Alfa 156 brake failure - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 29 Old 16-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Warning Alfa 156 brake failure

Hi guys need help pleaseeeee
My 156,s brakes are intermittent, they go to floor, next day brakes are ok then go to floor ,garage said its brake pads so changed them, then said o/s real calliper was gone so new one put, then they said flexi pipe to o/s calliper was collapsed so replaced that, after bleeding they said it had oil and gunk in brake lines so bleeder the system 3 times, problem still there
Now they say abs pump is at fault so they replaced that, the are saying they still can't get brakes working
Can anyone help as I've already spent a small fortune pleaseeeeeeee
craig stead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
Your garage sound clueless, mate.
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
Where you based?
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
One thing missed, that should of been checked first, is the master cylinder......
kam325i is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kam325i View Post
one thing missed, that should of been checked first, is the master cylinder......
+1
steveisfrowning is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 29 Old 16-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Hi thanks guys for your response
I'm in Easington near Whitby and I thought about master cylinder but not being a mechanic I thought they new best lol
craig stead is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
Understandable. I'm no better really.

How long you had the car?
steveisfrowning is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 29 Old 16-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Only a couple of month , it's my first Alfa, I really like it and think it drives really well, I might suggest to them the master cylinder ...
craig stead is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
I know Easington, but don't know any local Alfa specialists there.

Perhaps ask in here Yorkshire - Alfa Romeo Forum

steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
i would go no where near that garage again........

The brake master cyclinder should of been the second thing to look at after looking for a leak in the brake lines....
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 29 Old 16-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Thanks Steve for link and cheers kam for reply, to be honest I've not noticed any leaks tho
craig stead is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 1,144
Another vote here for the mc.

Next time it happens try pumping the pedal the pressure should build up
swampy76 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 29 Old 17-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Hi swampy, I pumped up pedal and it built up again but goes again after a while .. I'm getting in touch with garage to see what's happening and suggest to them it might be master cylinder, I suggested the master cylinder to them in the beginning after reading a thread on here before but they where adiment it being abs pump ....
craig stead is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 29 Old 17-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Just had update from garage, they said abs pump working brill now replaced, brakes are good driving round town but if you hard brake they fail , I'm still at a loss, they believe oil is in brake line
craig stead is offline  
Grahameo
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I wonder if they actually checked the diaphragm in the brake booster for leaking and vacuum pipes

When you are driving round constantly using the brakes around town, you are building pressure in the booster system constantly so the brakes work as they should... When you hit the brake hard, you get initial feed pressure but it escapes through a split diaphragm very quickly which actually releases the pressure on the master cylinder, thus no brakes no matter how hard you press on the pedal... Then it will return once the pressure builds up through the vacuum pipe... Sound familiar?

A split vacuum pipe will give a really hard, positive pedal but little or no effort to the actual braking of the car... Almost as if you turned off the car's ignition and then press the brake pedal.

I have £10 on it being the brake booster diaphragm!
Its rubber and doesn't last forever. It sits between the master cylinder and the brake pedal assembly under the dash in a big cylindrical drum.

So how can it fail? Easy... Air conditioning and the fact that it sits inside the cabin makes it prone to drying out and cracking which in turn, leads to pinholes and splits.... They actualy last longer on cars that the booster valve is fitted to the bulkhead in the engine bay for some strange reason.

Last edited by Grahameo; 17-11-12 at 16:24.
 
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
OMFG.............

I not being funny craig stead, BUT CHANGE THE MASTER CYCLINDER AND SERVO......THIS GARAGE IS JUST RIPPING YOU OFF........

Rant over......
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 29 Old 17-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Cheers grahameo I'll quiz them on that I've also ordered master cylinder etc earlier kam cheers
craig stead is offline  
Status: I am also Keith......
AO Member
 
kam325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 565
No problem dude, i just hate seeing people getting ripped of by garages that should know better....
kam325i is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 29 Old 17-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
I agree they've already had a small fortune of me lol I never knew alfa,s were so expensive lol
craig stead is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
Welcome to Alfa ownership.

Seriously, though, there are cheaper options - we need to find a trusted indy spannerman near you.
steveisfrowning is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 29 Old 17-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Hi steveisfrowning I agree I need to find a trusted spanner man near you as I really don't want to give up on my little t spark lol
craig stead is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
FAST in Stockton are rated highly with many here.

Never used them myself.

http://www.fiatalfaspecialist.co.uk/contactus.html
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,977
Garage
steveisfrowning is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 29 Old 18-11-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Thank you Steve I'll check them out
craig stead is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Roswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 33,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig stead View Post
I agree they've already had a small fortune off me lol I never knew alfas were so expensive lol
They're expensive when the garage you take them to change all the wrong bits!

As Steve said, get it up to FAST in Stockton or if you're flush Alexanders.
Roswell is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , alfa , brake , failure , help me

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome