Airbag Reset around Derby or Belper? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
East Midlands All events and potential meets in East Midlands

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 20 Old 20-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
Airbag Reset around Derby or Belper?

Hi, i am newbie Alfa 156 2.0 1998 owner, but now my airbag light on dasboard is still on. Is somebody around Belper or Derby how can help me?? Reset ECU or say where is conector for check or somethink???

Thanks alot for answers.
Michael from Czech

[email protected]
MtyCZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
davkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 116
Give Almark in Wirksworth a call, they've fixed all my Alfas for about 15 years and are honest chaps so will tell you straight if they can't help for some reason. http://www.almarkgarage.co.uk/

Last edited by davkt; 21-07-10 at 17:36.
davkt is offline  
Status: Devoid of gorm
Global Mod Team
 
Halibut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany & Belgium
Posts: 7,558
Garage
Hya MtyCZ
Welcome to AO!

Lewis @ Alfa Tecnico might be able to help.

www.alfatecnico.co.uk
Halibut is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 20 Old 21-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
Thanks very mutch for links
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halibut View Post
Hya MtyCZ
Welcome to AO!

Lewis @ Alfa Tecnico might be able to help.

Alfa Romeo Specialist
big for Lewis
Chocoboy is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

have you got your airbag light sorted yet? i had the same problem this week and have been able to sort it myself, all you need is an OBD II cable, a laptop, and a copy of Fiatecuscan, although you will need to make a small modification to the cable, you will need to solder a link between pins 3 and 7 it's really simple to do,
Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 20 Old 25-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
HI, problem is not sorted,i waiting for Lewis in Saturday, need buy that cable in future, but i look on ebay for one, is to much diferent cable and i am litlebit crazy from that
You can show mi link for right cable pls?

And i download now workshop software for Alfa. But is not possible start, after install is just grey and clear window open that all, nothing inside. I have Win7 and is tested on win XP whit same results.

Any idea mate?

You have kabel? And time? And choice?

Last edited by MtyCZ; 25-07-10 at 06:19.
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

yes i have a cable, it worked perfectly for my GTV so in theory it should work fine for the 156 as well, there's lots of cables on ebay this is the cable you will need, http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-VAG-COM-40...item3357e97877 but before it will work for the airbag you have to open the cover and solder a piece of wire to join pin's 3 and 7 then install the drivers which come on a disk with the cable, and download and install a copy of fiatecuscan from here FiatECUScan - Fiat, Alfa, Lancia ECU Reader / Scanner (go to bottom of page) you only need the free version

Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 20 Old 25-07-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
Thanks for all your help to me. I know is not easy for you speak whit people from far countries. And give me help hands. Thanks alot one more time.
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

not a problem my friend, don't worry though Lewis at Alfa Tecnico will sort you out no worries
Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 20 Old 13-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
Cable is home mate, what soft is best for diagnostic? I want pay full version.
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

for free software i use Fiatecuscan but here is also Alfadiag which a lot of people use (it is around 70 though i think), it may be necessary to modify the cable slightly to connect with the Airbag ECU though, if you look at the cable all the pins are numbered, with a screwdriver open up the connection, then solder a link between pins 3 and 7 otherwise it won't connect to the Airbag ECU, if you need help give me a shout and i'll send you some photo's of how i did mine

Last edited by Chocoboy; 13-08-10 at 17:12.
Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 20 Old 14-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
Danny be good and send me that photo please. Thanks again.
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Black pump
AO Silver Member
 
gtlewi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 5,696

Member car:

Giulietta

Quote:
Originally Posted by MtyCZ View Post
Danny be good
Is that not a song

Sorry fellas
gtlewi is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 20 Old 15-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
DDD i really dont know
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

i'll get them sorted as soon as i can, what's your e-mail address send me a PM
Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 20 Old 16-08-10 Thread Starter
Status: One Live, Live IT
AO Member
 
MtyCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 20
my e-mail is [email protected] mate. Thanks for your time. When i have conected Fiatecu on lambda, is numbers around 1.000 is that ok?
MtyCZ is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

i'm not sure what it should be for the 156, the best thing to do would be to go onto the 156 forum and ask on there, somebody will be able to tell you
Chocoboy is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

ok tried doing the photo's last night but am having a sliht issue openin the cable again as i've managed to round off one of the screws, so i will try to explain what to do, if you're still stuck post a question on the forums and there should be other people who coul get photo's for you,

if you look at the cable you'll see numbered pins from 1 to 16 ( 1-8 on the bottom and 9-16 along the top), simply turn the cable upside down and remove the screws holding it toether look at the front to find pins 3 and 7 then simply using a piece of wire join pin's 3 and 7 (be careful not to touch any of the other connections) once you have done this you will be able to connect to the airbag ECU and reset the light
Chocoboy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 58
Can certainly recommend Euro Car Care, just by Roller World in Derby on the right dude. My Spider is well looked after everytime.

Last edited by LAVERDA1; 29-09-10 at 17:27. Reason: Spelling error
LAVERDA1 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > East Midlands

Tags
airbag , belper , derby , reset

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome