Help Regarding Oil - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By symon
  • 1 Post By symon

(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 27-08-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Berkshire

Member car:

159 JTDM

Help Regarding Oil

Hello everybody I'm new to alfa's but old too cars in general, I have a question about which oil to use. I have bought a 147 1.6 T-spark and the chap I bought it off has been using 10w60 and told me that's the best and only grade off oil to use in an alfa???? my understanding is it should have 10w40. My question is, Is this an old "alfa" trick to keep a semi knackered engine running or is this bloke taking his motor to a "bodganic" who's been flogging him thick the thick stuff coz it's more expensive? she's done 122k and to be honest she does sound more like a diesel than a nice smooth petrol engine and one of the variators is tapping like mad for 10/15 seconds then quiets down and it does seem to be low on power but not being used to a small engine (nothing less than 2.0 for at least 20 years) it might just be me or is this treacle of an oil choking the little engine struggling to push it round?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Platinum Member

County: Oxfordshire
If it was me I would run it on a decent 5W-40 fully synthetic.

Twin spark engines run very well on it.

However a 10w-40 semi will be fine, and if the engine uses an excessive amount of oil (Many TS engines do) then switching to something like a 10W-50 or 10W-60 can help lower oil consumption.

Back when the 147 was new Alfa had a marketing tie-up with Selenia (Not sure if they still do).
And back then Selenia's top oil was the 10W-60, hence why the manual will likely recommend it for extreme conditions or hard driving.

It does sound like the cam variator needs changing as well, and that is where your diesel noise is coming from.