Mito 0.9 Twinair - failing to start after battery reconnect - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By armoore
  • 1 Post By armoore
  • 1 Post By armoore
  • 1 Post By gazza82
  • 1 Post By armoore
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 21-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Hmmm Mito 0.9 Twinair - failing to start after battery reconnect

Hi All,

I am new to these forums, from the UK, so I appreciate any help you might be able to offer.

My 2015 Mito 0.9 Twinair (105bhp) will not start.

for about two weeks I kept getting an intermittent Engine management light appear along with "start/stop unavailable".
This would either clear by itself, or I would disconnect the battery for a while and reconnect, which would also clear the fault.
(I always followed the throttle position reset procedure when doing this).

I decided to buy an OBD2 reader - fairly standard ebay model. Works on a family member's Jeep Renegade just fine.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WiFi-OBD2...s/333081777333
Plugged it into the Mito OBD connector, and set ignition to MAR.
The device did not power-up, and I pretty much got every single feature "unavailable" cycling through on the dash.
Engine still started.

Disconnected the OBD2 reader, no errors or faults (apart from the original stop/start unavailable error), engine starts.

Decided to check fuses to see if OBD port fuse was dead.

Stupidly looked in the engine compartment fuse-box first! Checked a couple of the lower-amp fuses and replaced them (with engine-off and battery neg/ground disconnected).

Reconnected the battery after realizing the fuse is in the cabin (which is intact) - but now I get a "padlock-on-car" icon, followed by every single feature "unavailable" cycling through on the dash.
Cannot start engine.

Disconnected battery for an hour.

Tried again, same as above.

I am now leaving it disconnected over-night, hopefully it will be ok.

Does anyone have any experience with this kind of problem? Or does anyone know what's causing this?

Is the sequence of faults on the dash when connecting OBD2 reader, and then after reconnecting battery purely co-incidental??
(as the car was ok between removing the reader and disconnecting battery).

Anyway - here is a link to a video I recorded, showing the issue, so you can see for yourself.

Appreciate any help coming my way!
Dean Fox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 11 Old 22-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
So i’ve Got it working this morning, looks like I may have misplaced a fuse, however - the manual does not show a location for some of the fuses on the left bank in the engine compartment.

Could someone sanity check my fuse layout?(see image)

I had to look online for other manuals which showed F18 & F23 and I think it’s all ok now (no engine light).

But I don’t want to overload a core component by having an incorrect fuse rating.

Please could someone double-check this?

Many thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ACC97501-822F-42CA-A2A3-EE720AD85169_1558504400975.jpg (60.5 KB, 12 views)
Dean Fox is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,945
Is there an image of the fuse and relay layout underneath the fuse box cover along with a fuse puller?

Such as photo 4 in this ad:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/22310526151...0558b8ffff64e4

The numbers should correspond with those in the owner manual.

Photo 2 shows fuses but it is off a diesel so could be different. Perhaps there are others that match yours.
Dean Fox likes this.

Last edited by armoore; 22-05-19 at 08:21.
armoore is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 11 Old 22-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
Is there an image of the fuse and relay layout underneath the fuse box cover along with a fuse puller?

Such as photo 4 in this ad:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/22310526151...0558b8ffff64e4

The numbers should correspond with those in the owner manual.

Photo 2 shows fuses but it is off a diesel so could be different. Perhaps there are others that match yours.
Yes there is, and it matches the numbers shown underneath each fuse as well.

But F18 & F23 are not in the manual.
These are the 5th & 6th fuses down the left-side.

From looking at the Fiat 500 manual and a Mito 2008 manual:

F18 is control system relay/engine management
F23 is braking system control unit.

Neither of which are in the manual, which is why I believe I didn’t put them back correctly, causing the issue I had.

I’m hoping my assumption of these fuses is correct, along with the AMP ratings of each!
Dean Fox is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,945
I'm going to Day and Whites tomorrow to see a couple of friends who own it now. I'll see if anything comes up in the databases they use.
Dean Fox likes this.
armoore is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 22-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
I'm going to Day and Whites tomorrow to see a couple of friends who own it now. I'll see if anything comes up in the databases they use.
Thank you, that's much appreciated.

While the car is up and running, and the original Engine Management light is now off - I still don't know why my ODB2 port won't function.

Are there specific ones needed, or is an adapter required?
Dean Fox is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,945
I have a number of EOBD and OBD2 dongles and use a number of apps. Some days I have to spend some time with different combinations to get a link. I have heard of some dongles fouling up things!
Dean Fox likes this.

Last edited by armoore; 22-05-19 at 15:18. Reason: Clarification.
armoore is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,047
An Alfa is EOBD .. OBD2 is the US spec - the European companies modified it, so it is very hit & miss with off the shelf diagnostic readers.

If a car is made to be sold in the US it has to be OBD2 spec .. the MiTo wasn't, so it isn't.
Dean Fox likes this.
gazza82 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 11 Old 22-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza82 View Post
An Alfa is EOBD .. OBD2 is the US spec - the European companies modified it, so it is very hit & miss with off the shelf diagnostic readers.

If a car is made to be sold in the US it has to be OBD2 spec .. the MiTo wasn't, so it isn't.
The Europeans have to be different don’t they!

Thanks!
Dean Fox is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,945
F18 is 5A and F23 is 20 A. So I believe that confirms it for you.
Dean Fox likes this.
armoore is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 11 Old 23-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
F18 is 5A and F23 is 20 A. So I believe that confirms it for you.
Thank you so much!

I have a service booked next month, I'll ask them to check if the EOBD port is all ok.
Dean Fox is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa MiTo

Tags
battery , failing , mito , reconnect , start , twinair

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 60 2 Days Ago 08:17
Right Then, So What Do I Do Now? Roswell General Alfa Discussion 199 19-09-11 16:46

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome