ABS, VDC, Hillholder... Error - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 08-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
ABS, VDC, Hillholder... Error

Hey I picked up my 2010 155 yesterday from a Nissan dealer, car in great condition with 43000 miles.

The journey home from Yorkshire was about 200 miles. For the majority of the journey the car was behaving perfectlty not a problem.

However on the last stretch on came the warning lights for ABS,VDC, Steering corrector Etc! Panic!!!

Ive had a search and it seems people have problems with the sensor is this correct and likely to be the issue? The breaks etc seem to be functioning fine...

What would you suggest? I plan on phoning the dealee Monday, but can take the car to a local garage if needbe...

Thanks!
mattkidd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
BMP
Status: -
AO Member
 
BMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Netherlands
County: Friesland
Posts: 102

Member car:

Mito 135 BHP

How is the (heavy duty) battery, condition?
BMP is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Rhondda Cynon Taff
Posts: 2
are the brake lights still working? if not we had the same problem, turned out to be the wiring loom rubbing against a bracket under the dash
moomin is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 16
Had same problem as moomin - broken wire
Mozzyd is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 15 Old 12-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
Interesting... Thanks all.

Turns out (According to the RAC and Northants Alfa) that it's definitely something to do with the rear right side sensor.

Getting it checked out hopefully next week! It's going to be covered under warranty, fortunately!
mattkidd is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 636

Member car:

A Tiny Abarth

I get this every so often, so I assume it's a sensor. Alfa couldn't find anything wrong with mine, so I assume it's just a loose wire.
Bri_Y is offline  
Status: Brera S
AO Member
 
leemids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 176
Garage

Member car:

mito qv

mines been in for the exact same problem, as mentioned above its the wiring loom catching the bracket by the dash, my fuse blew, F37, and the wiring was repaired under warranty..its a common fault apparently.
leemids is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 14-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
Thanks for the heads up I'll suggest these to the mechanic to look over next week.

I had another problem today which may or may not be related. My radio (after-market Pioneer) just cut out and refused to power on. Eventually it decided to power on again much later through the journey. this was frustrating especially due to the fact I was using the navigation.

Very strange...
mattkidd is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 15 Old 15-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
The problem with the radio seems to be getting worse...

It now refuses to turn on without being driven for 5-10minutes. Could this be the indication of something wrong with the battery or alternator?
mattkidd is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 636

Member car:

A Tiny Abarth

Check what voltage the battery is pumping out.

The batteries fitted at the factory don't seem to be all that great. The battery in my 2010 155 died rather abruptly in January this year (leaving me in the middle lane of an A road at traffic lights!).
Bri_Y is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 26-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
So here's an update on the situation, any further advice and suggestions would be fantastic.

I had Alfa Northants checkout the car and the error. The assumption was made (As per the error) that the right side brake sensor had failed. We had this replaced in hope to rectify the problem.

This however did not resolve the issue. An electrician has taken a look at the car and suggested removing the radio (After-market Pioneer a couple of years old), the radio has now been removed from the car and I shall be testing it this weekend to see if the problem persists.

Has anyone else had this experience with a Pioneer System? My dilemma now is that if the radio is causing the issue what are my options in getting this replaced. If I was to install a newer Pioneer unit would I receive the same error?
mattkidd is offline  
Status: Back on the road, happy again!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
County: Melbourne
Posts: 66
Hi, had similar error after disconnecting the battery on my giulietta. After reconnecting the battery, got the adc error etc when restarting. Tried restarting with the steering wheel off centre and it seems to have fixed the issue. Or might be coincidental only.
Cheers.
jayarr is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 15 Old 04-07-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mattkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 196
Turns out the problem was all due to an issue with the ABS wiring around the motor, it had chaffed or something...

All replaced + cost of diagnostics 500 later. (This included the unnecessary replacement of the ABS sensor.) fortunately NISSAN (Dealership) are footing the bill.
mattkidd is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wo0dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambs
Posts: 760
Where abouts was the chaffed cabling, fancy posting a picture so others can check theirs.

Heard of this on some later models!
wo0dy is offline  
Status: Loving my Wizard exhaust
AO Member
 
ogreman0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattkidd View Post
Turns out the problem was all due to an issue with the ABS wiring around the motor, it had chaffed or something...

All replaced + cost of diagnostics 500 later. (This included the unnecessary replacement of the ABS sensor.) fortunately NISSAN (Dealership) are footing the bill.
Had a very similar issue I believe, all the same warning lights on for a number of days. I think it's happened before a couple of times but only intermittently so makes sense for it to be a wiring issue of some sorts but when it happened last week it was enough to blow some fuse or another and so the errors stayed on.

All sorted at Lipscombe Alfa Romeo in Aylesford for a much easier-to-swallow sum of 87! For which they ran diagnostics, replaced duff wiring and new fuse and even washed/hoovered car while it was in. No complaints about the service or the people there which is nice to say about an Alfa garage
ogreman0077 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa MiTo

Tags
abs , error , hillholder , vdc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome