Random "Selespeed failure" error - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 23-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Zambia
County: Lusaka
Posts: 5
Random "Selespeed failure" error

I've had my Alfa 147 selespeed for almost a year after buying it from Japan, the problem is that it randomly shows a selespeed failure error and will only go in 1st and 2nd but when you stop and completely switch off and wait for sometime it clears the error and will drive normally. I have read a couple of forums and they seem to suggest checking the Actuator. I need help asap, i have no clue what the problem could and having no Alfa dealers in Zambia I somehow need some good advice and and see if I can escalate that info to my mechanic. Someone please help!
timkal69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: BORED
David P's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 74,709
Images: 20
Welcome to AO

Try asking for help in the Tech Lounge Alfa 147, 156 & GT - Alfa Romeo Forum
David P is offline  
Status: Lowered!!
AO Rosso Alfa Member
Durty dog's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northampton
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 73,506
Images: 18
Hi and welcome
Durty dog is offline  
Status: Spider's away for winter
Global Mod Team
classicgal93's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,057
Images: 2
Hi Tim waving I hope you get your Alfa sorted quickly!
classicgal93 is offline  
Status: Howling around Leicestershire
AO Silver Member
ferret-ears's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 1,133
Images: 77
Hello and welcome
ferret-ears is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
belavia's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 658
Images: 6
Living in Zambia your closest mechanic that will work on one of these will have to be a european specialist at least. Like a BMW, MERCEDES type dealer. With some advise from here and purchasing parts on line you may be able to fix it. Good luck
belavia is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 11 Old 27-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Zambia
County: Lusaka
Posts: 5
Thanks for the warm welcome and hints on what to do... @belavia, yes my mechanic works for European car dealership but just need to give him advice from here. But like i said its rather random and it hasn't happened since posting my last thread.
One thing i have noticed about my Alfa is that it has mysterious self healing powers, first it was a gear selection sensor which made it randomly select gears when taking off, I ordered the sensor and just when I picked it up from the post office the car was suddenly ok and didn't need the sensor to be changed. Next it was the traction control that randomly came off and on again when starting the car and that too mysteriously disappeared ...then came ABS, VDC failure which am told is mostly caused by a weak battery, I still have the error come on but the car drives perfectly well. In conclusion I hope the selespeed failure error will mysteriously self heal and it has nothing to do with the pump, because the pump is quite pricey.

Still crying out for help though...

Last edited by timkal69; 27-12-13 at 08:42.
timkal69 is offline  
Status: Alfabook 4400+
Club Member
Membro Premio
SCGT's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Dunbartonshire
Posts: 7,266
Images: 44
Welcome To‵⁀) ✫ ✫ ✫.
☻/ღ˚ •。* ♥♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛ 。* ♥ ˚ • ★
/▌*˛˚ ░A░L░F░A░ - ░O░W░N░E░R░ ˚ ✰* ★
/ \ ˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★
SCGT is offline  
Status: R.I.P Paula :(
AO Rosso Alfa Member
Shant Ole's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cyprus
County: Larnaca
Posts: 57,686
Hello and welcome
Shant Ole is offline  
Status: Hmmm....
Regional Representative
For South Central - AOSC
Greener123's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 39,396

Member car:

159 2.0 JTDM Ti


Welcome to AO, sorry to here about your problems, hopefully you manage to get it all sorted.

from a fellow Newbie
Greener123 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 11 Old 21-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Zambia
County: Lusaka
Posts: 5
No luck still but I kinda think sometimes the error pops up when i drive over a pool of water (its rain season down here now) but then again I've had it pop up even when its dry. Its really beginning to get on my last nerve now and need help PLEEEEEEEEEEEASE!!!!
timkal69 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Alfaowner Experience > Newbie Area > Introduce Yourself

error , random , selespeed failure

« Hello All | Hello »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome