multiecu scanner - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greece
County: Central Greece
Posts: 120

Member car:

alfa 147-156

multiecu scanner

After the 10th time (through the years) that the airbag warning light appeared again after moving the seat forward, I decided to buy the hardware for the fiat ecu scanner. On ebay I saw multiple coloured cables for each function. I also saw some modified elm pc adaptors which I guess are one for every function. Is there any reliable cable for every purpose, or I have to buy purple, yellow etc ?
gnik61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,797
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnik61 View Post
After the 10th time (through the years) that the airbag warning light appeared again after moving the seat forward, I decided to buy the hardware for the fiat ecu scanner. On ebay I saw multiple coloured cables for each function. I also saw some modified elm pc adaptors which I guess are one for every function. Is there any reliable cable for every purpose, or I have to buy purple, yellow etc ?
The only "one-plug-fits-all" solution is the multiplex version of MES with the cantiecar interface. Ease of use comes with a higher price
https://www.multiecuscan.net/OrderMultiplexed.aspx

otherwise you need to buy the required interface+adapter cables, see f.i. for complete package:
https://www.gendan.co.uk/product_FESPKG.html

on the MES site you can also see which adapter cables are required for your model car:
https://www.multiecuscan.net/SupportedVehiclesList.aspx
jwq is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago
Status: The artist formerly known as Roarsbaby
AO Silver Member
 
Mufasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 5,885
Garage

Member car:

166V6,SudQO

I bought my cable from RareBear on here for around 40 delivered
Mufasa is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago
Status: Making mistakes, so you don't have to!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
County: Auckland
Posts: 201

Member car:

156 2.5 V6

I used a VAG-Com cable I think that's what it's called to communicate with my car, and the SRS unit to clear airbag lights (after I fixed the fault). Luckily it was all wired up correctly so it worked for me. Can't be too sure with these things you can buy online for cheap.

Have you cleaned the connectors and cable tied them together so the connector is not knocked loose in the future? I did that to the curtain airbag connector that's positioned in the boot and it worked for me. I think I also cable tied up the under seat connectors so that would not affect me as well. So far, it has not.
mikesalfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greece
County: Central Greece
Posts: 120

Member car:

alfa 147-156

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesalfa View Post
I used a VAG-Com cable I think that's what it's called to communicate with my car, and the SRS unit to clear airbag lights (after I fixed the fault). Luckily it was all wired up correctly so it worked for me. Can't be too sure with these things you can buy online for cheap.

Have you cleaned the connectors and cable tied them together so the connector is not knocked loose in the future? I did that to the curtain airbag connector that's positioned in the boot and it worked for me. I think I also cable tied up the under seat connectors so that would not affect me as well. So far, it has not.
I've tied the connectors under the seats (147 GTA seats), but in every 20 times I move it, one will be unlucky. I was planning to change the connectors with new ones because I suspect the connection they establish is loose by nature, but I've never done it.
gnik61 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 8 Old 4 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greece
County: Central Greece
Posts: 120

Member car:

alfa 147-156

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufasa View Post
I bought my cable from RareBear on here for around 40 delivered
Could you post a link?
thanks
gnik61 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: Spider is on the road for the summer
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
Henrik_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
County: Aalborg
Posts: 1,121
Garage
I have bought these cables.
Works fine for me.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALFA-FIAT...0AAOSwjVVVxyqL
Henrik_45 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greece
County: Central Greece
Posts: 120

Member car:

alfa 147-156

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrik_45 View Post
I have bought these cables.
Works fine for me.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALFA-FIAT...0AAOSwjVVVxyqL
Thanks. They are reasonably priced.
gnik61 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
multiecu , scanner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome