New giuliette, some issues - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Status: I wanted to stay in the EU
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 1,179

Member car:

Guilietta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthos View Post
It just plugs into the socket. It has the standard type 12V connector.



2011, 2.0 140HP, Diesel, 120K, 2500GBP



Obviously in this context "new" was meant to imply new in possession to me. I am under no disillusion of the car's age.



Seems to give more or less the expected ambient temperatures during various points of the day.



I've been in contact with the dealer through e-mail and I have in writing his "advice" to seek my own garage or someone he can refer me to, to have the car checked out. In theory that should be ok, right?
And has he put in writing that he will reimburse any costs that you may incur? You are responsible for paying for any work you commission with the garage you take it to. Just be careful is it a proper Alfa dealer?
Isotope is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #27 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isotope View Post
And has he put in writing that he will reimburse any costs that you may incur? You are responsible for paying for any work you commission with the garage you take it to. Just be careful is it a proper Alfa dealer?
He is a standard car dealer, doesn't specialize in alfas if that's what you meant.
Obviously if something is busted I won't go around paying for stuff and THEN get them to act on it. I ll give them the quote of what is expected to cost and then the ball is in their court.
Anthos is offline  
Status: I wanted to stay in the EU
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 1,179

Member car:

Guilietta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthos View Post
He is a standard car dealer, doesn't specialize in alfas if that's what you meant.
Obviously if something is busted I won't go around paying for stuff and THEN get them to act on it. I ll give them the quote of what is expected to cost and then the ball is in their court.
Sorry, just worried you might be left with an unfair bill, sounds like you have things in place to cover it, let us now how you get on. I can still plug in to your car if needed next weekend?
Isotope is offline  
(Post Link) post #29 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isotope View Post
Sorry, just worried you might be left with an unfair bill, sounds like you have things in place to cover it, let us now how you get on. I can still plug in to your car if needed next weekend?


No need to be sorry man, I appreciate your help and concern. I intend to take it over the weekend once I get some free time from work to some ac guys to have it checked out and check the blue&me issue if it is something their workshop can also do. If I don't have anything figured by the next weekend your help would indeed be handy but I 'd feel kinda bad for taking your time especially on a weekend. Do you live nearby?
Anthos is offline  
Status: I wanted to stay in the EU
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 1,179

Member car:

Guilietta

I'm in Lincolnshire but am spending a lot of time in Warwickshire so could pop in on the way. You are in Kettering right?
Isotope is offline  
(Post Link) post #31 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isotope View Post
I'm in Lincolnshire but am spending a lot of time in Warwickshire so could pop in on the way. You are in Kettering right?
Yeah I am, that's kind of you thanks but hopefully I ll have things figured out by then.. Or close to it.

By the way I noticed underneath one of the car seats one of those buttons that are from the dash (that control auto start/stop, fog lights etc) that probably was broken and came off. All 5 of them are present on the dashboard, I was wondering is there any other place that a similar button exists that could relate to (if not then I guess one of the main ones broken on the dashboard and was subsequently replaced but the faulty one was just not dumped off very far)
Anthos is offline  
Status: I wanted to stay in the EU
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 1,179

Member car:

Guilietta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthos View Post
Yeah I am, that's kind of you thanks but hopefully I ll have things figured out by then.. Or close to it.

By the way I noticed underneath one of the car seats one of those buttons that are from the dash (that control auto start/stop, fog lights etc) that probably was broken and came off. All 5 of them are present on the dashboard, I was wondering is there any other place that a similar button exists that could relate to (if not then I guess one of the main ones broken on the dashboard and was subsequently replaced but the faulty one was just not dumped off very far)
I don't know of any other locations for those sort of switches so I think it's just been missed by the repairer when they were replaced.
Isotope is offline  
(Post Link) post #33 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isotope View Post
I don't know of any other locations for those sort of switches so I think it's just been missed by the repairer when they were replaced.
Ah, good. Because as soon as I saw it I was like bloody hell, I hope there's not a button somewhere now that I can't use. I am still in the process of trying to rectify the dashboard glove compartment which's been a bit of a pain in the ass. The "tooth" like hinge doesn't "exist" so it stays up, for now I've got it taped down but obviously it is not a pretty solution, neither practical. I was thinking of using some custom magnets or hinges but the inside is sloped so it might not be that easy to align everything. Found some compartments for like 80 pounds on ebay/amazon but it might be a bit excessive. I thought of just removing its springs so it just stays down (which I can still open manually and use) but I am not even sure if those would be accessible. I've tried to search some online spare parts sites and see if I can get any results.

Also in related news I followed that cable all the way through and indeed it must 've been used for a dashcam based on where it was going. One puzzle at least out of the way.

Last edited by Anthos; 1 Week Ago at 18:23.
Anthos is offline  
(Post Link) post #34 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
HELP!!!
I got up today to go to work. Start the car, warnings galore... Power steering error, hill assisy error, vdc error.. tried to move and yes power steering not working. Small heart attack settling in. Switched it off. Back on again and it was back to normal.

What the hell was that all about? An incidental thing or an omen of terrible things to come?????
Anthos is offline  
Status: Needs cleaning
AO Member
 
Iron Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 628
All of those errors will come up if the battery has been disconnected. They could also appear if the battery isn’t very good; these cars are very sensitive to failing batteries.
Iron Wizard is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,931
Low battery?
It could have been on the dealer forecourt a while and batteries never recover from going flat.
Sounds an example with some issues you got there but once the niggles are fixed itíll be good, Iím sure.
cue2 is offline  
(Post Link) post #37 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Something that could be related. There's only one place in my daily commute that sometimes the start and stop system works. At one specific set of traffic lights for whatever reason. At some other instances it comes up as a start/stop unavailable. Could that be because it wants to stop but can't which could relate to an additional hint being something wrong with the battery?
Anthos is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Pokerking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: At Work
County: West Yorkshire-
Posts: 115
From my 10000 hours of research into the stop/start issue on the Giulietta (Joking haha)!!! Ive come to the conclusion its very hit and miss. My 2014 is on the original battery, is 100% perfect and within voltage but stop/start has not worked since I bought the car. Its a very poor system if you ask me. Mine is a diesel so not sure if the petrol suffers the same.

A bad ground could cause the issue, check for a loose negative on the battery terminal, could be corroded or on its way out. Maybe try a multimeter and check the voltage and again when cranking if you can, maybe a dud battery.
Pokerking is offline  
Status: Needs cleaning
AO Member
 
Iron Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 628
After 18 months of ownership and around 18k miles my start-stop is now pretty reliable. As far as I know I’m on the original battery and in the past it has needed to be charged at home a couple of times - not because it wouldn’t start, just because s-s didn’t work. The battery must be at least 80% charged for s-s to work.
A couple of weeks ago I did a 350 mile round trip in one day, and since then it’s been perfect. Before that it was very hit and miss, stopping for a few seconds if at all or just giving the ‘unavailable’ message. I put it down to a good long run clearing out the dpf etc and charging the battery. We’ll see how long that lasts.
The Giulietta is well known for not tolerating discharged batteries - there are many threads covering it - so I would either charge it or replace it before going looking for other faulty components.
The HDC/hill holder/steering errors all come up when the battery has been disconnected, and there is a procedure in the manual to cater for this, including resetting the window switch stops.
Iron Wizard is offline  
Status: Needs cleaning
AO Member
 
Iron Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 628
Typo alert! I meant VDC/hill holder....
Iron Wizard is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
County: NRW
Posts: 420

Member car:

White 2016 G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthos View Post
HELP!!!
I got up today to go to work. Start the car, warnings galore... Power steering error, hill assisy error, vdc error.. tried to move and yes power steering not working. Small heart attack settling in. Switched it off. Back on again and it was back to normal.

What the hell was that all about? An incidental thing or an omen of terrible things to come?????
I had this once on my old car, I think the comments above about low battery voltage are pretty to close the reason.
I also thought it could be a communication fault on the CAN bus, caused by a device starting up slowly.

In either case, check battery voltage, and if the problem doesn't repeat, just ignore.
If it repeats 3 time (my rule of thumb), then hand the car back and leave the seller to solve the issue.
MrMin is offline  
Status: I wanted to stay in the EU
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 1,179

Member car:

Guilietta

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMin View Post
I had this once on my old car, I think the comments above about low battery voltage are pretty to close the reason.
I also thought it could be a communication fault on the CAN bus, caused by a device starting up slowly.

In either case, check battery voltage, and if the problem doesn't repeat, just ignore.
If it repeats 3 time (my rule of thumb), then hand the car back and leave the seller to solve the issue.
I've had my car for 6 years and I would bet my house on your car needs a new battery. My battery literally went from working to the errors you've had in one day. The car just manged to start and I got home, but it wouldn't start again in the morning. Did the car stop start much now the weather is warmer?
Isotope is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,685
Stop start also wonít work if your using AC/climate and the target temp is a few degrees away as the compressor runs from the aux belt I think.
Nickhoughton567 is offline  
(Post Link) post #44 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isotope View Post
I've had my car for 6 years and I would bet my house on your car needs a new battery. My battery literally went from working to the errors you've had in one day. The car just manged to start and I got home, but it wouldn't start again in the morning. Did the car stop start much now the weather is warmer?
Barely on my daily commute in the morning (around 9 miles, mixed cycle) never starts/stops. On my evening coming back will start/stop close to the end of my commute around 0-2 times.
Anthos is offline  
(Post Link) post #45 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
Ok, since I got the car I was probably gonna drive for the first time during the night to go to a supermarket. I got in the car and it gave me an alarm unavailable error. Wasn't sure if it was relevant because prior to that I was testing a new replacement casing I was using for the remote and I ended up long-distance lock and unlocking all the time so I thought that maybe I de-activated it by accident. Turned it on then off again and the warning didn't come up.
Started driving, noticed something was off. Went to check, left headlight doesn't turn on. I had checked all of them a few days ago and it was working fine. This is starting to get ridiculous.
Anthos is offline  
Status: Incurable alfaholic
AO Member
 
147Alfaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sydney
County: Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokerking View Post
From my 10000 hours of research into the stop/start issue on the Giulietta (Joking haha)!!! Ive come to the conclusion its very hit and miss. My 2014 is on the original battery, is 100% perfect and within voltage but stop/start has not worked since I bought the car. Its a very poor system if you ask me. Mine is a diesel so not sure if the petrol suffers the same.

A bad ground could cause the issue, check for a loose negative on the battery terminal, could be corroded or on its way out. Maybe try a multimeter and check the voltage and again when cranking if you can, maybe a dud battery.
Yep, my old Multiair almost never had the auto stop/start working. I ended up turning it off from the menu. The battery needed to be fully charged for it to work anyway. Thankfully the Veloce 1750 dispenses with this annoying technology.

Last edited by 147Alfaguy; 1 Week Ago at 08:23.
147Alfaguy is offline  
Status: Incurable alfaholic
AO Member
 
147Alfaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sydney
County: Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthos View Post
Barely on my daily commute in the morning (around 9 miles, mixed cycle) never starts/stops. On my evening coming back will start/stop close to the end of my commute around 0-2 times.
I haven’t read the entire thread, but if you haven’t yet, chuck the battery and get a good quality replacement. Mine (the original battery) failed at about the 2 year mark and was replaced under warranty. Deactivate the auto stop-start for the sake of your sanity. You’ve been warned...
Don’t know about the headlight ...always been good, but I ditched using stop/start early on.

Last edited by 147Alfaguy; 1 Week Ago at 02:51.
147Alfaguy is offline  
(Post Link) post #48 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
On my daily morning commute today s/s worked like 4-5 times. I don't really care much about that to be honest, just mentioning it in any case it gives any information about the battery's state. Also this morning got the alarm unavailable again. And also weirdly the back wiper started going on as soon as i turned on the car (everything was disabled relating to that) and didn't stop until a full minute or 2. Was that due to a particular reason? I am starting to understand why the car was sold cheap.

Last edited by Anthos; 1 Week Ago at 07:46.
Anthos is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,931
I was wondering if the car was sold cheap but didnít want to ask.
I can understand why the previous owner moved on...
Hopefully you can sort it out.
cue2 is offline  
(Post Link) post #50 of 73 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
County: -
Posts: 20
By the way what I thought might be normal but reading more about it i realize it might not. When you turn the back wipers off are they supposed to park themselves and stop "soon"? Mine keep going for maybe like 5-6 times and then randomly stop, sometimes in the middle of the screen so you have to "time" it as not to block your view.
Anthos is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulietta

Tags
giuliette , issues

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome