Taking on the Devil is in Detail'ing.. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 01-11-09 Thread Starter

County: Hertfordshire

Member car:

MiTo

Taking on the Devil is in Detail'ing..

Hello People,

I am new to detailing(infact, just learnt the term yesterday before it was just car wash for me.) I have an Alfa Mito in Alfa Red which is about 7 weeks old. Just spent my weekend learning the tricks of detailing and getting my head around the nitty gritties. Before I head off to get the gear please advice on a couple of newbie's dilemma

1. When we say buffing, do we use a machine or swipe by microfibre cloth.
2. In the morning you find our car covered with mist/ice/rain water, do you a quick wipe to dry it or just drive it and let the nature work its magic. If so, what do you use for water/ice? I thought it would be straight forward to dry it with a microfibre cloth or something but then I heard of swirl and the length you need to go avoiding while washing, a wipe should be a no no.
3. What is the frequency of washes, waxing and polishing? The impression I got from the threads is that like beauty, it is in the eyes of the beholder but what are the first signs that tells you should be really getting off your lazy **** for some cleaning.
Personally, I dont know how soon my showroom fresh car would require polishing waxing claying. Reading the forum, I retrospectively started abhorring my valet at the dealer. He did everything you Punters might have told not to in capital letters.
4. Got to know that Machine wash is sacrilege, but would you advice a getting it done for a good valet. A hint of what a good valet will charge will also help.

I am sorry if I been nit-picking but I want to get the basics right before the first dip in the bucket. For now I plan to give my car a wash as soon as weather permits and a waxing coat with Collinite 476s and Winter Carlack Selant Kit to see me through winter.