cambelt change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 31 Old 20-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 436
cambelt change

hi
I have a 2012 gqv with 45,550 miles on clock when is it due first cambelt change as I heard they are due at 72,ooo is that correct.
thanks
ryezy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
4 years, so you're due this year... 65k (105000km) is the change interval in metric countries...
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 464
I'm just sorting the parts out for my next service and have similar milage with my GQV to yours, but mines a March 2011 version and will be getting serviced in about 3 - 4 weeks giving enough time before the MoT runs out in case of any un-foreseen problems!!!
After 5 years ownership and covering mainly long open road journeys in the QV, compared to the more mixed town/city driving conditions for my/our other Alfa family members 147 & 156JTD's.

For my liking 72K miles before a cam belt service is stretching it somewhat for my liking have replaced cam and balance shaft belts with teeth missing on some other makes, mostly for some reason the early Peugeot and late Renault engines.

CannonBall UK
cannonballuk is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 31 Old 21-01-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 436
thanks
is the 4 years alfas recommendation
ryezy is offline  
Status: Multiair replaced. Back to procrastinating
AO Silver Member
 
TonyGr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Scunthorpe
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,350
Garage
I thought Alfa says 5 years unless used in arduous conditions when it should be 4 years. I have a 20011 MA which is primarily used for decent distances so it will be done at 5 years this summer.

It is all in the handbook/service schedule
TonyGr is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 464
For the 1750 (QV) Engine
*) Regardless of the distance covered, the timing belt must be changed every four years for particularly demanding use (cold climates, city driving, long periods of idling) or at least every five years in all other cases.

For the 1.4 Engine
(*) Regardless of the distance covered, the timing belt must be changed every 4 years for particularly demanding use (cold climates, city driving, long periods of idling) or at least every 5 years.

Hope this helps clear up this issue, and Yes I'm outside the 4 years but within the 5 year interval.
A complete check of the timing belt while on has been done, but better checking once removed of the belt and pulleys and tensioners will be done to see how they have faired during this time.
I use bearing vibration monitoring equipment, more commonly known as Plant Condition Monitoring in industry to check old again replacements.
cannonballuk is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
read up on arduous conditions: anything but a long commute on the motorway is arduous....

Car new to you? change at 4 years.
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: ...it's more than just a bit fantastic!
AO Silver Member
 
Argo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyGr View Post
I thought Alfa says 5 years unless used in arduous conditions when it should be 4 years. I have a 20011 MA which is primarily used for decent distances so it will be done at 5 years this summer.

It is all in the handbook/service schedule
Changed mine at 5 years pretty much on the dot (60k) and the old belt was still fine. Mine's a diesel though.
Argo is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 464
My QV's first 25K miles was exactly that, Motorway & Dual Carriageway miles, although I to think 5 years on a QV is long and was breaking my normal regular shorter maintenance intervals I do.

The dealer did say last year the cam belt service can wait until next (Feb 2016) and since I'm now limited doing my own work due to health issues and only doing low milage since I use the 156 more these days.
cannonballuk is offline  
Status: Multiair replaced. Back to procrastinating
AO Silver Member
 
TonyGr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Scunthorpe
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,350
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Argo View Post
Changed mine at 5 years pretty much on the dot (60k) and the old belt was still fine. Mine's a diesel though.
My 1.4MA is currently on 46k so will probably be about 50k at the end of June when the 5 years comes up going on comments in previous threads about the condition of the old belt on changing (Ransoman????) I believe this should not be a problem.

CS155 do you have a link for a definition of arduous conditions as my handbook refers to particularly demanding use (cold climates, city driving, long periods of idling) rather than arduous as requiring changing at 4 years. Nothing there would seem to indicate restricting to motorway only.
TonyGr is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 12
I changed my 2010 2.0 JDTM in 2015 with 68,000 miles, about a month after I bought it. Now on 80,000 miles and just sailed through its MOT
braddersR likes this.
alfaben6092 is offline  
Status: Married
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
braddersR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 650
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 42,776
My 2011 2.0 jdtm belt was changed at 58K last August. (Belt that came off was in good condition)
braddersR is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 36,801
It isn't normally the belt which causes the problems, it is the water pump or the tensioners.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
County: -
Posts: 7
My QV line is due its first belts change any advice on purchasing the specialist tools and belt set as the dealer price of 700+ seems really excessive.
Simons Alfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 36,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simons Alfa View Post
My QV line is due its first belts change any advice on purchasing the specialist tools and belt set as the dealer price of 700+ seems really excessive.
If you find a specialist I am sure you could get it done for about half of that.

I don't think it is especially difficult.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Alive - that'll do for me.
AO Member
 
NuovaApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: England
County: Kent
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simons Alfa View Post
My QV line is due its first belts change any advice on purchasing the specialist tools and belt set as the dealer price of 700+ seems really excessive.
Holy ship! The dealer price is 700 for a belt change? Nothing else?

If that's the case then I'm done sniffing around G's for my next car.

A new MA unit is less than that. As a newbie to G's I shouldn't even know that, but these forums are overflowing with knowledge and rather addictive.

Last edited by NuovaApe; 2 Weeks Ago at 21:59.
NuovaApe is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simons Alfa View Post
My QV line is due its first belts change any advice on purchasing the specialist tools and belt set as the dealer price of 700+ seems really excessive.
Stop going to dealers. Dealers are for the warranty period stuff.

I wonder why people never learn this.
armoore, symon, Pud237 and 1 others like this.
jomper is online now  
(Post Link) post #18 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,899
Well said jomper!

It would be useful to know what the cost would be, from a dealer, of cars manufactured by other makers, to make comparison before dissing Alfa Romeos. It amazes me that people buy really nice cars and then baulk at looking after them especially as there are quite a number of really good independent specialists who can do the job.
Argo likes this.
armoore is online now  
(Post Link) post #19 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 36,801
They don't call them stealers for nothing...
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Psircos@gmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
County: -
Posts: 432
700 is ridiculous!! Mine cost 300 plus the vat so 360. That was EVERYTHING.
Very reliable local indie ive used for 10years
Even The 156 was only 220 for the labour and i supplied the parts which were about 190 as i got them on a sale at ECP.
As already stated, stop going to dealers. Their stamp is overrated and their often impersonal service bursts everyone's b$#$s
[email protected] is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Alive - that'll do for me.
AO Member
 
NuovaApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: England
County: Kent
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
700 is ridiculous!! Mine cost 300 plus the vat so 360. That was EVERYTHING.
Very reliable local indie ive used for 10years
Even The 156 was only 220 for the labour and i supplied the parts which were about 190 as i got them on a sale at ECP.
As already stated, stop going to dealers. Their stamp is overrated and their often impersonal service bursts everyone's b$#$s
ok that's reassuring and reasonable.

When my belt broke on my 147 I ended up with nearly a 2k bill from a specialist. They even used the words "you might want to sit down". Seems I was unlucky in "that thing hit that thing which broke that thing". No interim updates just a final bill. Put me off Alfa for life, yet here I am again.
NuovaApe is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Psircos@gmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
County: -
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuovaApe View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
700 is ridiculous!! Mine cost 300 plus the vat so 360. That was EVERYTHING.
Very reliable local indie ive used for 10years
Even The 156 was only 220 for the labour and i supplied the parts which were about 190 as i got them on a sale at ECP.
As already stated, stop going to dealers. Their stamp is overrated and their often impersonal service bursts everyone's b$#$s
ok that's reassuring and reasonable.

When my belt broke on my 147 I ended up with nearly a 2k bill from a specialist. They even used the words "you might want to sit down". Seems I was unlucky in "that thing hit that thing which broke that thing". No interim updates just a final bill. Put me off Alfa for life, yet here I am again.
Thing is, imo ALL cars need tlc. Yes, some will last a fair old while even if abused and things are left unattended but all will do better if their owner takes a bit of time and keeps on top of a few details.
Alfas just fall into the category where they wont last as long unless they're looked after....which just means their owners tend to fall into the category of being over careful, attentive to detail and a bit obsessed with the whole affair. As long as you know and understand that this part of owning an alfa then its all good.

This also leads to a community spirit which doesn't exist in too many other places 😊. People will often bend over backward to help each other.
I had someone who knows me only only through here, POST out the cam lock tools to me, so that my garage could use them on my 156!!
Unbelievable trust that is rare to find elsewhere
Argo and jomper like this.
[email protected] is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
County: -
Posts: 7
Ok everyone thanks for the comments, back to the original post, any advice on getting parts and tools and approx cost as it is clearly better to go to another garage even if they do not already have the tool. I have just had work done by an independent specialist and they failed to pick up an obvious brake issue so if we are issuing advice I would also say do not go blindly believing specialists are all good, this one wasn't but came highly regarded.
Simons Alfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Too many Alfas
AO Gold Member
 
Spider95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simons Alfa View Post
Ok everyone thanks for the comments, back to the original post, any advice on getting parts and tools and approx cost as it is clearly better to go to another garage even if they do not already have the tool. I have just had work done by an independent specialist and they failed to pick up an obvious brake issue so if we are issuing advice I would also say do not go blindly believing specialists are all good, this one wasn't but came highly regarded.
As you say there a good specialists and not so good ones.

Whereabouts in the country are you?
Spider95 is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 31 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Needs cleaning
AO Member
 
Iron Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 611
I’ve used Alfa Workshop in Royston for both the 156 I had for 9 years and my current Giulietta and found them to be very good. Certainly no problems and I’ve never felt ripped off. They have a good reputation for a reason, although no doubt if you try hard enough you’ll find someone who’s had an issue. Plenty of places will see the Alfa badge and the pound signs go up!

They do fixed prices for servicing so there shouldn’t be any surprises unless additional work is needed. Depends whether you’re near enough to make it worthwhile.

https://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/alfa_...schedule.shtml

I think Autolusso’s prices are similar, but I’ve not used them so can’t comment.
Iron Wizard is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulietta

Tags
cambelt , change

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome