Giulia ACC retrofit success - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
  • 2 Post By paulryan1234
  • 1 Post By jwq
  • 1 Post By paulryan1234
  • 1 Post By jwq
  • 1 Post By jwq
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 6 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: Back on the road!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Limerick
Posts: 168

Member car:

159 JTDM

Giulia ACC retrofit success

Hi all

I fitted ACC to my 2017 Giulia today.

Following this guide.

https://www.stelvioforum.com/forum/267-alfa-romeo-stelvio-diy-how/10547-adaptive-cruise-control-acc-installation.html#/topics/10547?page=1


I got the part from shop4parts. £36.52 plus vat. Part number 0156146359-001

Only difference i found to the guide was I had to activate ACC+ not just ACC. Otherwise I would get a proxi fail. This held me up for 2 hours.

Apart from this I had the job done in under 1 hour

Usual disclaimer about not being able to get the ACC ABS recall.
Andy Bowden and tipchi like this.
paulryan1234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulryan1234 View Post
Usual disclaimer about not being able to get the ACC ABS recall.
What does this bit mean?
smarty156 is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,790
Sounds interesting.
How knowledgable would an insurance company or Alfa Romeo be if something happened with a car not originally supplied with ACC?
cue2 is online now  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,530
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by smarty156 View Post
What does this bit mean?
There was a published recall for the adaptive CC, indicating that there was a small chance the CC would not stop by itsself in time.... A firmware update for this was introduced, However, if you activate the CC+ yourself, the registration of the car will not reflect you have CC+, and there is no way for the update to be applied.....

see
https://europe.autonews.com/automake...cles-worldwide
cue2 likes this.

Last edited by jwq; 1 Day Ago at 08:25.
jwq is offline  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,790
“the adaptive cruise control can be deactivated with firm, sustained brake-pedal application. But FCA advises customers against using the feature until the software is updated”
cue2 is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
...However, if you activate the CC+ yourself, the registration of the car will not reflect you have CC+, and there is no way for the update to be applied.....
I'm not sure that is completely true.

Certainly, a car built without ACC won't be recalled for the software update.

However, I'd guess that if one takes a car to a dealer or good independent and asks for all it's ECUs to be updated to the latest software version all might be well.

Do we know which ECU(s) get updated under the recall? I doubt if it is just ABS.

If someone who has ACC and has had the recall, could use MES to check the ECUs' software versions that might be informative.

Andy
Andy Bowden is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,530
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by smarty156 View Post
What does this bit mean?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Bowden View Post
I'm not sure that is completely true.

Certainly, a car built without ACC won't be recalled for the software update.

However, I'd guess that if one takes a car to a dealer or good independent and asks for all it's ECUs to be updated to the latest software version all might be well.

Do we know which ECU(s) get updated under the recall? I doubt if it is just ABS.

If someone who has ACC and has had the recall, could use MES to check the ECUs' software versions that might be informative.

Andy
A number of people (Europe and USA) have indeed reported that the update in this case was not implemented.....

Contrary to the early days, when there were continual updates, I get the impression that currently dealers (Alfa policy ?) do not automatically update all modules anymore during a service.
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Contrary to the early days, when there were continual updates, I get the impression that currently dealers (Alfa policy ?) do not automatically update all modules anymore during a service.
Agreed, I did say ask and there might well be a charge involved. One might well have more success with one of the few independents with WiTech2.

Andy
Andy Bowden is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,530
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Bowden View Post
Agreed, I did say ask and there might well be a charge involved. One might well have more success with one of the few independents with WiTech2.

Andy
Maybe, but I also get the impression that the availability of updates is also based on the registered options for your VIN.
If your VIN does not indicate that you have CC+, the option will simply not be available in Witech. So you would first need to somehow change the registered options for your car .....
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 17 Old 1 Day Ago Thread Starter
Status: Back on the road!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Limerick
Posts: 168

Member car:

159 JTDM

My Giulia is going in for some warranty work next Month. I'll be asking them to carry out the recall if possible
jwq likes this.
paulryan1234 is offline  
Status: Alfa or Harley today...decisions!
AO Member
 
bucketbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 299
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Maybe, but I also get the impression that the availability of updates is also based on the registered options for your VIN.
If your VIN does not indicate that you have CC+, the option will simply not be available in Witech. So you would first need to somehow change the registered options for your car .....
Also greatly depends on your dealer as my car has never had any ECU updates applied by them despite being in for servicing twice.

However the car has run flawlessly since I bought it so I personally have no issues with that as I am great believer in the "If its not f#*#*d dont fix it" school of thought!
bucketbot is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 17 Old 13 Hours Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucketbot View Post
Also greatly depends on your dealer as my car has never had any ECU updates applied by them despite being in for servicing twice.

However the car has run flawlessly since I bought it so I personally have no issues with that as I am great believer in the "If its not f#*#*d dont fix it" school of thought!
And that's the very reason they don't apply updates automatically as a matter of course (according to the tech at my local dealer, they're told not to apply updates unless told to).
smarty156 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 17 Old 12 Hours Ago
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,530
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by smarty156 View Post
And that's the very reason they don't apply updates automatically as a matter of course (according to the tech at my local dealer, they're told not to apply updates unless told to).
I work on the principle that usually there must be a good reason for most updates
specially on a newly developed car, with a lot of new electronic systems....
Andy Bowden likes this.
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 17 Old 10 Hours Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by smarty156 View Post
And that's the very reason they don't apply updates automatically as a matter of course (according to the tech at my local dealer, they're told not to apply updates unless told to).
I was told the same thing. They dont update unless issues reported by the owner or service news requires update.
rank1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 17 Old 10 Hours Ago
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,530
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by rank1 View Post
I was told the same thing. They dont update unless issues reported by the owner or service news requires update.
Having a suspicious nature, I suspect the fact that these updates often take some time, and need to be payed for by Alfa, might also have something to do with it
bucketbot likes this.
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 17 Old 8 Hours Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Having a suspicious nature, I suspect the fact that these updates often take some time, and need to be payed for by Alfa, might also have something to do with it
They said that they dont do it because sometimes customers complain after the update changes the look of the interface or functionality. They cant downgrade to previous version. Yeah, long update time could also be one of the reasons.
rank1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 17 Old 8 Hours Ago
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,790
A bit like turning your tv on only to find that it’s been updated as you slept and the startup screen has changed!
cue2 is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa Giulia

Tags
acc , giulia , retrofit , success

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome