Jim. K GTA Performance Camshafts - Group Buy - Page 19 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 264Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
BTW, for the 832 or GTA injectors to seat properly, you need to shorten the 164 or CF2 injector rail brackets. There are 2 brackets per rail. It needs shortening by maybe 5mm or so. If you donít, itís possible that the injectors wonít fully seat and you may have vacuum leaks.
75evo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
County: -
Posts: 27
Yep, but you can also bend and lengthen the existing fixation holes for proper seatment and alignment.

I've done some readings on my wideband O2 for that. Keep in mind that i use E85 fuel that needs between 0.86 and 0.72 AFR to run great compared to normal unleaded that goes from 0.95 to 0.90.

With CF3 type injectors, without correct alignment : near 1 throughout the rev range, so dangerously lean and no power at all. Dyno benched @205 flywheel bhp. 260 Nm max @ 5k rpm (gta cams, act plenum, decat).

With proper alignement on CF2 fuel rails stock : from 0.95 to 0.70. As you'll see the vacuum created by the engine at high revs compensate for the unproper seating of the injector. You'll basicaly end up very rich because the ECU STFT is struggling to work the engine at low revs (lots of spray jets against the inlet walls.

With fuel rails modified : 0.86 to 0.84, almost steady from bottom to the top of the rev range. Engine is really more powerfull like this. No dyno for now, but will be done soon.

Last edited by Betepaille; 16-03-19 at 08:09.
Betepaille is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 352
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Speaking of Injectors

Last few days I have had an intermittent warning light come on for the injectors! Seems to then lose lots of power low down. However light seems to go out again and comes back. Not sure where to start on this will plug in multiscan in next day or so and see what error codes are stored.

Is this likely to be
1) A faulty injector all were cleaned and refurbed.
2) Coil pack
3 )MAF
4) Alfa 20 year old electrics and may self cure making efforts to find error futile.


Any simple way to diagnose?

1999 3.0 V6 - Q2 LSD - KW V2 coil overs - Alfaholics ARBs front & rear- Fully Polybushed. GTA clutch & Flywheel-330mm Ft. Bremboís with Performance Friction pads - Alfaholics stainless downpipes & Sports Cat. Ragazzon stainless Cat back to unsilenced quad DTMs. Piper cross foam filter and alfaholics short shifter, Bluestyle interior full genuine Alfa electric and heated seats, Alfa 17″ enzo style wheels. Jim Kartalamakis Performance reprofiled 10.0 Cams, bespoke Remap :
Philcrazy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 537

Member car:

AR GT 3.2V6

Is it possible the engine heats up more with these cams? Last summer I got the feeling it was quite a bit harder for the car to cope with the summer heat. Also when opening the bonnet after a drive I thought the heat from the engine was more intense.
Binji is offline  
(Post Link) post #455 of 493 Old 20-03-19 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binji View Post
Is it possible the engine heats up more with these cams? Last summer I got the feeling it was quite a bit harder for the car to cope with the summer heat. Also when opening the bonnet after a drive I thought the heat from the engine was more intense.
More power = more heat.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
I dyno’ed the car. Just a base map, 240 at the wheels at 6000 rpm. So that’s about 266 bhp, with a 10% loss factor. Basically a stock GTA engine, JK cams, modified 156 CF2 exhaust manifolds to fit the 75, 75/GTV6 style dual Siamesed plenum and Autronic SM3. So far from a very modified engine.

I hope to have about 285 bhp at 7000 rpm when I dyno it again.

About the injectors, I made sure the 832 injectors were aligned, at least in terms of the holes which split between inlet tracts. But the spray angle between the ceiling and the floor, that might not be ideal. Because the big injector clips necessitated that the injectors to slant a bit more away from the heads.

When I had the Ford Motorsport injectors, the alignment of the holes were all wrong. It resulted in weird A/F. At some rpm the A/F became super rich even though it had less fuel than an adjacent lower rpm site.

2006 Honda Accord CL9 Type S 6-Speed
1996 155 2.5 V6, Squadra Tuning, RJR Cams
1995 164 Super 3.0 24V
2001 156 3.0 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams,
1987 75 3.2 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams, Stage2 Injectors, Autronic SM3 & CDI 500R
75evo is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 352
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Speaking of Injectors

Last few days I have had an intermittent warning light come on for the injectors! Seems to then lose lots of power low down. However light seems to go out again and comes back. Not sure where to start on this will plug in multiscan in next day or so and see what error codes are stored.

Is this likely to be
1) A faulty injector all were cleaned and refurbed.
2) Coil pack
3 )MAF
4) Alfa 20 year old electrics and may self cure making efforts to find error futile.


Any simple way to diagnose?
Having got the following reading from my Multiscan took car into local specialist. Their testing suggests it is the MAF so just before I purchase replacement they suggested to me was to check if the standard MAF spec is likely to best with slightly modified Cam engine or if a different spec would be better?

Any one change spec of MAF?

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg EE8B4B3D-2118-4ED6-A5E0-1C0CB46CC595.jpeg (96.9 KB, 25 views)
maxiboy wales likes this.

Last edited by Philcrazy; 06-05-19 at 15:51.
Philcrazy is offline  
(Post Link) post #458 of 493 Old 06-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,739
If you change your MAF to a different type you'd need to remap the ECU to 'calibrate' it. Stick with an original Alfa or Bosch MAF only.
maxiboy wales and Philcrazy like this.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 352
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
If you change your MAF to a different type you'd need to remap the ECU to 'calibrate' it. Stick with an original Alfa or Bosch MAF only.
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means don’t know. “ Bank 2 sensor 1”?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A4F39CC2-7BDB-4B57-8818-202ED69F0BD0.jpg (131.5 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 85214C82-F62A-433A-85BC-79AD7F91653D.jpg (139.0 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by Philcrazy; 11-05-19 at 23:11.
Philcrazy is offline  
(Post Link) post #460 of 493 Old 12-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means donít know. ď Bank 2 sensor 1Ē?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
A CF2 GTV V6 only has two lambdas, one for each bank. Bank 2 is the front bank.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
County: -
Posts: 27
Hello,
If Jim K. is here, how have you made adjustable pulleys from the oem ones ? Can we order some you've manufactured ?
Thanks !
yiorgos and maxiboy wales like this.
Betepaille is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 46
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means donít know. ď Bank 2 sensor 1Ē?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
No, finally got my car back after loads of issues with the gearbox. In the end needed to split the two halfs due to a leak. Box was sold as a low milage GTA box but I have my doubts on the low milage part now.

Currently I'm swapping all injectors as well and I'm also flowing the runner plates/bases since Alfa didn't do a proper job there. The head itself is not too bad actually so I will leave those. After complaints by the neighbors I need to fix my exhaust next so I won't be doing a re-run on the dyno for a while.
Tosoni is offline  
Status: selling GTA
AO Member
 
reksu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
County: Mazowieckie
Posts: 60
Hello guys,
I installed the Jim K. cams and i have problem with missifre please look
Ecu giving errors with general ignitions and ignition on 1,2,3,4,5,6 cylinder but not misfire errors. About the cams we use 3.2 lock to install it and the lock dont fit well with cams. But we checked it and timing are fine (made by 3.2 lock tool)
We checked everything (sparks, injectors, grounds, etc..) About the car i moded the engine by made higher compression ratio and a head porting(grinding of inlet and outlet tunnels). About the higher compression.. i polished about 0.7-0.8mm.

Maybe i can do remap to repair it? I use DET3 piggyback to calibrate bigger injectors and bigger MAF -> https://www.ecumaster.com/products/digital-ecu-tuner-3/ but i dont know about that it's possible to set by this piggyback that corections (i mean i know that Det3 has that functions but i think that alfa ECU will makes its own corrections)

Any ideas?

best regards,
Konrad
jim K. likes this.
reksu is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
I used 3.0 cam settings on both my 156 3.0 and Milano 3.2. Both have JK cams.
Are the 3.0 and 3.2 exhaust cams settings exactly the same? The intakes are obviously different.


156 3.0:

Milano 3.2:
75evo is offline  
Status: 156 3.0 GTAm 1070kg 200kw
AO Silver Member
 
alan Q4+33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,020

Member car:

156, 166

i must say that its bad practice to sell performance parts without proper info. Jim did you measure angle of max lift? I have ahm regrind cams and i got all teh info, same with c&b cams. For your cams there is no 100% accurate info and people have problems. Just dynoed a GT 3.2 with your cams and she had less power than stock GTA (both on same GTA map)
alan Q4+33 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 136

Member car:

Alfa 75

If you had bothered to look some pages back, you would find the pic of the profile. What other 'specs' would you need? And, if you have been around cams long enough, you will surely know whatever the stated specs, they are only a starting point and best performance is found by experimenting, especially if other modifications are done to the engine like exhaust system, mapping, air intakes, throttles etc. Max lift can be set from 107* to 114* depending on the shape of dyno curve you prefer. If you or your mechanic are not proficient/patient enough to find the optimum settings for an engine, do not modify it. As for getting less power on the dyno... maybe we should have a contest of dyno numbers, where the lowest number wins!
My car would definitely lose, as I only got 284hp on a very conservative dyno just by setting with factory marks and not bothering any more -even though I have adjustable gears.

Jim K.
torch likes this.
jim K. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
Konrad,

Do you have a wideband A/F hooked up?

Jim,

284 bhp with the siamesed GTV6 plenum? I will dyno again with my new beautifully done plenum....
jim K. likes this.
75evo is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 136

Member car:

Alfa 75

On the question of adjustable cam gears, I have made some for a few customers at a cost of 300Ä+shipping, using the customer-supplied gears. If there are 4 people interested, I can do it for 250Ä+shipping. Let me know if four of you are interested, make sure you have 4 good gears each to send and then we can set this in motion. Timewise, from the time I have your gears at hand, count on ~10 days for me to be ready to ship back to you. Notice one set of gears has 6 bolts, the other 4 bolts. This is because Alfa supplied 6 and 8-hole gears throughout the 24v production.
75evo, this is my engine as tested.

Jim K.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1010002 (44).jpg (154.0 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg P1010001 (43).jpg (121.6 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg P1010003 (23).JPG (217.2 KB, 22 views)
yiorgos, maxiboy wales and Tosoni like this.
jim K. is offline  
Status: selling GTA
AO Member
 
reksu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
County: Mazowieckie
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75evo View Post
Konrad,

Do you have a wideband A/F hooked up?
Not in this place, for now i think that is a good idea to check 3.0 lock on intake cams.
About the exhaust gases i can feels that is very rich but check engine mode is on.. (in this mode i always have rich A/F)

When i start up the engine "check engine" light are flashes and beeping (like safe mode on, off, on ,off, on, off ,on) for me this can be by the other cams timing..?
maxiboy wales likes this.
reksu is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
I would retime the cam to 3.0 specs, uninstall the big injectors, and also that DET3. Then go for a proper remap. My 156 just had the cams with no remap and stock injectors. Runs fine.
maxiboy wales likes this.
75evo is offline  
Status: selling GTA
AO Member
 
reksu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
County: Mazowieckie
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75evo View Post
I would retime the cam to 3.0 specs, uninstall the big injectors, and also that DET3. Then go for a proper remap. My 156 just had the cams with no remap and stock injectors. Runs fine.
I think too about 3.0 lock, about injectors i can't because i have ori bosch ecu calibrated done for bigger injectors and DET is only for calibrate MAF and better A/F mix. We will see in couple days if that is cam bad timing on 3.2 lock.
@75evo on what lock you timing the 3.2? i assume that was be 3.0?
reksu is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
All done on 3.0 markings or cam locks. Why did you put bigger injectors? Even JimK is running on the stock white/yellow injectors on his 3.2.
jim K. likes this.
75evo is offline  
Status: Not Stock
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
County: -
Posts: 853
Iíve done a fairly wide set of modifications but have not ported or polished the heads. Nor touched the injectors.
Iím running a 3.2 and used the 10.0 cams to set with just the 3.2 cams. Running 298-301hp on a set of 3 back to back runs

On a tuned ECU.
jim K. likes this.
Saabretooth is offline  
Status: selling GTA
AO Member
 
reksu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
County: Mazowieckie
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75evo View Post
All done on 3.0 markings or cam locks. Why did you put bigger injectors? Even JimK is running on the stock white/yellow injectors on his 3.2.
Because i done many intake mods, i have a porsche TB, carbon plenum and trumpets. Bigger inlet tunnels and sport value guides
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180918_145612.jpg (44.4 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180917_161117.jpg (44.8 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 153992.jpg (112.0 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 154550.jpg (173.8 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by reksu; 03-06-19 at 15:06.
reksu is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
You shaved the guides off and made it flush with the port roof? JimK told me not to do that because it might compromise longevity. Besides, the 24V ports are HUGE.

According to JimK, his injectors are still adequate for his 280+ bhp car, still has some reserve capacity.

But let us know what happens afer you retime the cams.
Hobson284 and jim K. like this.

Last edited by 75evo; 04-06-19 at 07:24.
75evo is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTA

Tags
buy , camshafts , group , gta , jim , performance

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome