alfa red - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 18 Old 19-05-08 Thread Starter
AO Member

alfa red

Hi Guys,

Just picked up an '02 147 (to replace my '03 one that someone kindly wrote off for me!)

Anyways, just popped my "claying" cherry, and must say very impressed.

However, I am now left with a silky smooth Alfa Red 147 with some pretty tired looking paint!

Now I am no expert (but I did clean cars in a dealership for a whole sumer when I was 16!) but I fancy my AutoGlym Super Resin Polish is not doing much for it - dont I need something with a bit more bite in it to blend the paint altogether?

Basically, you experts out there, tell me what to polish the car with! Although with the 25 quid I just spent on Clay stuff - i cant spend too much more on it!

(Oh yes I can - ive just fallen in love with a new bella!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Member

County: Hampshire

Member car:

147 1.6

Re: alfa red

I would be interested what is best to use on Rosso Red too.

I have just used some of my old cut n' shine which was OK but would hate to think i am putting in al the effort and not getting the best look and protection.
AO Gold Member

Zaino Z2pro creates an excellent finish on rosso and is probably the most durable on the market.

You'll need to clay again though and have some ZFX or polycharger in the first couple of coats to make sure it bonds.

After 2 or 3 coats, you will notice a difference to AutoGlym.
Rosso145

If it's any help...............my car is Rosso too and I used clay bar last weekend for the first time and I was quite impressed.

After the clay I used Dodo Juce Lime Prime, then some Orange Crush afterwards. The wholE lot took nearly four hours but the finish was well worth it.

Dodo Juice is pricey though, but the Meguiars clay bar was about £11 I think.

I've never thought that much of Autoglym SRP to be honest.

AO Gold Member