oops - blown v6 engine - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 08-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
MikeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 174

Member car:

GTV v6

oops - blown v6 engine

I fired up my v6 GTV a couple of days ago and it seemed to be missing slightly and down on power. I put it down to the cold and damp as it has done this in the past only to clear up when the engine warmed up.

This time though after about a 1/2 mile of easy running, something popped and the engine died. First thoughts were obviously cam belt related but it seems the belt is fine. On further investigation, one bank of cylinders has normal compression but the others have no compression. The engine isn't seized so the bottom end seems ok.

Any ideas what might have happened before I cart it off to a specialist?
MikeyJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Alfa-less and lost.
AO Silver Member
 
fantom alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,108

Member car:

'01 GTV 3.0V6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Still sounds like slipped/broken belt to me.
fantom alfa is offline  
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Re: oops - blown v6 engine

I think it needs to be look at, we would be able to tell you quite quickly, does not sound good though.

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
DevonDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Exeter
Posts: 1,532
Re: oops - blown v6 engine

teeth can rip off the belt too, leaving it in tact but useless.

dan
DevonDan is offline  
andyroo75
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Sounds very similar to what happened to mine.

Ned sorted mine out by the way
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfie GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,274

Member car:

2002 GTV T.Spark

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Might be the head gasket.
Alfie GTV is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 14 Old 09-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
MikeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 174

Member car:

GTV v6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Thanks for the replies guys. I'm in Bolton Ned so I'm a long ways from you or I'd drop it in for you to take a look at.

I'm thinking of taking it to Roger at Peak Alfa who I've heard good things about.
MikeyJ is offline  
andyroo75
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
 
(Post Link) post #9 of 14 Old 09-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
MikeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 174

Member car:

GTV v6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Thanks, I did actually see that too but it's a bit too much £££ for me. Maybe if it was just the motor and it was @£1500 I'd go for it.

Hmm - a GTV with a GTA engine in it - thats almost worth breaking down for!
MikeyJ is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 14 Old 22-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
MikeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 174

Member car:

GTV v6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Just a quick update - Roger at Peak Alfa has now dismantled the engine and it turns out that a tensioner failed causing the usual trail of destruction. Looks like a main dealer belt change 30k ago wasn't done properly but there's little I can do about it as I didn't own the car then

So the engine is out and being rebuilt, new water pump, clutch and flywheel going in at the same time as they're looking a bit worse for wear.

While I'm at it, whats the most cost effective way of tweaking the engine to give it a few more bhp? While the thing is out it would make sense to make any upgrades or alterations now.
MikeyJ is offline  
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Re: oops - blown v6 engine

I had worse than that today, I had a customer get his 156 GTA recovered to us after his cam belt jumped a few teeth 1k miles after having a cam belt service done buy a local franchise dealer, I said he needed to take the car back to them to get it sorted. He said his car was never going back there again.

The guy is able to make a claim against them but won’t, personally I would have gone ballistic at them.

Back on subject, you are, in my opinion best leaving it standard, if you wanted a few more BHP it would have been better fitting the GTA engine Andrew suggested.

Good luck with it.

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
Status: Alfa-less and lost.
AO Silver Member
 
fantom alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,108

Member car:

'01 GTV 3.0V6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

You could fit some Columbi & Barini cams. They are expensive at nearly a grand, but at least there would be little extra labour from doing it now as opposed to any other time.
fantom alfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 14 Old 23-01-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
MikeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 174

Member car:

GTV v6

Re: oops - blown v6 engine

Wow Ned, that guy must be crazy not to be seeking some form of compensation.

I looked into those cams fantom (got to love google) They're expensive - I think I'll keep the engine basically stock and just get a better filter and a remap maybe.

It's funny but when I got the engine report, my first inclination was to sell the car for parts and get something else but having looked around I really couldn't find a decent alternative at an affordable price. I looked at WRX's and even a 325 ti but they just didn't 'do it' for me the way the GTV does.

In for a penny in for a pound! The car is now being powerflexed and I'm looking at suspension and wheel upgrades. As I'm running on 16's I'll probably have to get the wheels at the same time as the springs/shocks as it will probably ride just too low without a slightly larger wheel/tyre combo.

Has anyone fitted 8x17's to their car? I think I prefer this almost euro look than 18's or 19's plus it will probably ride a whole lot better on some of the poor roads around here. What tyre size I should be looking at?

I did a quick photoshop job on some wheels I was looking at - what do you think?

MikeyJ is offline  
andyroo75
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: oops - blown v6 engine

These along with Colombo Bariani cam shafts
if your loaded
ALFA ROMEO 3 LITRE V6 CYLINDER HEADS on eBay, also, Alfa Romeo, Car Parts, Cars, Parts Vehicles (end time 15-Feb-08 12:02:11 GMT)
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
blown , engine , oops

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome