cant use sat nav in lighter socket??? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Rant Room

Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

cant use sat nav in lighter socket???

...

i have just been told by dutton forshaw that you are not supposed to use the lighter socket to plug your sat nav in!!!!!!!!!!!!

i have been using my sat nav (unsuccessfully according to some..i blame bradders) in my pug for a year and now in my babe, went to use it yesterday as i was going to a gig in Oxford and it wouldnt work, but worked fine in my daughters pug...

phoned DF this morning and was told that the fuse has probably blown, when i asked how long it will take to fix i was told "could be a while as we dont know what number the fuse is and will have to go through them all"....ffs how hard is it to put a fuse in if you are trained to work on alfa's...

anyone know what number the fuse is and has anyone else been told they shouldny use the socket for sat navs....will the sat nav industry come to a halt now because of this statement??

what a load of tosh...im sooo angry, another wasted morning coming up at the dealership



i am the mitomentalist

alfas dont break down...they stop to be admired

Tess, defender of the Mito

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
Nige005's Avatar
Status: Constantly Nagging Lincolnshire Members !
Regional Support
For Lincolnshire - AOL
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincs
Posts: 15,563
Images: 22

Member car:

Alfetta GTV6 & CelicaVVTi

Tess, Just to check that the socket on your car is faulty plug in the cig lighter bit itself and see if that works, or not. Sometimes the plug on SatNavs and other accessories aren't very good and they need a quick mod with a soldering iron and a pair of pliers.

I think a half trained monkey could check every fuse in about five minutes. I would think that the fuse numbers will even be in the Drivers Handbook.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

appaerntly the fuse numbers are on top of the fuses so i think he's talking crap.....we shall see
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
James125's Avatar
Status: Im now Boris!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Highlands
Posts: 3,728

Member car:

Mito 1.4 (95) veloce

that rubbish, why would sat navs be supplied with cigarette lighter plugs when your not supposed to use them in the socket?

i use mine in my lighter socket, irc the fuses are in the glove compartment.

try plugging it into the one in the boot and see if it works there.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

never thought of that will do it now....good thinkinhugz
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

guess what it works in the boot.....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
howell811's Avatar
Status: Making Ron Jeremy look small !
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virgin Islands (British)
County: -
Posts: 26,521

Member car:

75

Can't drive it if your in the boot !
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
James125's Avatar
Status: Im now Boris!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Highlands
Posts: 3,728

Member car:

Mito 1.4 (95) veloce

Do you know if they are fused separately or not?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
TseTse54's Avatar
Status: Rainy day, dream away
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 50

Member car:

159 1.9 16v JTDm Lusso 08

I thought that my sat nav wasn't working when plugged into the socket of my 159, it had always worked in my other cars. Then I put the keyblock in and the socket sparked up First car I've ever had that needed "the key" in to make the socket live.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
wayne-dear's Avatar
Status: slowly turning scouse
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,639

Member car:

155 8v

I think your getting the 'its a woman, she knows nothing' runaround,
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
bazza's Avatar
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 38,436
Images: 3

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA SW

Yep, someones talking out their bumhole.
Likely it's just failing because it's not a good fit.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
tul66's Avatar
Status: It'll scrape a pass
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 1,204
Images: 14

Member car:

Lancias/75 & 166 TS/S4

Sounds like a useless Alfa Dealer as per usual.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
GateKeeper_'s Avatar
Status: Broke...
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 799

Member car:

Mito 1.4TB155 Veloce Etna

My sat nav works perfectly plugged into my mito's cig lighter socket.

Smells like a strong wiff of male domesticated cattle excrement

GK
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 30-11-09
anthony1664's Avatar
Status: My real name is DAVE
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 1,341

Member car:

Triumph Explorer FiestaZS

if the socket was meant simply as a ciggy lighter it would:

a) be supplied as standard with a coil heater thingy
b) it would not have Power outlet 100w on it!

Numpty garage, I would not bother going to the stealership a simple look at the fuse should spot some kinda of ID ... I will be having a look at mine in the daylight .......grrrr they make me mad pity the fools I say pitty the fools!!! (best be careful or my post will have to move to the rant room...oh hold on we are there already )


Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
PhilzAlfa's Avatar
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 3,066

Member car:

GT 3.2 V6 Q2

That's hilarious. They are lucky they aren't dealing with me as they would have recieved a large dose of sarcasm. If they can't check and change a fuse in under 5 mins they should go and find a new job.

However, it's worth pointing out that the cigar lighter socket wasn't originally intended for use with anything other than a cigar lighter! In fact when they invented the cigar lighter socket, there weren't any of these amazing electronic gadgets such as sat navs on the market. Unfortunately, when sat navs and the like started to appear, the only 12V outlet on the dashboard that everybody had was a cigar lighter socket. The socket is actually not very suitable for use with delicate electronic gear as it is generally grubby and doesn't provide a solid, reliable connection. But since its all most cars have, we are stuck with it for the time being.

But that is no excuse for dealer incompetence. My guess is they will try and charge you for changing the fuse.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
braddersR's Avatar
Status: Rehomed :D
Regional Representative
For East Midlands - AOEM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 40,670
Images: 14

Member car:

Giulietta Veloce

Originally Posted by tess View Post
(unsuccessfully according to some..i blame bradders)
Thanks Tess

now quit ya moaning and go down to the dealers and whack 'em
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
GhostyDog's Avatar
Status: Split Personality
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 17
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 24,233
Images: 6

Member car:

Jaguar XF 3.0 V6

If you still think it's the fuse look in your owners handbook, the fuse tables shoud be in there.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

handbook??? whats that

gonna see if my lovely godson can do it today and im gonna cancel duttons as there is no way im gonna pay them cos it looks like they will hang it out a while so i have to pay the full hour....barstewards
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

Originally Posted by wayne-dear View Post
I think your getting the 'its a woman, she knows nothing' runaround,
i think they should know me better by now wayne....i have to be honest they are crap....i dont know why i bother with them....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
Crazychick's Avatar
Status: Owned! Pa to member Rayq81
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 4,456

Member car:

Zafira mostly.

I never use main dealers for anything, except occasionally to buy a car from. Daz is always getting cars straight from main dealer services for MOT's at his place and they often fail. Then the owner says but that's just been serviced or inspected at so and so.

As a female it annoys me when I take cars to garage and they think they can scam me. Fuse is easy enough to change though.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (Post Link)  
Old 01-12-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

i popped into local Fiat garage this morning and they said its a 5 min jobby and would be happy to do it for me so am taking it in tomoz at 11 a.m......result

now DF can go suck cos i aint using them again...oh and Fiat guy said that i should be able to use the cigar lighter for sat nav no probs..he laughed when i told him what DF said...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (Post Link)  
Old 02-12-09
Crazychick's Avatar
Status: Owned! Pa to member Rayq81
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 4,456

Member car:

Zafira mostly.

Its good that they are doing it for you but do people really take their cars to garages for things like this.. lol I wouldn't be able to justify spending anything on a job that is meant to be done by yourself.

lol
Reply With Quote
  #23 (Post Link)  
Old 02-12-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

i havnt a clue what to do and dont wanna mess it up and i havnt gotta pay cos its under warranty...the joys of having a brand new car
Reply With Quote
  #24 (Post Link)  
Old 02-12-09
Crazychick's Avatar
Status: Owned! Pa to member Rayq81
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 4,456

Member car:

Zafira mostly.

lol, See this is where I think that everyone should know where the basic things are on a car. I may take mine in to get a clutch fitted with having the engine I do in mine but thats about it really. I wouldn't buy a new car either. lol only a few months old.. but then I refuse to lose money just for driving off the forecourt.

Glad your getting it sorted though, ask them to show you where it is, in case it happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (Post Link)  
Old 02-12-09
tess's Avatar
Status: cupcakes and car porn...perfick
Regional Representative
For Wales South - AOWS
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Newport
Posts: 40,883
Images: 25

Member car:

mito 1.4 170bhp QV

what was supposed to be a 5 min job turned into an hour and a half, there was a loose connection, the "mega"fuse kept blowing for no apparent reason....loose connection??.....and they had to get the whole bottom facia out to reach it...so it wsnt a simple job and im glad i didnt ask them to show me where it was

the guy ran details rhrough the computer and now it seems my babe is gonna be recalled, he doesnt know why as its only just come onto the system so we shall wait and see what happens, he is gonna ring me when he finds out...the joys of owning a lovely shiney new alfa....

oh and it was under warranty so didnt have to pay...not that i would have anyway.... and got two free hot chocs for my inconvenience...lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Rant Room

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...
2009 Alfa Romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Ao Killarney Meet...

View David P's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Within your User Control Panel, you can change the way AO works:
For example, to change the number of posts per page, go to Edit Options and scroll down to 'Thread Display Options'. In the section 'Number of Posts to Show Per Page' select a desired amount.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:55.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91