U-Connect Live 6.5" - extra gauges - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Guy Swarbrick
  • 1 Post By Guy Swarbrick
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
U-Connect Live 6.5" - extra gauges

I picked up a 66 plate Veloce a week or so ago, which had old maps (now updated - thanks!) and a DNA-specific menu option above the eco-mode thing on the U-Connect Live 'app' with lots of extra gauges. The U-Connect app on the phone told me I had to contact the previous owner to access U-Connect Live, but somebody suggested that a factory reset would solve the problem. It didn't, but it did remove the DNA app and seems to have replaced the eco mode with a cruder version...

Any idea how to get the DNA app back?
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 29,743
The original owner gets three years of the app I seem to recall. I had it on my previous car , a Giulietta with the 6.5 u-connect. Never really used the thing in the two years I had the car from new. The speed camera alert drove me to switching it off.
cue2 is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cue2 View Post
The original owner gets three years of the app I seem to recall. I had it on my previous car , a Giulietta with the 6.5 u-connect. Never really used the thing in the two years I had the car from new. The speed camera alert drove me to switching it off.
It is transferrable and the car's only two and a half years old, but I don't think the DNA app is part of Live, as such...
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
This is the app - but the website doesn't tell you what to do if it disappears!

[URL="https://www.driveuconnect.eu/en/features/alfa-performance"]
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Lost in firmware files!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 142
How did you re-set your uConnect?

Was it through the engineers menu?
If so then i am going to guess your Bluetooth ID is now something like "Uconnect "\u0000\u0000\u00" as well?
iSquithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
How did you re-set your uConnect?

Was it through the engineers menu?
If so then i am going to guess your Bluetooth ID is now something like "Uconnect "\u0000\u0000\u00" as well?
Not originally, no - it was a non-hidden option. I have subsequently installed your 2018Q3 map update (thanks!) - so I have no done the Engineers menu radio reset, but it was borked before that.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 45
[email protected]
I have the same issue with my 67 Veloce. I had to send a copy of the v5 and my driving licence to the above email address. Am awaiting their reply
richardlansom is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardlansom View Post
[email protected]
I have the same issue with my 67 Veloce. I had to send a copy of the v5 and my driving licence to the above email address. Am awaiting their reply
Thanks. It's going back to the dealer on Wednesday for some other stuff and they say they can sort it. I'm not convinced, but that's what they say...

Guy
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 21 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Lost in firmware files!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 142
It will initially break your SatNav but have you tried to re-flash the 17.07.55 firmware to your uConnect?

If you do it, it should reset your firmware to re-enable the DNA Performance, you can then just run the NaviServer2 update zip from my collection to fix the SatNav bits.
iSquithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
I think I may have done... by accident...

Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
It will initially break your SatNav but have you tried to re-flash the 17.07.55 firmware to your uConnect?

If you do it, it should reset your firmware to re-enable the DNA Performance, you can then just run the NaviServer2 update zip from my collection to fix the SatNav bits.
So I picked up the car from the dealer, forgot I'd left the map update USB stick in it and, when it popped up and told me there was an update, I had a blonde - OK, grey... - moment and said Yes. It's now looping round ask me to insert an update USB. Is that the point at which I need the NaviServer thing...? Or have I really broken it? I have no radio or anything now...
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
So I picked up the car from the dealer, forgot I'd left the map update USB stick in it and, when it popped up and told me there was an update, I had a blonde - OK, grey... - moment and said Yes. It's now looping round ask me to insert an update USB. Is that the point at which I need the NaviServer thing...? Or have I really broken it? I have no radio or anything now...
I thought I'd managed a bit of self-help. 17.05.55 got to through stage 1 of 7 then went back to square one and the reboot cycle...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Last edited by Guy Swarbrick; 1 Week Ago at 20:04.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
Status: Lost in firmware files!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
I thought I'd managed a bit of self-help. 17.05.55 got to through stage 1 of 7 then went back to square one and the reboot cycle...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
OK, you need to just let it reflash a unmodified version of the firmware 17.07.55, it may take a few reboots to fully flash the firmware but it should get there. Then after it's updated, you will need to flash the updated NaviServer to fix the SatNav features.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
iSquithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
It will initially break your SatNav but have you tried to re-flash the 17.07.55 firmware to your uConnect?

If you do it, it should reset your firmware to re-enable the DNA Performance, you can then just run the NaviServer2 update zip from my collection to fix the SatNav bits.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
OK, you need to just let it reflash a unmodified version of the firmware 17.07.55, it may take a few reboots to fully flash the firmware but it should get there. Then after it's updated, you will need to flash the updated NaviServer to fix the SatNav features.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
Thanks - I'll keep at it.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
Thanks - I'll keep at it.

Tried 5 times. Every time I get 'ISO authentication failed. Please remove USB stick to reset'
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
Status: Lost in firmware files!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
Tried 5 times. Every time I get 'ISO authentication failed. Please remove USB stick to reset'
Arrrr, you need to use a unmodified swdl.iso.

https://mega.nz/#!0FxhAYRZ!RyhIeyqR6...iAAdwd70eiydVs

That one should work for you!

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
iSquithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
Arrrr, you need to use a unmodified swdl.iso.

https://mega.nz/#!0FxhAYRZ!RyhIeyqR6...iAAdwd70eiydVs

That one should work for you!

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
Brilliant - thanks! I'll try that tomorrow.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
Brilliant - thanks! I'll try that tomorrow.
Back up and running, on 17.05.55 - thanks! And it has restored my DNA app.

Now to get the new maps back on.
iSquithy likes this.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
Back up and running, on 17.05.55 - thanks! And it has restored my DNA app.

Now to get the new maps back on.
Two steps forward, one step back. Maps and NaviServ now showing as undefined!

I assume it's the EU Z Fix 3 next...?
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
Status: Lost in firmware files!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Swarbrick View Post
Two steps forward, one step back. Maps and NaviServ now showing as undefined!



I assume it's the EU Z Fix 3 next...?
What files did you use to update your maps?

If it was the HNEU2018Q3v2 then it should be the "Z Config Fix.zip"

Or you could try the updated TTEU2018Q4 map pack lol.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
iSquithy is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 21 Old 1 Week Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSquithy View Post
What files did you use to update your maps?

If it was the HNEU2018Q3v2 then it should be the "Z Config Fix.zip"

Or you could try the updated TTEU2018Q4 map pack lol.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
Looks like it must have been "EU Custom 2018 HNEU2018Q3v2", based on the Zips I've unzipped!
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 21 Old 5 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Guy Swarbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
County: -
Posts: 14
Didn't think the update was working because the LED on my USB stick wasn't flashing - but I think the LED is knackered! All updated, Q4 maps working perfectly and I can now get within a street of my son's newbuild house!

Thanks for all the help.

Guy
iSquithy likes this.
Guy Swarbrick is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulietta

Tags
apps , dna , giulietta , live , uconnect

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome