How To Program Keyless Entry (With & Without Code) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 74 Old 23-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: Determined to swap the Steering!
AO Member
 
looobz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 155

Member car:

2003 Spider JTS

How To Program Keyless Entry (With & Without Code)

It has taken me 8 months to get my keyless entry to work as there is very minimal info on this topic in the forums so I hope this helps some people out.


This guide will show you how to program your keyless entry for the following style keys:

keys.jpg



TO DO THIS YOU DO NOT NEED THE BROWN MASTER KEY (that is only needed for imobiliser/alarm settings)


What you need to continue:

- A working circuit board that goes in your key as in picture at the bottom.
- A sharp small pin
- 4 digit keyless entry code. (NOT 5 DIGITS, NOT 16, BUT 4)

*if you don't have a 4 digit alfa code, don't stress. Contact Tony from datarecall at [email protected] and he will retrieve it from an old key circuit board or from the receiver that is located behind the rear-view mirror.
He is located in the UK, and he is more than happy to help you if your from overseas. Cheap too unlike some places online.

(my alfa came with a water damaged key so he could not retrieve the code from it so I sent him the receiver and he got the code from that.)



Step 1:

Behind the rear-view mirror you will see 2 small holes (see picture below)

receiver.jpg

Press the left button for 2 seconds (it will blink twice) by pushing a pin into it (see picture below).

receiverpin.jpg


Step 2:

After the first 2 blinks in step 1 it will blink a third time, this indicates that it wants the first digit of the 4 digit code.

Say your 4 digit number is 4,0,1,2 for example

as soon as it blinks the third time press the pin into the hole 4 times (as that is the first digit) it will blink everytime you press it indicating a press. once that is done after about 2 seconds it will blink again on its own, this means it want the next number……just continue the rest of the numbers if its a 2 press it twice, wait for the blink then next number etc.

(if one of our numbers is 0, then don't press anything, after 2 seconds it will recognise this and blink asking for the next number…

once you are done it will begin to blink if the code is correct 10 times Go to STEP 3 --->

if your code is wrong it will be a solid light….(no blink) Wait until it turn of and repeat step 1.


Step 3:

Ok, So you have just put in the last number and the light is blinking while it's blinking press the pin in and hold it there, and now press the key button and hold it pressed for 10 seconds.

Pull the pin out after 10 seconds and now release your finger from the key.

TA-DA! your done! That's it!


If this did not work don't stress, go back and try it again.

*The issue I had is I purchased the circuit on the right (see below) and it was wrong, I needed the circuit on the left.

pcb.jpg

-Looobz!
looobz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
littledigger
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My GTV is a Phase1, so i was wondering if its an easy job to install keyless entry?
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
benje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 458

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

By keyless entry, do you mean like modern say systems where the car will unlock when you are near to it with the key in your pocket, or are you refering to remote central locking, where you have to press the button on the Key?

I'm interested as I have these fobs, and want to reprogram my alarm to turn off the self arming feature which annoys me no end!

EDIT: Excellent info by the way, much appreciated!
benje is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
chris_durnford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 253
The same as littldigger will it work for my phase1 spider?
chris_durnford is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 74 Old 23-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: Determined to swap the Steering!
AO Member
 
looobz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 155

Member car:

2003 Spider JTS

Benje, I'm not sure maybe someone on here can help....this guide is for remote central locking by pressing the button....

Did the Phase 1 spider/gtv not come with remote central locking?
looobz is offline  
Status: Itchy modding fingers...
AO Member
 
darkangelv2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 263
So by keyless entry you mean - having lost all working keys.

This is very useful looobz. Means i can now purchase a couple used keys and reprogram correct?

I guess you just repeat the process to create spare keys......oh and you need your immobiliser chip cloned...
darkangelv2 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
benje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 458

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by looobz View Post
Benje, I'm not sure maybe someone on here can help....this guide is for remote central locking by pressing the button....

Did the Phase 1 spider/gtv not come with remote central locking?

Ah OK. I think the earlier GTVs /Spiders used Meta system alarms? From what I've read, the above key is for the later Alfa Romeo alarm system?!?
benje is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 74 Old 23-09-09 Thread Starter
Status: Determined to swap the Steering!
AO Member
 
looobz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 155

Member car:

2003 Spider JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkangelv2 View Post
So by keyless entry you mean - having lost all working keys.

This is very useful looobz. Means i can now purchase a couple used keys and reprogram correct?

I guess you just repeat the process to create spare keys......oh and you need your immobiliser chip cloned...
Thats right, this is the process the alfadealer would charge you for.....buy a matching used key with chip and reprogram it urself. simple.....

i dont have an alarm.....but i suppose if u had an alarm this would also activate/deactivate that too.
looobz is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by looobz View Post
It has taken me 8 months to get my keyless entry to work as there is very minimal info on this topic in the forums so I hope this helps some people out.


This guide will show you how to program your keyless entry for the following style keys:

Attachment 76543



TO DO THIS YOU DO NOT NEED THE BROWN MASTER KEY (that is only needed for imobiliser/alarm settings)


What you need to continue:

- A working circuit board that goes in your key as in picture at the bottom.
- A sharp small pin
- 4 digit keyless entry code. (NOT 5 DIGITS, NOT 16, BUT 4)

*if you don't have a 4 digit alfa code, don't stress. Contact Tony from datarecall at [email protected] and he will retrieve it from an old key circuit board or from the receiver that is located behind the rear-view mirror.
He is located in the UK, and he is more than happy to help you if your from overseas. Cheap too unlike some places online.

(my alfa came with a water damaged key so he could not retrieve the code from it so I sent him the receiver and he got the code from that.)



Step 1:

Behind the rear-view mirror you will see 2 small holes (see picture below)

Attachment 76545

Press the left button for 2 seconds (it will blink twice) by pushing a pin into it (see picture below).

Attachment 76546


Step 2:

After the first 2 blinks in step 1 it will blink a third time, this indicates that it wants the first digit of the 4 digit code.

Say your 4 digit number is 4,0,1,2 for example

as soon as it blinks the third time press the pin into the hole 4 times (as that is the first digit) it will blink everytime you press it indicating a press. once that is done after about 2 seconds it will blink again on its own, this means it want the next number……just continue the rest of the numbers if its a 2 press it twice, wait for the blink then next number etc.

(if one of our numbers is 0, then don't press anything, after 2 seconds it will recognise this and blink asking for the next number…

once you are done it will begin to blink if the code is correct 10 times Go to STEP 3 --->

if your code is wrong it will be a solid light….(no blink) Wait until it turn of and repeat step 1.


Step 3:

Ok, So you have just put in the last number and the light is blinking while it's blinking press the pin in and hold it there, and now press the key button and hold it pressed for 10 seconds.

Pull the pin out after 10 seconds and now release your finger from the key.

TA-DA! your done! That's it!


If this did not work don't stress, go back and try it again.

*The issue I had is I purchased the circuit on the right (see below) and it was wrong, I needed the circuit on the left.

Attachment 76544


hi there could i just ask would it be possible to use this method to programme a new remote key to the car when i only have the none remote red key for the car, i've just bought the car you see and the previous oweners have lost the remote keys they only have the normal none fob red key
Chocoboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 74 Old 05-06-10 Thread Starter
Status: Determined to swap the Steering!
AO Member
 
looobz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 155

Member car:

2003 Spider JTS

Sure, as long as your car has a receiver. Check that you have it (behind the rear view mirror). If you have it then buy a keyfob and get the code from the receiver and program it to your key.

But this all depends....if you don't have a receiver then sorry no can do. I believe some early spiders/gtv's didn't have this option but im not 100% sure.

let us know how you go or if you need more help.
looobz is offline  
Status: Chillin
AO Silver Member
 
Chocoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 5,621

Member car:

2005 147 JTD

ok i'll have a look, what does the reciever look like i've not actually checked that i'm just assuming because it has what looks like the motion sensors for the alarm system in the cabin
Chocoboy is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
County: Schleswig-Holstein
Posts: 1

Member car:

spider 916-2,0

Wave How to program keyless entry

hallo looobz,

my spider is a 2,0 from 1999, is that the same procedure for my car ?

Thanks for all

Gerd
alfa speida is offline  
Status: Do you even know how to V6?...
AO Gold Member
 
Ian Lusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 10,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfa speida View Post
hallo looobz,

my spider is a 2,0 from 1999, is that the same procedure for my car ?

Thanks for all

Gerd
yes if it's a phase 2.
Ian Lusso is offline  
Status: Thoroughly enjoying Alfa Ownership :)
AO Member
 
radicalmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 735
Lick Huh?!

Am I the only person who got excited when they saw the title of this thread? Then disappointed reading the first post!
radicalmachine is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 35
This is a confusing area - hard to get straight answers.

I'm going to give these instructions a go and see if I can make it work....thanks to the original writer!!

One problem thohg - how do you get the 4 digit code that matches your key? I know you give the details of some bloke in the UK who can help but is there another way?

With my car there is a Alfa Romeo code card with the owners manual.

It provides an electonic code number plus a mechanical code (anyone know what that is)??

On the reverse it has a 4 digit code but nothing that says what it is. I'm wondering if that is the remote locking code.

Any ideas welcome.

Thanks

Thanks!
Barryco
2002 GTV V6 Black/Tan
Barryco is offline  
Status: Do you even know how to V6?...
AO Gold Member
 
Ian Lusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 10,929
What of you don't have the code? My one key is doing the single blink thing, and I have to be real close to the car to make it work so I bought another key that blinks like it should, but it hasn't been coded to my car yet. Can I code it to my car?

Secondly... How do I code a key to my ignition? I need to code this new key to my ignition as well!
Ian Lusso is offline  
Status: q2
AO Member
 
elm11g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 458

Member car:

2001 GTV 3.0 V6

i believe to get the code you have to send the receiver to someone that can read eproms and can decipher the code??

there is some info on AO about this, not sure where,

hopefully someone more knowledgeable can answer for you.
elm11g is offline  
Zoo
Status: TCT Changed my life!
AO Silver Member
 
Zoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,819
Garage
my phase 1 has this set up too and its a 1996 model GTV, i'm wondering if this will work.
Zoo is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France, Metropolitan
County: Haut Rhin
Posts: 6

Member car:

GTV

Hi,

I tried on my GTV ph2, but it doesn't works.
The ancient owner did lock it with the fob that is on the red key, with alarm on. Then he destroyed the processor in the fob (probably in water).
So, the alarm is now neutralized with the little round key. I can open/close only mecanically with the key.

I tried to programm the second key. So I press the litlle button, but as long as i press, it still blinks (unstead of just blinking twice as indicate before). Then, when I release it, I can normally enter my 4 digits code (with a blink between every entry), but at the end, just a solid light, as if my code was wrong.

Would it be possible that the fact that the alarm as not been switched off with the fob, but with the little round key, that this would impeach to programm a new key (sort of "security system)? In that case, what to do (the fob in the first key is destroyed) ??

I'm searching à solution since several month, but without succes. When I go to an Alfa dealer, the only thing they can answer is that I MUST buy à new complete system (of course !!) , with new keys, new central locking, new ECU, ....Why not a new car !!!!.

Any ideas ?
Bigoulou is offline  
Status: Thoroughly enjoying Alfa Ownership :)
AO Member
 
radicalmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 735
I have two 4-digit codes on the code card. Did you try the other code?

EDIT: If you need to de-arm the alarm with the broken key, get in contact with Chris. He just repaired one of my fobs
radicalmachine is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France, Metropolitan
County: Haut Rhin
Posts: 6

Member car:

GTV

Help

Thank you

I just have only ONE 4 digits code, printed on paper stripe. I didn't know that there was an other 4 digits code (maybe one for each key ? strange, i would thing it would rather one single code for the receiver in the car).

The other problem is that I live in France, and I would prefer not to send an electronic parts of my gtv by mail in Great Britain, and it seems to be the only way to reprogram it.https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/images/icons/icon5.gif
Bigoulou is offline  
Status: Thoroughly enjoying Alfa Ownership :)
AO Member
 
radicalmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 735
As far as I understand it, and correct me if I'm wrong, but each remote has it's own 4-digit code. As described above you can remove and send your receiver to someone who can recode it all for you, but if you're reluctant to send in just the key then this isn't an option for you either.

I sent my keys by recorded post. Chris is also a thoroughly decent chap and unlikely to lose your keys!!
radicalmachine is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France, Metropolitan
County: Haut Rhin
Posts: 6

Member car:

GTV

OK, I understand. The problem is that I already tried to repair the broken fob on the key, by sending it to a "specialist" in France (letelecommandier.com). Unfortunatly, he couldn't repair, saying me that processor was "burned", and that it was impossible to do (I thing it was an honnest diag because he sent me my money back).

So, I thing the only options for me are :

- Find the second 4 digit code (maybe I'm going to call another time an Alfa garage, to know if they can find that code in a database)

- Find someone who can reprog my receiver, or find in it a 4 digits code that match

- else .... I don't know
Bigoulou is offline  
Status: Thoroughly enjoying Alfa Ownership :)
AO Member
 
radicalmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 735
Still might be worth just talking to Chris - he's very friendly and helpful. He might be able to repair where others have failed
radicalmachine is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France, Metropolitan
County: Haut Rhin
Posts: 6

Member car:

GTV

OK I'm going to contact him. I'll tell what about his diagnostic for my problem. Thank you.
Bigoulou is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
code , entry , keyless , program

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome