idler to put the tension on your belt. Replace the top guard (and the under tray if you removed it) and job done.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Aux belt.JPG (40.2 KB, 4 views)
Il Dottore is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
alfamadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 46
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

Hi I had my auxillarypulley fail just before Christmas, not having the time to DIY it (Or trust my self!!) I had Alfie at Heath Road Garage do it. May be a bit far as he is in Sandbach. Alfie did the job in a day. Since he has done lower wish bones and MOT for me. Seems a genuine chap and always ready for a chat about Alfas !! Good luck
alfamadman is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 9 Old 14-02-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

thanks for the help guys ..

when i stripped it down i found the belt was intact but the tensioner was missing .. completely !!

so i've ordered a new one ...

it is a tight fit in there so fingers crossed i can fit my spanner in

cheers

nik
nikb2005 is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,026
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

You will find it easier if you actually thread the spanner that releases the tension under the belt, that way when the tensioner is turned the spanner will be on the correct side of the belt and you can just slip the belt over the tensioner. You will see when you come to the job.

Simon.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 9 Old 16-02-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

thanks for all the help, back up and running now ..

took a bit longer than anticipated, the previous bolt has sheared of so had to drill and retap it to fit the new one .. tricky but did it ..

alfa back on the road again !
nikb2005 is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
rarebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,032

Member car:

911, 156, Merc C

Re: 156 auxilliary belt ?

Good show ~! not an easy task
rarebear is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
156 , auxilliary , belt

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome