Cleaning a car when you live in a Flat - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 03-12-08 Thread Starter

Cleaning a car when you live in a Flat

Ok, I'm new to this owning a car business. So "detailing" means cleaning?

Anyway...

I've had my car for 2 weeks now. The dealer I took it from had it cleaned to an immaculate standard. It's starting to look a bit dirty, so I figure I should start thinking about how to clean the car.

I went to Halfords today and started picking cleaning stuff up. I didn't really know what I should be buying. There is a rather large choice of stuff there. I made my way to the till, then figured I should go back to the aisle and count up what I had in the basket. I had nearly 70 of stuff. I decided to put it all back expect the Autoglym convertible roof cleaner set.

My problem is I live in a 2nd floor flat, so getting a hose to the car isn't really an option. Washing the car probably wouldn't be too bad, but I figure rinsing will be nigh on impossible. Now that I think about it, I don't think I have seen anyone in my set of flats ever cleaning their cars.

I'm thinking I should save the on expensive cleaning kit and just go get it hand washed at one of these car cleaning stations. I know some people don't trust these places but they can't be that bad - otherwise they wouldn't be in business. Right?

So does anyone else here have no access to a hose but manage to clean their car with no problems? Do you think going to a hand wash place is ok?

What do you think I should do?

Are there some definitive "cleaning my car and what you need to buy for beginners" threads here?

Excuse the dumb questions. I'm used to cleaning my motorbike which I did with a bottle of Greentec, a bucket of water and a sponge. And you should see the crappy state my bike is in!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Member

County: Surrey
Re: Cleaning a car when you live in a Flat