Jim. K GTA Performance Camshafts - Group Buy - Page 19 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 245Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 211
BTW, for the 832 or GTA injectors to seat properly, you need to shorten the 164 or CF2 injector rail brackets. There are 2 brackets per rail. It needs shortening by maybe 5mm or so. If you donít, itís possible that the injectors wonít fully seat and you may have vacuum leaks.
75evo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
County: -
Posts: 26
Yep, but you can also bend and lengthen the existing fixation holes for proper seatment and alignment.

I've done some readings on my wideband O2 for that. Keep in mind that i use E85 fuel that needs between 0.86 and 0.72 AFR to run great compared to normal unleaded that goes from 0.95 to 0.90.

With CF3 type injectors, without correct alignment : near 1 throughout the rev range, so dangerously lean and no power at all. Dyno benched @205 flywheel bhp. 260 Nm max @ 5k rpm (gta cams, act plenum, decat).

With proper alignement on CF2 fuel rails stock : from 0.95 to 0.70. As you'll see the vacuum created by the engine at high revs compensate for the unproper seating of the injector. You'll basicaly end up very rich because the ECU STFT is struggling to work the engine at low revs (lots of spray jets against the inlet walls.

With fuel rails modified : 0.86 to 0.84, almost steady from bottom to the top of the rev range. Engine is really more powerfull like this. No dyno for now, but will be done soon.

Last edited by Betepaille; 16-03-19 at 08:09.
Betepaille is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 347
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Speaking of Injectors

Last few days I have had an intermittent warning light come on for the injectors! Seems to then lose lots of power low down. However light seems to go out again and comes back. Not sure where to start on this will plug in multiscan in next day or so and see what error codes are stored.

Is this likely to be
1) A faulty injector all were cleaned and refurbed.
2) Coil pack
3 )MAF
4) Alfa 20 year old electrics and may self cure making efforts to find error futile.


Any simple way to diagnose?

1999 3.0 V6 - Q2 LSD - KW V2 coil overs - Alfaholics ARBs front & rear- Fully Polybushed. GTA clutch & Flywheel-330mm Ft. Bremboís with Performance Friction pads - Alfaholics stainless downpipes & Sports Cat. Ragazzon stainless Cat back to unsilenced quad DTMs. Piper cross foam filter and alfaholics short shifter, Bluestyle interior full genuine Alfa electric and heated seats, Alfa 17″ enzo style wheels. Jim Kartalamakis Performance reprofiled 10.0 Cams, bespoke Remap :
Philcrazy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 536

Member car:

AR GT 3.2V6

Is it possible the engine heats up more with these cams? Last summer I got the feeling it was quite a bit harder for the car to cope with the summer heat. Also when opening the bonnet after a drive I thought the heat from the engine was more intense.
Binji is offline  
(Post Link) post #455 of 462 Old 20-03-19 Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binji View Post
Is it possible the engine heats up more with these cams? Last summer I got the feeling it was quite a bit harder for the car to cope with the summer heat. Also when opening the bonnet after a drive I thought the heat from the engine was more intense.
More power = more heat.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 211
I dyno’ed the car. Just a base map, 240 at the wheels at 6000 rpm. So that’s about 266 bhp, with a 10% loss factor. Basically a stock GTA engine, JK cams, modified 156 CF2 exhaust manifolds to fit the 75, 75/GTV6 style dual Siamesed plenum and Autronic SM3. So far from a very modified engine.

I hope to have about 285 bhp at 7000 rpm when I dyno it again.

About the injectors, I made sure the 832 injectors were aligned, at least in terms of the holes which split between inlet tracts. But the spray angle between the ceiling and the floor, that might not be ideal. Because the big injector clips necessitated that the injectors to slant a bit more away from the heads.

When I had the Ford Motorsport injectors, the alignment of the holes were all wrong. It resulted in weird A/F. At some rpm the A/F became super rich even though it had less fuel than an adjacent lower rpm site.

2006 Honda Accord CL9 Type S 6-Speed
1996 155 2.5 V6, Squadra Tuning, RJR Cams
1995 164 Super 3.0 24V
2001 156 3.0 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams,
1987 75 3.2 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams, Stage2 Injectors, Autronic SM3 & CDI 500R
75evo is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 347
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Speaking of Injectors

Last few days I have had an intermittent warning light come on for the injectors! Seems to then lose lots of power low down. However light seems to go out again and comes back. Not sure where to start on this will plug in multiscan in next day or so and see what error codes are stored.

Is this likely to be
1) A faulty injector all were cleaned and refurbed.
2) Coil pack
3 )MAF
4) Alfa 20 year old electrics and may self cure making efforts to find error futile.


Any simple way to diagnose?
Having got the following reading from my Multiscan took car into local specialist. Their testing suggests it is the MAF so just before I purchase replacement they suggested to me was to check if the standard MAF spec is likely to best with slightly modified Cam engine or if a different spec would be better?

Any one change spec of MAF?

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg EE8B4B3D-2118-4ED6-A5E0-1C0CB46CC595.jpeg (96.9 KB, 19 views)
maxiboy wales likes this.

Last edited by Philcrazy; 1 Week Ago at 15:51.
Philcrazy is offline  
(Post Link) post #458 of 462 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
If you change your MAF to a different type you'd need to remap the ECU to 'calibrate' it. Stick with an original Alfa or Bosch MAF only.
maxiboy wales and Philcrazy like this.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Philcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kent also in 147 Ducati
County: UK also in 159 2.4TI Sportswagon
Posts: 347
Garage

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
If you change your MAF to a different type you'd need to remap the ECU to 'calibrate' it. Stick with an original Alfa or Bosch MAF only.
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means don’t know. “ Bank 2 sensor 1”?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A4F39CC2-7BDB-4B57-8818-202ED69F0BD0.jpg (131.5 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg 85214C82-F62A-433A-85BC-79AD7F91653D.jpg (139.0 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by Philcrazy; 1 Week Ago at 23:11.
Philcrazy is offline  
(Post Link) post #460 of 462 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means donít know. ď Bank 2 sensor 1Ē?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
A CF2 GTV V6 only has two lambdas, one for each bank. Bank 2 is the front bank.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
County: -
Posts: 26
Hello,
If Jim K. is here, how have you made adjustable pulleys from the oem ones ? Can we order some you've manufactured ?
Thanks !
yiorgos and maxiboy wales like this.
Betepaille is offline  
(Post Link) post #462 of 462 Old 55 Minutes Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 46
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philcrazy View Post
Ok changed the MAF for a new one this morning took for a drive no change�� think perhaps multi scan was correct on lambda sensor? Which one it means donít know. ď Bank 2 sensor 1Ē?

Going off topic:

Just to wreak my day further, had someone reverse into car whilst parked when I took out for the test drive. Went to help someone else doing something on their car and was parked outside a garage. Chaps walks in and says really sorry your cars just been hit, did not see it! Passenger door & front wing damage, tiny bit to bonnet although that may polish out. Not happy at least they were honest enough to come and tell me.

Tosini any update from your end?
No, finally got my car back after loads of issues with the gearbox. In the end needed to split the two halfs due to a leak. Box was sold as a low milage GTA box but I have my doubts on the low milage part now.

Currently I'm swapping all injectors as well and I'm also flowing the runner plates/bases since Alfa didn't do a proper job there. The head itself is not too bad actually so I will leave those. After complaints by the neighbors I need to fix my exhaust next so I won't be doing a re-run on the dyno for a while.
Tosoni is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTA

Tags
buy , camshafts , group , gta , jim , performance

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome