Just bought 147 GTA - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Introduce Yourself Again... No technical questions in here

(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 28-04-13 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Norfolk

Member car:

147 GTA

Just bought 147 GTA

Hi there!

I've just sold my 2004 Seat Leon Cupra R - a perfectly competent and reasonably quick daily driver that unfortunately didn't excite or entertain, which is a fairly major failing point for a hot hatch!

I'm based in Norwich, Norfolk, in my early 30s, married with no dependants. Yet. I work in the motor trade, and have done on and off for around seven years, and sadly my car history is a mixed bag.

My first motor was a green Peugeot 106 1.1; perfect first car fodder really. It had no rev counter, so you had to pay attention to the sound of the engine to work out when to shift which really made you appreciate every one of it's rampant sixty horses!

Following the unfortunate demise of said 106, I replaced it with another Pug, this time a 206 1.6XS. A little quicker, with around 90bhp officially (a rolling road would later reveal the car to be rather healthier, making just over 100bhp) and with a few token mods (wheels, exhausts, the usual stuff any 20 year old puts on his first warm hatch) this actually lasted me seven trouble free years before the urge for power got the better of me.

I traded it in against yet another Pug - no, I have no brand loyalty, they were just the cars I liked at the time I was looking, honest! - this time a 406 coupe. This one though had a V6 under the bonnet. It wasn't the fastest in the world, with only 194bhp but it sounded lovely and had a wonderfully smooth delivery. Sadly, the dynamics didn't live up to the engine and I moved it on after a couple of years, looking for something genuinely exciting.