Alloy whel cleaner that actually works - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 19-02-10 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Nottinghamshire
Alloy whel cleaner that actually works

I'm not a detailing expert by any means, but have just finished going at it with Autoglym HD wax (hard work!) and I decided that I'd try and clean the wheels up after all the salt etc of the last couple of months.
I had been using a Simoniz cleaner and brake dust repellent which was supposed to be spray on rinse off but it didn't really work and still needed lots of scrubbing.
I've just tried a Turtle Wax product called "Ice wheel clean". Again supposed to spray on and just rinse off and clean wheels result. It also changes colour as it works which all sounded a bit gimmicky to be honest. Was in 2 minds whether to buy as it was quite expensive but I'm glad I did.
They've come out nearly spotless with no sponging or scrubbing at all. And they were really, really dirty. You're supposed to pressure wash the stuff off but I just used the gun attachement on my garden hose and it worked just as well.

You guys may already be aware of this stuff, but thought I'd mention it.

One other thing, I noticed whilst waxing that the bottom half of the body and doors felt very rough, I'm guessing this is where the gritters have kindly sandblasted the paintwork for me . Is there anything I can do to restore this?

HD wax was hard work but hopefully I won't need to wax again for sometime now!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

County: Cork
Garage
Now that you've got your wheels clean I recommend sealing the alloys with Poorboy's Wheel Sealant after cleaning/polishing/waxing. Once you've sealed them don't use any wheel cleaner on them again as it will remove the sealant just wash them with your usual shampoo

Also it's not a good idea to use wheel cleaner in general as most are acidic based & can damage your alloys