Advice for Hand Polishing? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 06-02-08 Thread Starter

Advice for Hand Polishing?

I'm working on fixing up my newly acquired 166. Yesterday I replaced the dirty 16-inch hubcaps with sparkling 18-inch multispoke alloys. My God, what a difference it made!

The next thing I want to tackle is a good exterior detailing. I'm a total newbie-- never cared much about my cars until a bought this beauty a few months ago.

My question is this: can anyone give me some pointers on techniques for hand polishing? The car is silver and the paint is in pretty good shape, but there are some light swirl marks that are noticable in certain light. I don't really want to invest in a machine polisher, both because of the expense and because I'm afraid of the damage I would do with it. But I haven't found much in the way of guidance for hand polishing. How much pressure should a apply and how vigorously should I work the polish? Is there a certain pattern that is preferable? Will I be able to tell as I work whether I am doing it properly? To be honest I'm probably more likely to under-do it out of fear of damaging the paint than to over-do it.

Any advice/wisdom would be most appreciated. I'll take a picture when I'm done. Thanks to all who contribute to this forum... I've really enjoyed reading the posts so far.

Mikael
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member
155 Lounge Winner 09

County: Victoria

Member car:

GT . 155 . 75

Re: Advice for Hand Polishing?

before polishing - if you haven't already - i'd recommend 'claying' the paint. this process removes any accumulated, stuck-on grit and grime like tree sap and bugs, that may not come off with normal washing. you require the clay, plus a suitable lubricant, which is typically in the form of a spray-on quick detailer. for example, you can use Meguiar's clay + Quik Detailer: