Alfa keys to fit 916 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rich_wookey
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,498
Alfa keys to fit 916

An eBay seller has 10x genuine keys for 156, the blade also fits Spider & GTV

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F283419016011

I assume after cutting they can be programmed to the immobiliser using the master key - can anyone confirm that these keys can be programmed using this method?

If I can get others to commit to buy 1 or 2 or more from me for cost price, free postage to UK, then I’ll buy the 10

Rich
Rich_wookey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Q2 next!
AO Member
 
Welshsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 407
If it does work Rich I would buy two off you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_wookey View Post
An eBay seller has 10x genuine keys for 156, the blade also fits Spider & GTV

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F283419016011

I assume after cutting they can be programmed to the immobiliser using the master key - can anyone confirm that these keys can be programmed using this method?

If I can get others to commit to buy 1 or 2 or more from me for cost price, free postage to UK, then Iíll buy the 10

Rich
Welshsteve is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
anglospider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,457
Iíll take two.
anglospider is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
anglospider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,457
Iíll take two.
anglospider is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
faffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rayleigh
County: Essex
Posts: 354
Garage
The theory is there, however when I tried this previously (with a Nissan key) the companies I approached wouldn't program a key not supplied by them. Does anybody have someone that will do the work?
faffer is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: profesional ledgend
AO Silver Member
 
bradpit999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 2,878
Garage
I know Timpson`s will not program a key blade that is not supplied by them selves
bradpit999 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Constantly Nagging Lincolnshire Members !
Regional Support
For Lincolnshire - AOL
 
Nige005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincs
Posts: 16,286
Last time I did this the " Keyman " on his stall in the local market was happy to do this, a tenner each iirc.
Nige005 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by faffer View Post
The theory is there, however when I tried this previously (with a Nissan key) the companies I approached wouldn't program a key not supplied by them. Does anybody have someone that will do the work?
My theory is that you don't need someone else to register the new key with your immobiliser, there is a sequence using the brown master key to add new keys to the immobiliser:

1st switch on with the master key to MAR and then off, remove master key and place away from the ignition switch

Then program the new and old keys one by one by using each to switch on/off
(within 10 seconds)

But, I guess only if the new key has some sort of code in it, if its a virgin key, then I don't know if the above will work
Rich_wookey is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradpit999 View Post
I know Timpson`s will not program a key blade that is not supplied by them selves
Try a different branch, I got them to clone a chip that I supplied
Rich_wookey is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
anglospider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,457
I'm pretty sure the local locksmith in Ware will do these. I'm happy to take a gamble, and won't complain if it doesn't work!
anglospider is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,498
Thanks for the interest in having a key or two

The 156 forum says these are not 156 keys, so I'm going to investigate if the transponder quoted will work with the 916 code system and if its is virgin or can be reprogrammed, in which case we will have to get a locksmith/ Timsons to programme it, if its not reprogrammable, then my theory may work

The seller sells them singly, so I may wager some dosh to see if I can get one working

Watch this space

Rich
Rich_wookey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
faffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rayleigh
County: Essex
Posts: 354
Garage
I posed the question to a guy in a key cutting shop today, he would cut my own key and if his machine can read an old Alfa key he would do the cloning/coding as well all for the princely sum of £10. So there is hope, not that I plan on being in Liverpool again anytime soon.
faffer is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
County: -
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_wookey View Post
My theory is that you don't need someone else to register the new key with your immobiliser, there is a sequence using the brown master key to add new keys to the immobiliser:

1st switch on with the master key to MAR and then off, remove master key and place away from the ignition switch

Then program the new and old keys one by one by using each to switch on/off
(within 10 seconds)

But, I guess only if the new key has some sort of code in it, if its a virgin key, then I don't know if the above will work
Can you still program new keys if you don't have the brown master key? I've had a couple of keys cut as per the 'key card', which I do have - but I don't have the master key just an original red one and the two new ones that have been cut. What to do? Thanks.
general_piffle is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Jowey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 529
Id have one or two as well Rich. can never have too many keys.

Always preferred the style of the all red 'valet key' personally rather than the stick on gel logo
Jowey is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 15 Old 20 Hours Ago Thread Starter
Status: V6 is Best!
AO Silver Member
 
Rich_wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,498
Sorry guys, I've done nothing about this, I'll have another look at the weekend
Welshsteve likes this.
Rich_wookey is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTV & 916 Spider

Tags
916 , alfa , fit , keys

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome