147 S2 front end on S1? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By typos1
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 3 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,465
147 S2 front end on S1?

Morning all
Might be getting an S1 car in need of a new front end. I prefer the S2 lights etc.
Is this just a straight swap of panels?
I assume it's bumper lights bonnet and wings but is there anything else needed if it can be done?
Any advice greatly appreciated

Rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 12 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSFruitbat View Post
Morning all
Might be getting an S1 car in need of a new front end. I prefer the S2 lights etc.
Is this just a straight swap of panels?
I assume it's bumper lights bonnet and wings but is there anything else needed if it can be done?
Any advice greatly appreciated

Rsfruitbat
By series 2 I mean the facelift version.

Rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 12 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 88

Member car:

156 2.5 V6

Hard to know, but probably easier to find a complete working facelifted version, or just stick with what it came with a replacement pre-facelift parts.
mikesalfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 12 Old 1 Week Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,754

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Yes, its pretty much plug n play, its been done before on here, you ll need bonnet, wings, bumper/grille and lights, I think the slam panel is the same.

You ll need the mk 2 bonnet release handle - its longer than the mk 1, this is cos of the stupidly long bonnet of the mk 2.

Funnily enough I did the opposite - I put the mk 2 rear on a mk 1.

Spend some time looking at some mk 2 cars from lots of different angles first though - I always liked the facelift, until I bought one and realised it looks totally wrong - the nose is far too long and square, it really doesnt look right, like its had the front from a other ca grafted on.

Pity, cos the headlights look so cool.
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,465
Sorry but I love the facelift. Wife already has one. Never been as kean on the original.
Didn't realise the backs were different aswell. Will have to look closer.
Thanks for advice

Rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,465
Just comparing originals and facelift.
Do the gta,s also have bigger, wider wheel track?
If they do how much wider is it?
Rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,754

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

The GTA has a wider track but its only cos the wheels are wider, the suspension is the same width, the body shell is about 25mm wider -12.5mm wider per side.
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 12 Old 5 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kidderminster
Posts: 1,465
Thanks typos1

Rsfruitbat
RSFruitbat is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 12 Old 5 Days Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
brinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 189
Garage
You can also convert to GT front-end.. Only requires bumper, bonnet and headlights.
brinker is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,754

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinker View Post
You can also convert to GT front-end.. Only requires bumper, bonnet and headlights.
The GT uses the same bonnet as the mk 1 147.
typos1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
brinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 189
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
The GT uses the same bonnet as the mk 1 147.
I had a hunch it might.. But the different front emblem confused me, as on the 147 it's only the logo itself, whereas it's got a "mustache" on the GT
brinker is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,754

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinker View Post
I had a hunch it might.. But the different front emblem confused me, as on the 147 it's only the logo itself, whereas it's got a "mustache" on the GT
As the GT grille is wider at the top than the mk1 147 grille and doesnt protrude slightly into the bonnet as it does on the 147, the moustache was used to cover up the cut out in the bonnet.
brinker likes this.
typos1 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
147 , end , front

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome