Engine Cleaning - What, How & Why? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 26 Old 26-03-09 Thread Starter

Engine Cleaning - What, How & Why?

Hi, im not too good at cleaning but! my Alfa Spider appears to be forcing me to change my habits, i have through research on the boards managed to achieve an exterior that is like new! Clay, polish & Waxing with AG products. Now my focus is on the engine bay.

My car is the alloy top 150bhp 2.0TS 16v and the alloy top and engine block are somewhat dull and extremely grey, so! can any of you guys with detailing experience advise as to what i could do/buy so as to achieve a gleaming engine, i see others simply paint the cover but! as a purist i would like to keep the engine bay like the rest of the car as original as possible.

PS: I've tried the new Cillit bong concentrate and i have noticed absolutely no improvement

Regards,

David aka kARMA.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Gold Member

Member car:

1750 Turbo

Re: Engine Cleaning - What, How & Why?

Well aparantly you cant steam clean the engine bay anymore or get any liquid in the engine bay as there are alot of computer/ electronic parts in there that cant handle a drop of moisture. (like my TV blew up when it got a few drops of rain inside it next to an open window)

So its only going to be cleaning with a dry rag or moist rag at the very most if you know what your doing
AO Member

County: East Ayrshire

I once had to do a clean on my alloy top engine I stupidly forgot to replace the oil filler cap and resulted in a very oily engine.

I removed the alloy cover
Removed the coil packs and had about 10 plastic bags and used the bags to cover all electrical components and taped them up, I covered all the spark plugs.....just about anything that does not like water.

I then sprayed Gunk Engine Degreaser Aerosol and left for a couple of hours and then got the pressure washer to it.