2010 1.6 jtdm timing belt - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By pookie
  • 1 Post By armoore
  • 1 Post By armoore
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 427
2010 1.6 jtdm timing belt

Hi All,

I have just bought my Daughter a 2010 1.6 jtdm as a runabout. it has a reasonably good history but I can find no evidence of a belt change. it runs very sweetly and with 110,000 on the clock I am guessing the belt must have been changed at some point. For my own piece of mind I will be doing the timing and auxiliary belts, water pump and tensioners. What I would like to know is if the locking set for my 1.9 jtdm is compatible with the mito diesel or do I need a new set?





Last edited by Welshsteve; 3 Weeks Ago at 20:26. Reason: missed a letter out!
Welshsteve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Living The Dream!
AO Silver Member
 
W1NST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Preston
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,512
Donít see many 1.6 Mito diesels come up for sale. Bet itís pretty quick for that size of car!
W1NST is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 1,002
Pretty sure the 1.6 diesel Mito has a camchain not a belt.
pookie is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by W1NST View Post
Donít see many 1.6 Mito diesels come up for sale. Bet itís pretty quick for that size of car!
It's no slouch but I wouldn't call it a flying machine!
Welshsteve is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by pookie View Post
Pretty sure the 1.6 diesel Mito has a camchain not a belt.
The 1.3 has a chain and the 1.6 is a belt but thanks for the input,
Welshsteve is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshsteve View Post
The 1.3 has a chain and the 1.6 is a belt but thanks for the input,
No worries, did a search online and it got more confusing as to wether the 1.6 diesel had a chain or a belt, just for future reference the dealer info on the Mito when it was first released in 2009 states that the 1.6 diesel has a camchain and a camchain replacement kit for the 1.6 diesel is avaliable on e-bad!
Welshsteve likes this.
pookie is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,129
Put your car's details into this:-

https://alfa-romeo.7zap.com/en/mit/x6/

From what I could see it is a belt. But check for yourself.
Welshsteve likes this.
armoore is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
Put your car's details into this:-

https://alfa-romeo.7zap.com/en/mit/x6/

From what I could see it is a belt. But check for yourself.

Thanks for that, I know its a belt I had a quick peep and sure enough there it was! what I need to know is if the 1.9 locking kit will work with the 1.6 or do I need to buy another set.
Welshsteve is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,129
According to Laser their kit does the 1.6, 1.9 and 2.4 diesels.

https://www.lasertools.co.uk/product/5179

What does your set look like?
Welshsteve likes this.
armoore is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 10 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
According to Laser their kit does the 1.6, 1.9 and 2.4 diesels.

https://www.lasertools.co.uk/product/5179

What does your set look like?

Mine looks identical to that so I guess I am good to go, thats one expense less! cheers for that.
Welshsteve is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa MiTo

Tags
2010 , belt , jtdm , timing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome