Purchase DA & DIY Detail or Professional Detail ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 04-08-15 Thread Starter

County: Cork
Garage
Question Purchase DA & DIY Detail or Professional Detail ?

Just wondering what peoples opinion is on the choice between buying a DA & doing a paint correction themselves or getting a professional paint correction done ?
I'm not planning on either any time soon, I can see pros & cons for both. I think I can guess the result but I thought it'd be interesting to see what opinions others have.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member

County: Devon
I'm planning on getting a full detail/correction done, and then doing the maintenance on it myself..

For one, I don't like the idea of the cost of a nice DA buffer, the pads, and the compounds etc... For another, I'm a rank novice and am scared that I could do more damage than good if I'm let loose with abrasives...

Once it's decontaminated, sealed, waxed etc., it'll be nice and easy to keep in top condition! I'm happy enough to wash/glaze/seal/wax etc., and will have a go at claying when I get some..

But abrasives scare me... Would rather let a pro do that part!

AO Member

County: Norfolk
Garage
I'm with _The_Editor_ although I guess it depends on how bad your paint is to start with and what sort of finish you want at the end.

In my experience if the paint work is not too bad to start with then you can make a really good job of it by hand although it is pretty time consuming. Earlier in the year I spent the best part of two days on the 156 wagon doing it all by hand but i was very pleased with the results and I already had most of the products I used so financially it did not cost that much.

If however the paint was extremely scratched or faded then I would be more inclined to get a professional job done and then look after it as well as I could.