Gta throttle body to 2.0 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 34 Old 10-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
Gta throttle body to 2.0

I was wondering how hard is to fit a gta throttle body to 2.0ts.I was thinking about custom intake manifold,gta throttle body,cold air intake,kn filter,ecu reprogramming and gta back box.
Will have 15hp more?Also what does it needs to fit the throttle body?
Garakis147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: VERY TALLMAN
AO Member
 
BIGp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 109

Member car:

156 v6

probaly need a adapter plate to make it fit,Why a GTA TB?,As i am pretty sure (certainly 2.5 v6,3.0 v6 engines)they are all the same?,if i am wrong?,please somebody correct me
BIGp is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,983
Garage
You'll need to remove the cat or put in a high flow sports cat to make the exhaust flow better - without better exhaust flow - your intake mods will not help. Take the exhaust manifold off, weld up the outsides and open up the inside a bit:
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/attac...5&d=1377010943

Putting in a bigger TB mainly helps for bragging rights - if there are mismatches / steps in the path - it will rather deter than better performance - even if the step is bigger. Focus on trying to get airspeed / flow
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 34 Old 11-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
I want to start from intake and then i will put a sport cat back.Can you give me the serial number of the adapter?I will probably open the inside and i will change the cat back,it costs about 300€ .
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Problem is - Too big a TB slows down the flow of air. Too small and it restricts flow.

There is a lot of math based calculations for the correct size TB.
I upgraded my 1.6 to the 2.0. But I still believe its a little too large for the 138hp my engine kicks out.
scottyf is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
One of my colleagues fitted a GTA throttlebody onto his 2.0 TS CF3. Because of the size of the adaptor it meant the battery had to be moved into the boot. I drove the car and it did feel strong for a 2 litre, but he had done other stuff as well like CF2 manifold & custom downpipe, no balance belt, no A/C etc. The entry to the plenum is narrower than the throttlebody so it meant using a cone to taper down from the throttlebody into the plenum. I don't think this is ideal, it would be better to start with a CF1 plenum and modify it to fit the GTA throttlebody. But then you'd lose the variable length inlet runners.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 34 Old 11-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
One of my colleagues fitted a GTA throttlebody onto his 2.0 TS CF3. Because of the size of the adaptor it meant the battery had to be moved into the boot. I drove the car and it did feel strong for a 2 litre, but he had done other stuff as well like CF2 manifold & custom downpipe, no balance belt, no A/C etc. The entry to the plenum is narrower than the throttlebody so it meant using a cone to taper down from the throttlebody into the plenum. I don't think this is ideal, it would be better to start with a CF1 plenum and modify it to fit the GTA throttlebody. But then you'd lose the variable length inlet runners.
I will also change the cat back with a sport and and i will open the inside of the manifold.
So you are telling me to keep the same intake manifold and modify it in order to fit the TB?I will probably do this one,it sounds better.Also i will go for cams reprofilling.
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Broken again...
AO Platinum Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Right Side O The Pennines
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 25,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garakis147 View Post
I will also change the cat back with a sport and and i will open the inside of the manifold.
So you are telling me to keep the same intake manifold and modify it in order to fit the TB?I will probably do this one,it sounds better.Also i will go for cams reprofilling.
Buy a GTA
GhostyDog is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garakis147 View Post
I will also change the cat back with a sport and and i will open the inside of the manifold.
So you are telling me to keep the same intake manifold and modify it in order to fit the TB?I will probably do this one,it sounds better.Also i will go for cams reprofilling.
You can't really modify your original inlet manifold, it is plastic.. If you get an inlet manifold from a CF1 2.0 TS then you could cut the flange off it and weld on the flange from a GTA inlet manifold so it matches the diameter of the throttlebody. It would save you making a long tapered adaptor and might mean you can fit the GTA throttlebody without moving the battery. But CF1 inlets manifolds don't have variable length runners so you might lose a bit of low revs torque.

I reckon GhostyDog's advice is better
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 34 Old 11-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
I will probably take the CF1 2.0 intake manifold and gta's TB.Will i have any issues with the fitting or the ecu reprogramming?Also what else does it need to fit it except cf1 intake manifold and adapter plate?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,606
You might need the 2.0 TS CF1 fuel rails and the base-plate for the cylinder head too.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,983
Garage
For the TB alone: As long as your car has an Bosch electronic throttle (throttle by wire) it should work plug-and-play - the ECU manages fueling by the MAF and lambda for the most... To optimise - after you have done all your playing - then remap PROPERLY to get the best out of all. No need to remap for every step...
_Petar_ likes this.
Gertie is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Fiat barrachta and panto hot have metal intakes which could be modified to fit a gta throttle body. But would require welding.
scottyf is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 34 Old 12-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
It wont be better if i buy a special custom intake manifold?Or its the same?
Can you send me a link with fiat's manifolds?
Does the Gtv 2.0 intake manifold fits?I've found a complete one with the injectors ec in good price.

Last edited by Garakis147; 12-03-14 at 13:09.
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

What we are trying to say is that it won't fit a standard twin spark plenum. As its plastic.
You can't really weld anything to plastic to make a bracket to fit it.

So other options would be to find a plenum made from metal.
Now once you have a metal inlet you can fabricate custom parts to it.

I've a friend in Rotherham that did this to a fiat barrachetta inlet. Which is the same as the Fiat punto HGT engine. Based on the twinspark block.

So the inlets would match up for the ports.

Thing is the point I was making is that if you think its doing to improve air flow. It won't.
The 2.0L size is the optimum size already for 150-160hp.

Unless its kicking out 170hp+ you won't need a larger throttle body.

Regards
Scott
Alfa 166 2.0 Twinnie - LPG and a few trick performance parts
scottyf is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 34 Old 13-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
I read somewhere here that its possible to fit the gta's intake manifold
Is this true?I know gta's intake manifold has 6 holes but its possible to close 2 of them.Is this better or the fiat's intake manifold?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garakis147 View Post
I read somewhere here that its possible to fit the gta's intake manifold
Is this true?I know gta's intake manifold has 6 holes but its possible to close 2 of them...
Are you serious.....


Edit: just realised you probably mean the plenum chamber, rather than the intake manifold...
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 34 Old 13-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
Yeah you are right,my english arent the best.Anyway,does it fit with some mods and how would it fit?i cant imagine
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,983
Garage
Yes I'm sure you could to that, but the amount of machining must be horrible - you need to get rid of 2 holes, they are not spaced right.... then you have to get mounting surfaces on the block

Probably only the throttle mount surface and the "throat" that goes to the plenum chamber - cut that part off and weld it to a aluminum 2.0TS manifold...
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 34 Old 13-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
I am not sure if this is right but i could make custom manifold that would fit on the recent mounting surfaces and plenum chamber's holes. I mean,i would use the gta's plenum chamber,tb and custom handmade manifold so i wouldnt have to open new mounting surfaces.
The only think i am not sure about is how i will close the holes and if i have to open the inside of block's intake holes and make new mounting surfaces.
Sorry for my english i hope you can understand me.
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Waiting for Stelvio QV
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,452
You can do many things to the car but ultimately there is no replacement for displacement.

I spent thousands on my 2.0 147 only to get an extra 30BHP. It was a special car but wasn't worth what I spent on it.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Voices of experience talking above.
It's very hard to get extra power out of an engines redesigning it.

Espcially naturally aspiration engines.
scottyf is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,920
Always far less £££ to sell the car and buy one with a bigger engine already in it from the factory.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 34 Old 16-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
I dont want to leave my fiancee
I will go for custom plenum chamber,gta's tb and i will keep the same manifold.
Should i change the whole intake system with a custom one?i think its easier than fitting the gta's intake system.
Garakis147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 34 Old 18-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 194
Anyone who knows?
Garakis147 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
body , gta , throttle




Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome