thermostat changing - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 17-10-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
otetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6

Member car:

146

thermostat changing

Hi ,
As I've understood from forum that many of members changed their thermostat on 146 1.6 boxer (from 1996).

Please can you tell me how the whole process have to be done?

What points I should know before start working on?

What tools are needed (or just that's so simple as it looks like) ?

Where did you get water out from the system (if you did) and how much of water (cooling) I have to drain?

Air bleeding after, where from ?

Additional info, that you have.. ?

Thank you in advance
Yefim.

P.s. mabe you have pictured this- will be appriciated.
..thanks again

Last edited by otetz; 17-10-06 at 19:44.
otetz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,822
Images: 4

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: thermostat changing

Hi Welcome to AO - what engine does your 146 have?
AlfaJack is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 12 Old 17-10-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
otetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6

Member car:

146

Re: thermostat changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaJack
Hi Welcome to AO - what engine does your 146 have?
I have 146 1.6 boxer (from 1996)

Last edited by otetz; 17-10-06 at 19:46.
otetz is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,822
Images: 4

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: thermostat changing

If the 1.6 is a twinspark engine then:

Heres where it is:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/jacksal...Thermostat.jpg

Changing it is very easy, part costs about £40+VAT

You need to disconnect all the hoses, buy some jubilee clips as if it has not been done beofore the factory clips might break when you take them off, some will be stuck hard. When this is done there are two 13mm (might be 10mm cant remember) bolts holding to thermostat on.

Just let the water drain out when you take the old one off.

Once you have removed these give it a tap and it will come off, check both contact faces are clean and reverse what you just did, refill with water/antifreeze.

Turn the cabin temp to max, leave the filler cap off while it gets up to temp, this should get most of the air out, also give the top hose a squeeze for good measur.e

Good luck

copied from:
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...ing+thermostat


Last edited by AlfaJack; 17-10-06 at 19:49.
AlfaJack is offline  
mikebrown
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: thermostat changing

welcome to AO dude



 
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,822
Images: 4

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: thermostat changing

Btw, what symptoms do you have that makes you think it needs swapping?
AlfaJack is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 12 Old 17-10-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
otetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6

Member car:

146

Re: thermostat changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaJack
Btw, what symptoms do you have that makes you think it needs swapping?

opened constantly
otetz is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,822
Images: 4

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: thermostat changing

Quote:
Originally Posted by otetz
opened constantly
Fair enough
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: The BSD says konnichiwa
Global Mod Team
 
BigFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Italy
County: Milano
Posts: 113,594
Images: 14
Garage
Re: thermostat changing

Hi there, welcome to AO and hope you get the thermostat fixed soon
BigFoot is offline  
Status: Spider's ready to go!
Global Mod Team
 
classicgal93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,021
Images: 2
Garage
Re: thermostat changing

Hi and welcome, good luck with your problem. Cheers
classicgal93 is offline  
Status: The mad poll maker
AO Platinum Member
 
Pasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
County: -
Posts: 12,381
Images: 8
Re: thermostat changing

Hi and welcome
Pasi is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 12 Old 19-10-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
otetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6

Member car:

146

Re: thermostat changing

Thanks to everyone.
..thermostat changed, problem gone
otetz is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Newbie Area > Introduce Yourself

Tags
changing , thermostat

« Hi | First Post »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome