2.0 Diesel - hard start & EGR errors - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 30 Old 03-09-19 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Norfolk
2.0 Diesel - hard start & EGR errors

So I'm working on a 2010 Vauxhall Insignia 2.0 CDTi, I know it's not an Alfa but I'm on this forum anyway and it's pretty much the same engine as the 2.0 JTDM, so I hope you don't mind me asking here. The VX forums are very quiet unfortunately.

I bought the car for a 500 with a snapped cambelt. The car is on 140k miles. Since then I have replaced the head with a reconditioned one + head gasket + new rockers.

The car now starts, runs smoothly and sits at 90C no problem, so I'm glad the head & gasket appear to be fitted correctly and holding (I'm new to all this, done suspension/brake work on the drive before but never anything like this).

There are still a couple of issues though, that I believe are separate to the head replacement:

1 - The car is hard to start, from cold it takes a good 5 seconds of cranking to start. Once turned on, the second start is pretty quick, but maybe cranks 1 time more than normal. Not sure what could cause this - I had heard of a fuel pump regulator going bad?

2 - EGR fault codes - The codes are P0403 - EGR control circuit & EGR sensor A Circuit Low. I plan on removing the EGR and cleaning it properly, as this has not been done yet. Could this tie into the above hard starting issue? Or would this more likely be a wiring fault going to the EGR?

Does anyone have any ideas on what to do to fix this/what is causing this? Hoping I can get the car running perfectly without spending to much more.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member

County: West Sussex