Apple Car Play retrofitted - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Karl_Shad86
  • 1 Post By epsonix
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tremolo Arm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 131
Apple Car Play retrofitted

Thinking of buying a 2018 Veloce.
I really want Apple Car Play to play Spotify and check the traffic via Google Maps.
Can Apple Car Play be retrofitted - either via a software tweak or a physical dongle?
Thanks
Tremolo Arm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Selling my 159
AO Member
 
Karl_Shad86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 552
I'm pretty sure 2018's came with it included.

No way to retrofit unless you get a new unit. There are some add ons on the likes or Aliexpress, but don't think anyone (including me) has been brave enough to try it.

Sent from my MI 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Tremolo Arm likes this.
Karl_Shad86 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tremolo Arm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl_Shad86 View Post
I'm pretty sure 2018's came with it included.

No way to retrofit unless you get a new unit. There are some add ons on the likes or Aliexpress, but don't think anyone (including me) has been brave enough to try it.

Sent from my MI 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Apparently Alfa started to fit these as standard only in mid 2018. As such some 2018 models (such as the one I am looking at) do not have it.
Tremolo Arm is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
emu
Status: -
AO Member
 
emu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Wales
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 53
Somebody on here claims to have done it. You apparently need the new nav unit (expensive!), the dual USB hub under the arm rest (this has a something necessary to activate AA/CP), and then some options needs to be enabled with dealer software.

If it were done and then your car went in for software updates, I suspect the AA/CP would be disabled as it's not part if the original spec/VIN so that step would need to be done again.
emu is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,794
Garage
alternatively, there is something like the following. Not cheap though, and haven't seen many (any?) installs yet.....

https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32956580557.html

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3295...a14c4bf5YFX0Wj
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Selling my 159
AO Member
 
Karl_Shad86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
alternatively, there is something like the following. Not cheap though, and haven't seen many (any?) installs yet.....

https://www.aliexpress.com/i/32956580557.html

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3295...a14c4bf5YFX0Wj
Pricey risk for something that may not work. I know one person on here did something like this, then found out it only worked for Apple, not Android

Sent from my MI 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Karl_Shad86 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tremolo Arm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 131
I've done some further research. Apparently there is a company in the Netherlands called NAVINC. They supply integrations systems which should work.
I can see the one for Android (code NP6-ALF-GV1), but not for Apple. https://www.navinc.nl/350
spoke to an Alfa dealer - the one in Tunbridge Wells and they claim they use a 3rd party fitter who works with these.
Apparently the cost is £750 to have it fitted and they claim it will work with Apple too (via an extra dongle)
Tremolo Arm is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Selling my 159
AO Member
 
Karl_Shad86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
I've done some further research. Apparently there is a company in the Netherlands called NAVINC. They supply integrations systems which should work.

I can see the one for Android (code NP6-ALF-GV1), but not for Apple. https://www.navinc.nl/350

spoke to an Alfa dealer - the one in Tunbridge Wells and they claim they use a 3rd party fitter who works with these.

Apparently the cost is £750 to have it fitted and they claim it will work with Apple too (via an extra dongle)
Bloomin' expensive. I'd love CarPlay, don't think I could justify the price though....

Sent from my MI 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Karl_Shad86 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
epsonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
County: Bielsko-Biala
Posts: 696
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
Thinking of buying a 2018 Veloce.
I really want Apple Car Play to play Spotify and check the traffic via Google Maps.
Can Apple Car Play be retrofitted - either via a software tweak or a physical dongle?
Thanks
EMEA marktet cars built from approx mid Nov have new generation radio unit. You need dual USB hub, some bits changed in proxi e.g. with MES/ELM adapters (for cars built 2018.1.31+ you need also SGW bypass - in a week or so will offer such on my webshop - english verison is comming up now with EU shippments), and once you do proxi update, do activatation of AA/ACP with Witech (dealers use this software). number of people did this, some lucked others not (others as far as I know as they haven't done proxi change before activation and locked their radios not to allow AA/ACP activation anymore - once only possible).
There is thread from @kgb about retrofitting- he was though lucky one as he only did USB hub and activation - looks like his car must had all proxi setup as for presence of AA/ACP (aside he was lucky not to have SGW nonetheless his car build date was 4.2019 - you never know what Italians will fit or not to your car)
emu likes this.
epsonix is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
sloef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: London
Posts: 39

Member car:

Giulia Veloce Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
I've done some further research. Apparently there is a company in the Netherlands called NAVINC. They supply integrations systems which should work.
I can see the one for Android (code NP6-ALF-GV1), but not for Apple. https://www.navinc.nl/350
spoke to an Alfa dealer - the one in Tunbridge Wells and they claim they use a 3rd party fitter who works with these.
Apparently the cost is £750 to have it fitted and they claim it will work with Apple too (via an extra dongle)
I assume this £750 is in addition to the purchase of the unit? That would make it very pricey indeed! Did the dealer inform you how well this is integrated with the original infotainment? Thanks
sloef is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tremolo Arm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloef View Post
I assume this £750 is in addition to the purchase of the unit? That would make it very pricey indeed! Did the dealer inform you how well this is integrated with the original infotainment? Thanks
Actually £750 would be the price all in - unit + fitting.
I have no further information and the fact that Navinc themselves do not show this particular model on their website makes me think twice.
Personally, this is no longer an issue for me because yesterday I bought a 2018 Stelvio Milano with Apple Air
Tremolo Arm is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
sloef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: London
Posts: 39

Member car:

Giulia Veloce Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
Actually £750 would be the price all in - unit + fitting.

I have no further information and the fact that Navinc themselves do not show this particular model on their website makes me think twice.

Personally, this is no longer an issue for me because yesterday I bought a 2018 Stelvio Milano with Apple Air


Thanks and congrats on the new car!!
It looks to me that it works the same as all these AliExpress units, i.e. operating system is android and you get CarPlay through an additional dongle. Thereís hundreds of those for sale on AliExpress, pity we canít use those !
sloef is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
sloef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: London
Posts: 39

Member car:

Giulia Veloce Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
Actually £750 would be the price all in - unit + fitting.

I have no further information and the fact that Navinc themselves do not show this particular model on their website makes me think twice.

Personally, this is no longer an issue for me because yesterday I bought a 2018 Stelvio Milano with Apple Air


Sorry to bother and resurrect an old thread however do you remember who you spoke to at (I assume) Thames in Tunbridge Wells? I called them and they havenít got a clue what Iím talking about ! Many thanks!
sloef is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 15 Old 1 Day Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tremolo Arm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 131
No bother at all.

Unfortunately I can’t remember the chap’s name but he was one of their main salesmen (he sounded very young - not that it helps much...)

He said that they do not do the job themselves at Thames Motor but outsource it to a local engineer (who doesn’t work for Fiat) who comes on site and does it. He even gave me his telephone number, but I’ve chucked all the contacts away since acquiring my Stelvio with Car Play from Sytner.

To be absolutely honest I though I would use Car Play much more than I actually do.

Sure it’s convenient to check traffic on Google Maps and check / compose WhatsApp messages with Siri but I’ve only used it a handful of times in 2 weeks.

With the benefit of knowing what I know now I certainly wouldn’t pay what they quoted me back then, especially if it involves a dongle / detached equipment.
Tremolo Arm is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
sloef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: London
Posts: 39

Member car:

Giulia Veloce Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo Arm View Post
No bother at all.

Unfortunately I canít remember the chapís name but he was one of their main salesmen (he sounded very young - not that it helps much...)

He said that they do not do the job themselves at Thames Motor but outsource it to a local engineer (who doesnít work for Fiat) who comes on site and does it. He even gave me his telephone number, but Iíve chucked all the contacts away since acquiring my Stelvio with Car Play from Sytner.

To be absolutely honest I though I would use Car Play much more than I actually do.

Sure itís convenient to check traffic on Google Maps and check / compose WhatsApp messages with Siri but Iíve only used it a handful of times in 2 weeks.

With the benefit of knowing what I know now I certainly wouldnít pay what they quoted me back then, especially if it involves a dongle / detached equipment.


Great thanks! Will go back to Thames tomorrow with that information!
As I have no traffic info whatsoever at the moment, Iím faffing about with my phone and Waze. CarPlay hopefully will make things a bit easier and more integrated. £750 is not too bad considering the other options!
Will keep you posted.
sloef is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulia

Tags
apple , car , play , retrofitted

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome