'Failure No Connection' message on 156 GTA - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 12-07-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
double-6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,145
'Failure No Connection' message on 156 GTA

Hi

My 156 GTA is showing the error message 'failure no connection' and also showing the ABS and TC to be out of service.

I have tried searching but only found one reference to a 'failure no connection' thread, but can't find the actual thread.

Any thoughts what this could be? I had a second hand ecu fitted recently. Could it be that? Or an ABS sensor or pump?

Any thoughts appreciated.

PS. I can sincerely recommend that you don't brake really hard from 90mph or so when your ABS isn't working and you have a Q2 fitted! Holy moly I thought I was gonna die! The guy in front of me braked really suddenly and hard from 90, and so I had to do the same. One wheel immediately locked up (no ABS) and apparently the diff sent all the power to the other wheel! Suddenly I was literally going sideways at 90mph! Nice. Managed to save it though
double-6s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
How recently was the ECU changed?
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: Last month out till winter sleep
AO Member
 
vensac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by double-6s View Post
Hi

My 156 GTA is showing the error message 'failure no connection' and also showing the ABS and TC to be out of service.

I have tried searching but only found one reference to a 'failure no connection' thread, but can't find the actual thread.

Any thoughts what this could be? I had a second hand ecu fitted recently. Could it be that? Or an ABS sensor or pump?

Any thoughts appreciated.

PS. I can sincerely recommend that you don't brake really hard from 90mph or so when your ABS isn't working and you have a Q2 fitted! Holy moly I thought I was gonna die! The guy in front of me braked really suddenly and hard from 90, and so I had to do the same. One wheel immediately locked up (no ABS) and apparently the diff sent all the power to the other wheel! Suddenly I was literally going sideways at 90mph! Nice. Managed to save it though
Have seen this problem before. Try the cables between the ECU and the abs unit. Check them for continuity as there may well be a phisical break in one or more of the cores. Look at where they pass through the bodywork and at any point where they are clipped first.
vensac is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 13 Old 12-07-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
double-6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,145
About 6 months ago mate.

Alfa screwed mine whilst working on the car, so I had a second hand one fitted.
double-6s is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,247

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

There definitely should be something on here, as I found the solution myself on here.

There is a fuse in the fusebox on top of the battery. It's a weird type of fuse, that you won't get at halfords, but if you can find an old school motor factor you should be able to get one for about 50p.
bazza is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,247

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Here you go, all the info you need, including a piccy:

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...onnection.html
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 13 Old 12-07-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
double-6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,145
Brilliant - thanks Bazza
double-6s is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
ABYSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 1,058
I experienced that twice myself. It is the Midi fuse in fuse box on top of the battery. Once replaced all back to normal. That fuse is very easy to break if you over tighten it.
ABYSS is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,247

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Quote:
Originally Posted by double-6s View Post
Brilliant - thanks Bazza
No worries, I hope it does turn out to be the solution!
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 13-07-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
double-6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,145
Sorted. It was that little yellow sucker sucker of a fuse as suggested. And my mate had one in hs draw!

Thanks folks.

(have also fitted some new front PS2s this morning, so it's feeling pretty good again!)
double-6s is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,247

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Nice one

It's such a relief after seeing such a scary (and expensive) sounding warning, isn't it?
bazza is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 13 Old 13-07-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
double-6s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
Nice one

It's such a relief after seeing such a scary (and expensive) sounding warning, isn't it?

Indeed!

It's quite nice knowing I've got ABS and TC again, so hopefully no more diff sending me sideways at 90 episodes!

Cheers mate
double-6s is offline  
mudhut
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
All sorts of less common wiring stuff at Vehicle Wiring Products
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa GTA

Tags
156 , connection , failure , gta , message

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 60 5 Days Ago 08:17
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome